Nice location, few things to improve...
Visiting for the first time York, we wanted to be close to the city centre for the 3 days we've booked for. Very good location, only 12-15min to walk to city centre, there is a car parking at the back... more
Visiting for the first time York, we wanted to be close to the city centre for the 3 days we've booked for. Very good location, only 12-15min to walk to city centre, there is a car parking at the back, £10/day, I think that it will be cheaper if you book directly with the hotel. Oliver made us the quick check in after taking us the temperature, very friendly person, he informed us about everything: breakfast, pool booking and then he showed us the room (number 11, ground floor) - very nice room, clean and really big, but try to avoid it if you would like to sleep after 6:30am. Being just behind reception, we could hear the conversations very early in the morning. After the 2nd morning, I called reception and Chris changed us the room (didn't look to be happy to do it), one upstairs, smaller but nice and quiet. Breakfast was good, we had hot bacon roll, an apple, a cereal bar and yogurt. After changing the rooms, we received cold breakfast the next morning. The pool was nice, we had to book for it at reception, but can't stay to long as the water is a bit cold. Next time we will think for another hotel. less
CHRIS BETTERIDGE, General Manager at Best Western Kilima Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review of the hotel on this platform. I have already responded to your other review on a different platform but will once again apologies for not meeting your expectations.
The parking is only charged when you booked online and is free when calling 01904625787 to make your booking.
The room you first had allocated is indeed a very large room and can accommodated a family of up to four.
The second a King room ( you had booked a double) which you indeed moved to as you could hear the reception.
The temperature of the pool is at 30.5 degrees and is used by 3 groups of swimming classes with babies and toddlers each and every day.
I am not sure as to why your breakfast was cold and have talked to the manager who made it on the day regarding the mater.
I am not sure as to why you feel I was not a happy person as I talked to you each and every day of your stay.
I wish you all the best with your future endeavours looking for another hotel in York that offers the same as we do at the Kilima in the same price range but if unsuccessful please call on 01904625787 for a discounted to the internet rate and free parking.
We would be delighted to see you again.