Impersonal non hospitality experience
27/01/2016 Roderick G, Edinburgh, United Kingdom
I went to the hotel restaurant on my own for evening meal, they asked me if I had a reservation to which I reply no, they said sorry they are too busy, but enthusiastically directed me to a Chinese ta... more
I went to the hotel restaurant on my own for evening meal, they asked me if I had a reservation to which I reply no, they said sorry they are too busy, but enthusiastically directed me to a Chinese take away they said was 5 mins away. I walk over a mile to find this take away, ordered a meal but had to cancel as they did not take card. Walked back to hotel, now a 3 mile round trip, got in my car, glanced again at their restaurant, which was still half empty, and drove 5 miles to find some food. Eventually got back with a terrible take away meal, it was now almost 10pm. I threw most of it away. At that point I thought this is not good enough and phoned the duty manager and told her about restaurant incident. She was not interested in the least. I moved over to the Holiday inn the next day for about the same rate, and its fantastic. less
Fifescribe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this review
I understand that you have had the opportunity to speak to my colleague, James, regarding the points listed in your review. I believe that you accept that some of your comments may have been influenced by misunderstanding of the requests and advice various staff were trying to offer you,
We always suggest to guests checking in that it is advisable to reserve a table either in our Options Bistro or Lauders restaurant to guarantee service. As you found out when you went into the bistro there were no free , or unbooked tables at that time. I understand that you were offered a seat in the bar where the same menu is served, but since the food is cooked in the same kitchen it was anticipated that it would still be over half an hour before we could serve you. Alternatively our Lauders restaurant was fairly quiet at the time and you were offered a table and immediate service there. This offer did not suit your requirements. You asked about the nearest take away and were directed to the one at Eastfield Traffic lights. I am not sure if any questions were asked about credit card payments. The takeaway is 0.48 miles or 7 minutes walk according to google maps and is a reasonably short walk to any reasonably fit person. We would however always advise to wear a jacket or at least a jumper before going anywhere outside on a January night in Scotland. We still are unsure what comments you wanted us to make about the quality of take away food that you chose to buy elsewhere later on.
I am sorry that we obviously did not make it clear why we had asked you if you wanted to book a table, its just to make sure that we have one for you! If you had said that you had no cash and wanted the nearest take away that took credit cards we could have telephoned to find out or point you to the nearest ATM.
I am sorry that your enjoyment of stay was obviously marred by this mix up.