Please don't waste your money
26/11/2015 Jackie W, Banbury, United Kingdom
This hotel looks OK from the exterior with painted railings, befitting the area. However, as you approach the interior, it feels like a very cheap hotel, with dirty leather sofas in the reception, a b... more
This hotel looks OK from the exterior with painted railings, befitting the area. However, as you approach the interior, it feels like a very cheap hotel, with dirty leather sofas in the reception, a bar/come checking in area, which is tiny; narrow corridors and bedrooms so close together you can hear every single movement. As a single business woman, I need to feel safe.The mattress was full of lumps and thin. I felt completely the opposite and couldn't wait to leave in the morning, choosing to only briefly visit the breakfast room, offered instant coffee, shortbread biscuits and burnt toast. I paid full London rates, for a room that was OK - it was clean, but thats as far as the positives are concerned. Seriously, do something prompt to change this tired and unsafe place less
Peter N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN London Highbury, responded to this review
Dear Jackie W
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
I am disappointed to hear that your less than favourable experience and am deeply sorry to hear you had a disrupted nights' sleep.
Whilst my records showed the bed base in your room was replaced upon completion of our quarterly bed audit in September 2015, we shall further review this in our next audit come December 2015. As bedding requirements can be quite subjective, please be informed we do have a mixture of firm and soft mattresses, to cater to different needs.
All our room doors are equipped with double-locking devices and night security walk-around the hotel perimeter is performed every 2 hours by my night team each and every night and any noise pollution from bedrooms, if any, will be dealt with tactfully.
The door leading to the car park is locked at 7pm and main entrance door, by 11pm to ensure a peaceful night as well as safety and security for all our guests.
Please be informed we had recently improved our breakfast offering and are now the only hotel in the area serving Full English breakfast and feedback had only been positive.
We do thank you and take your comments on board regarding our Kenco Millicano coffee machine as well as the biscuits. I have reminded my team to keep an eye on the conveyor toaster's default settings. I am delighted to inform you we are constantly looking at improving our spread and every feedback is most welcomed.
We regularly price check ourselves against equivalent quality London hotels within the area and I do believe we offer exceptionally good value for the prices charged.
I do sincerely hope that we will see you again, and have the opportunity to show you how great the hotel truly is and this is validated by many guests who chose to return to stay with us year after year.