Best Western Music Capital Inn

3257 Shepherd of the Hills Expressway, Branson, Missouri, 65616-8104, United States
based on 1032 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
rating TBC

Best Western Music Capital Inn

With 25 shows and attractions within a mile of this affordable Branson hotel, some even within walking distance like Pierce Arrow and Hamners Variety theater, youre sure to create a fun memory. Delight in the comfort of our spacious, clean rooms. Eac show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out16:00:00 | 11:00:00

Reviews of Best Western Music Capital Inn

Traveller Overview:
4.5 Rating: 1032 reviews
Excellent 73%
Very Good 19%
Average 5%
Poor 1%
Terrible 0%
Rating

EJ48, wrote review 07/12/2019

Excellent hotel

We spent 2 nights here with a tour group and everything was great. The rooms quiet and clean. It was nice having two sinks, one in the bathroom and one outside. Everyone on the staff was very friendly... more

Rating

srbuckley, wrote review 07/12/2019

Great staff, great location, very uncomfortable room

I will say that the property itself is clean, beautiful and well taken care of. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. Loved that they even wished my husband a happy birthday. We enjoyed the hot ... more

Owner Response
JBroadway81, General Manager at Best Western Music Capital Inn, responded to this review
We appreciate your feedback and sorry to hear the bed wasn't as comfortable as you'd like. I will look into the rooms bedding and if needed will change it out. Hope you will come back and give us another opportunity as we do have rooms with newer mattresses. We try to upgrade mattresses each year so give us a call for your next reservation and if we have a room with a newer mattress available for rent, we will get you in it.
Rating

insoucianttraveler, wrote review 02/12/2019

Good room...Great service

The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends with and without children. The hotel offers free breakfast and they ... more

Owner Response
JBroadway81, General Manager at Best Western Music Capital Inn, responded to this review
Thanks for the feedback and we hope you come back and see us again.
Rating

Linda D, wrote review 27/11/2019

Regular Visitor at BW Music Capital

We have stayed here for the last 21 years. We always enjoy the cleanliness, courtesy of the staff, great breakfast, nice pool. The only reason I’m not giving 5 stars is because I think the mattresses... more

Owner Response
JBroadway81, General Manager at Best Western Music Capital Inn, responded to this review
WOW!! 21 years! That's awesome! We appreciate you and your feedback for the property. We have over the past couple of years replaced mattresses at the property and will continue with that this winter. When making your reservation ask for one of our rooms with the newer mattress and we will be happy to put you in that room.
Rating

284mandyk, wrote review 27/11/2019

Horrible

If I could give this hotel no stars I would. Very polite front desk but they are completely uninterested in making wrongs right. We came back from on our 3rd night there to an un-made room. The maids... more

Owner Response
JBroadway81, General Manager at Best Western Music Capital Inn, responded to this review
Mrs. Leger, First off allow me to apologize for any dissatisfaction during your stay at our property, it is not the goal of our hotel to make guests stay not enjoyable. We did look into housekeeping missing your room on the third day of your 5 night stay and discovered human error, they missed your room so I'll be happy to refund the housekeeping charge for that day. The $16.49 authorization is odd for us just as it was for you, in some cases a card processing companies will allow additional funds to be held for incidentals or tips at hotels and restaurants, I would check with your card company/bank to perhaps see what your terms and conditions are on your card. The reason for the card being charged up front was it's a debit card, we charge all debit cards upfront as a courtesy to the guest so your bank account isn't holding the funds for up to 10 days. When it comes to the PTAC unit, maintenance did enter the room when you had mentioned that the room was cold but you had turned up the thermostat, to discover that when you wanted the heat on, you had the setting on cool so the heat never would have turned on since it was on the AC setting. Again it's never our goal to make someones stay not enjoyable, and you did stay 5 nights with us and appreciate your business. We do know you only get one chance to make a good first impression, and in your case we missed the mark. We do hope you have a change of heart and come back to see us again the next time your in town so we can showcase our award winning service to you and perhaps change your mind on the experience you had the first time.