Worst customer service I have experienced at a hotel
I booked a room for my husband who was hiking the Pacific Crest Trail. I always read TA reviews first and this seemed like a good choice. It was a bad weather, 45 degrees and raining. He arrived arou... more
I booked a room for my husband who was hiking the Pacific Crest Trail. I always read TA reviews first and this seemed like a good choice. It was a bad weather, 45 degrees and raining. He arrived around noon after a morning of hiking and requested an early check in. The gentleman working, Mitchell (who refused to give his last name) said none was available and to check back closer to 4 PM. Due to Covid, the lobby was closed so he suggested my husband sit outside in the rain for a few more hours. This would have been a great idea if he were trying to get hypothermia!
I called to try to plead his case as I had made the reservation and asked if there was anywhere inside he could wait since he was soaking wet and freezing. Mitchell was rude, unhelpful and continued to tell me how overworked he was. Not only did he refuse to give me his last name but he also refused to give me his supervisor’s name.
I absolutely understand a room not being available immediately and Covid closures. I have worked in the service industry and believe I have reasonable expectations. However, the thing that absolutely flabbergasted me was Mitchell’s complete lack of empathy for someone freezing cold and wet. I did not expect instant gratification, but I did expect a person who works in the service industry in a decent hotel, to say something along the lines of; “I am sorry. I do not have a room ready but I can see how cold and wet you are and I will get you into a room as soon as I can. [Or] If the type of room you requested is not available would you be interested in different type, should it be available sooner? [Or] Could I offer you a dry towel? [Or] Let me offer you something hot to drink.” Mitchell was not only unhelpful, but he never uttered a single word of understanding, empathy or kindness.
My husband noticed a sign in the lobby listing the Covid closures (the lobby among others) which read exactly as follows; If any of these changes will negatively affect your stay, we will offer cancellation without penalty only prior to check in.
After seeing the sign, he reserved a room at the Huckleberry Inn (with great service).
When I called to ask for a refund, since they had not checked in and this would not have been an issue had the lobby been open and he was able to wait inside instead of in the rain, Mitchell simply refused.
Do not stay here if you expect any level of kindness or even the most basic customer service. less
MtHoodInn, Manager at Best Western Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. First and foremost, staff is never required to divulge personal info. We have name tags to identify our staff accordingly. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences being experienced due to COVID and us being severely understaffed. After reviewing the camera footage, phone calls, and confirming that there wasn't any prior arrangements before arriving 5 hours earlier than standard check-in time, we have decided to stand by our employee's decision. Cursing in our lobby at the top of their lungs for an inconvenience due to self negligence, harassing my employees to break policy or do something they are unable to do because they are alone and assisting someone else is unacceptable. Especially during these times. It is imperative that you plan ahead of time properly and communicate with your hotel you are staying at prior to just showing up and demanding you be serviced immediately. You will no longer be allowed to stay with us again because of this.