Awful service. Rude staff. Dusty smelly hotel.
I arrived late at 6:30pm but not dinner was available until 8:30pm despite the place looking empty. The room was dusty and dated and the sea view over a leaky broken side roof. I booked brekki for mys... more
I arrived late at 6:30pm but not dinner was available until 8:30pm despite the place looking empty. The room was dusty and dated and the sea view over a leaky broken side roof. I booked brekki for myself, partner and our two guests my brother and his partner. When they arrived they were called liars by members of staff not present at booking. We were sent away saying the booking never happened and no food offered again. The staff were unhelpful and cold. The manager was “not available” and the cctv “not working”
I’d never go back. Waste of £120! less
Julian Thomas, General Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review
We have answered the above points in a longer response directly to this guest, however we must correct the inaccurate statements made:-
Dinner was requested on check in - our restaurant was fully booked until 8.30pm. Unfortunately we can only offer what we have available as all other time slots had already been booked.
We disagree that the room you had is dusty and dated - however you are fully entitled to your opinion.
The sea view is across the conference room roof. This is neither leaky or broken it has a sheet covering a skylight to darken the conference room below to enable slides to be seen more clearly particularly during sunny weather.
It is your assumption this means the roof is leaky and broken.
You did make an arrangement for 2 guests to join you for breakfast, however you did not book a time of 10am as you assert.
a) We do not and never have booked times for breakfast
b) You were checked in by our Head Receptionist who most certainly would not agree or promise breakfast at 10am when
our last orders during the week are 9.30am.
This would make no sense whatsoever.
No member of staff called your guests liars and indeed our Deputy Restaurant Manager who spoke with them had been present when you checked in and was party to the conversation about Breakfast.
No one was 'sent away' . Your guests were advised that as this conversation was happening at 9.15am they were welcome to come into Breakfast then as we were still serving up until 9.30am
So it is incorrect to state no food was offered.
As advised to you the manager was not in the hotel but would be back within the hour.
You assert the CCTV was 'not working'. As advised, the camera in Reception does not and has never recorded, it has no recording equipment attached, it purely feeds to a back office so the Reception area can be seen by someone in that office.
It functions perfectly for this job so there is no question of it 'not working'.
The further review you have posted using a different name also accuses our staff of being rude and incompetent. We are extremely proud of our staff the majority of who have been with the hotel over 10 years. As seen in a multitude of reviews they are frequently praised highly for their skills and friendliness