Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel.

Victorian charm in York.

BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel is conveniently placed in Holgate, just a 15 minute walk from York centre. The only BEST WESTERN In York with a swiming pool and enough spaces for one car per room in the free carpark.

A former rectory, this delightful 19th Century building makes a wonderful hotel. It's the ideal base for exploring York and puts you within easy reach of attractions such as the Railway Museum and the Jorvik Centre.

View more


129 Holgate Road
North Yorkshire
YO24 4AZ


2015 dinner inclusive rates offer a £25 à la carte allowance
Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:30
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Dining and Bars

Chef Chris Betteridge


Hotel Restaurant

Full of flavour and wonderfully presented, our traditional British fodder will go down a treat!

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary

Hotel Bar

For real relaxation, try our draught Black Sheep ale in the traditional and cosy hotel bar. Cheers!

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary



One of the best courses in the county played by our manager so if you are on your own give Chris a ring if free I will play with you.

Course information

Course Type: Park/Heathland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6743 Yards
Handicap required


3 miles away in fulford


Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes Yes
18 holes £55.00

Spa & Leisure

Leisure Facilities

  • Indoor swimming pool (10m)

  • Turkish steam room

  • Gym and fitness centre

Gym and Swimming Pool Facilities

Our gym boasts free weights and cardio vascular equipment so you'll be able to boast about your figure! For a water-based workout, take a dip in our indoor pool.


Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type YO24 4AZ

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J45, 14.00 miles
Nearest train station: York, 0.50 miles
Nearest airport: Leeds/Bradford, 30.00 miles
Free parking on site (26 spaces)

129 Holgate Road
North Yorkshire
YO24 4AZ

What's nearby?


  • York Rhinos - Rugby (5 miles)

  • York Football Club (2 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • York Minster (0.9 miles)

  • Railway Museum (0.4 miles)

  • Jorvik Centre (1 miles)

  • Castle Museum (1 miles)

  • York Races (0.4 miles)


  • York City Centre (1 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

This former 19th century rectory will provide a charming base for your next business event. Period features will lend an elegant air to your function, and we'll lend you a range of equipment to make sure your event runs like clockwork!

Available room set ups


Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Room A 0 0 0 14 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 425 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 186
Rating: 4 175
Rating: 3 46
Rating: 2 12
Rating: 1 6

Hotel with a heart!

12/10/2015 papatez, Folkestone, United Kingdom

The best facility at this hotel is its people and the welcome starts the moment you walk through the front door, continues with the service staff in the restaurant and the domestic staff when you meet... more

Owner Response
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review
Dear papatez, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I think you have summed up the hotel very well. You are spot on we are what we are and the guest is the most important person. To that end I positively encourage all the staff to talk to and get to know the customers they are dealing with. I do look forward to your next visit. Regards Chris

Work, rest and play

12/10/2015 Weegie-Ollie, Glasgow

DOwn in York on another workie visit but due to other priorities I couldn't confirm trip until last minute and booked into the Kilma. Always fancied giving this one a try but thought that the location... more

Owner Response
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Weegie-Ollie, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I do look forward to your next visit but don't forget to give me a call on 01904 625787 for the best room and price. Regards Chris

Beats all the others for service

08/10/2015 Cathy F,

The friendly service from all the staff, the prompt way that any problems are dealt with- makes me wonder I even bother staying anywhere else. OK so the floors sre creaky-but that's just the characte... more

Owner Response
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Cathy F, Thank you for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to have you in the hotel. I look forward to your next visit. Regards Chris

Good hotel, excellent staff.

04/10/2015 Nick G, Uttoxeter, United Kingdom

We have just returned from a weekend in York and this hotel suited our needs perfectly. Having read the previous reviews I will make the following comments; a modern square box type hotel with identi... more

Owner Response
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Nick G, Thank you for your review of the hotel and for reminding people that the building is old in character. In fact the old part was originally built in 1871 and the new extension 2000. I do agree with you that the bathrooms need updating and we will begin this next year. I am pleased you enjoyed the swimming pool but particularly please you enjoyed the breakfast offerings. I am constantly looking at ways of improving this as most people do have breakfast and as of next week we will have hot porridge with stewed fruits out for the winter. I note your comment on parking in York and do agree that even on a one night stay a free one can save you a least £15.00 plus and as we allow guests to leave the car the following day another £10 something to take into account when checking prices on the inter web. Talking of the inter web don't forget to call me or my team direct as any price you see on any web site we always do a discount when called on 01904 625787. I look forward to your next visit but if not before Christmas may Santa bring you all you wish for. Yours Chris Betteridge Hotel Manager

Not a business hotel

30/09/2015 Tony20000, Motherwell, United Kingdom

I arrived to a friendly welcome. Quickly checked in and headed up to the room. The room was on the front of the hotel and was extremely hot so I opened the window to be hit with a wall of noise from... more

Owner Response
KILIMA, Manager at BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Tony20000, Thank you for your honest review of the hotel. If by not a business hotel you mean we are not a modern hotel then in some ways I have to agree with you. We do have however all the amenities the business traveller would expect and a few more. As with all 4000 BESTWESTERN Hotels world wide we offer free internet, we also have a free car park as well as having a free fitness room and pool for guest to use. We do have some rooms at the front of the hotel and being a city centre location I would think most hotels do. It is a difficult one for the maids as to leaving the radiator on or turning it of and occasionally we will get it wrong. It is true that I have recently taken on a number of new staff and you are perfectly correct they will get better and better as time goes on. As for the bathrooms we are planning to start them next year. To sum up I am really sorry that on this occasion we have let you down and not come up to your expectation. I would ask however that should you come for another visit that you call me direct on 01904 625787 and I will allocate you a room that will more suit your needs. Regards Chris