Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel.

Victorian charm in Chelmsford.

Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel is a lovingly converted Victorian House, set in 9 acres of beautifully matured gardens and ideally situated midway between Chelmsford and Brentwood.With beautifully landscaped gardens and a delightful patio, this hotel is a wonderful place to relax and recharge your batteries. First class service will make your business or leisure break even more enjoyable.

While you're with us, you'll have the chance to enjoy delicious food in wonderful surroundings. Like the fine wine we pour, the hotel only gets better with age!

View more

Location

Writtle Road
Margaretting
Chelmsford
Essex
CM4 0EH
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6238*
AA

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

ivy-hill-hotel-dining-07-83852

Bartellas Restaurant

Located with a sparkling new extension "Bartellas" Restaurant offers Modern English and Continental cuisine on an individually priced menu. Also on offer is a Traditional Sunday Lunch menu.

Opening hours

Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
ivy-hill-hotel-dining-14-83852

The Lounge & Bar

A stunning new refurbishment and build have created our Lounge & Bar. open for Coffees & Sandwiched, Afternoon Teas or just to sit and relax in!

Opening hours

11:00-22:30
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Hylands Golf Complex

Course information

Course Type: Parkland/links
Location: Off Site
Holes: 27
Par: 72
Distance: 6604 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3 miles away in ingatestone

Facilities

Driving range
Putting green golf facilites

Prices

9 holes £14.00
18 holes £24.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire £10.00
Buggy hire £16.00
Tuition £40.00
Driving Range £3.00

Weddings

Best Western Ivy Hill is the ideal choice for your big day, the beautiful house and the elegant landscaped gardens are a perfect backdrop for your celebrations, whether your party is for 2 or 250 guests. Best Western Ivy Hill is fully licensed for civil ceremonies, this includes weddings, civil partnerships, commitment ceremonies, naming ceremonies and renewal of vows.

ivy-hill-hotel-wedding-events-12-83852ivy-hill-hotel-wedding-events-18-83852ivy-hill-hotel-wedding-events-08-83852ivy-hill-hotel-wedding-events-09-83852ivy-hill-hotel-wedding-events-10-83852

Wedding service and reception venue

The newly refurbished Ivy Suites offer the perfect venue for your wedding reception. Overlooking the gardens, they offer views that are as tempting as the food we serve!

Catering

Our variety of function rooms, menu options and experienced staff will ensure that your party is remembered for all the right reasons.

Registrar

Registry office:
Chelmsford
17 Market Road , Chelmsford, CM1 1GF
01245 430700




For any enquiries please call on 01277 353040

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CM4 0EH

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M25, J28, 9.00 miles
Nearest train station: Chelmsford, 5.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 23.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)
On site disabled parking (3 spaces)

Address
Writtle Road
Margaretting
Chelmsford
Essex
CM4 0EH
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Colchester United FC (23 miles)

Shopping

  • Chelmsford (2.9 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

ivy-hill-hotel-meeting-space-07-83852

Those all-important board meetings will benefit from our pleasant 'out of office' refurbished surroundings, while general conferences and seminars can be hosted in one of our other flexible spaces.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Ivy 1 & Ivy 2

Available independently or combined into one large room the Ivy Suite is adjacent to our syndicate rooms for easy breakout. With plenty of natural light it offers imediate access direct into the gardens.

Margaretting Suite

A dedicated Conference & Function suite, the Margaretting Suite has an independant entrance, its own facilities and a private garden.

Highwood Room

Situated on the first floor, the Highwood Room is air conditioned and private.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Ivy 1 50 20 20 20 30
Ivy 2 50 20 20 20 36
Ivy 1 & Ivy 2 90 40 46 44 76
Ivy Suite 0 0 0 0 120
Margaretting Suite 180 80 0 0 160
Highwood Room 60 24 28 32 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 299 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 130
Rating: 4 109
Rating: 3 39
Rating: 2 16
Rating: 1 5
Rating

no air con and loud road noise

22/07/2016 taffy2409, Stoke Mandeville, United Kingdom

stayed at this hotel for the first time-good location and nice hotel and restaurant-good food and service-drinks pricey-£5.20 a pint. rooms were ok but I stayed during the very hot period and no air c... more

Rating

Our Evening Wedding Reception and Party

17/07/2016 MandynNick,

We got married in London and had a Reception at Tower Bridge as Mandy has been in love with the Bridge since she was a girl. We wanted to celebrate near home with friends and family and looked for a v... more

Rating

Great facility

05/07/2016 Martino B, Chelmsford, United Kingdom

Used this hotel many times this time for a big party couldn't thank the friendly staff enough the service was outstanding and the hotel manager is one of the best . The facilities we were given were i... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review following your most recent visit to Ivy Hill. I am pleased that you all enjoyed your celebrations with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

Disappointed with admin charge

26/06/2016 Carol B,

Room was ok but nothing special, kettle was broken and no trouser press or iron in room.Nowhere in bathroom to put toilet bag, very small. Breakfast was very good and staff were helpful.unfortunately ... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you only felt the room was only ok, having been refurbished just a few years ago most people like them and the facilities they offer, had you mentioned during your visit that we were items not working correctly in the room we could have arranged replacements for you. Sorry that you did not find it but all of the bathrooms do have a shelf, it is actually one of the Best Western inspection requirements that there is a place for guests to put toiletries. The charge for the return of your item left behind was poorly explained to you and I apologise for this, we don't consider it to be an admin charge but the price quoted of £10 was to cover suitable packaging, recorded delivery and to allow some contribution towards the cost of a member of staff having to leave the hotel and go to the nearest post office which, due to our location is several miles away. We are not the only hotel to make a charge for returning items left behind and as I'm sure you can imagine, returning everything guests left behind free of charge would be very costly for us. If you would prefer to send us a stamped addressed envelope we can return the item but this will just be regular post rather than a traceable service. Sorry that this has led you to feel that you would not stay with us or any other Best Western again, I am not sure if you are aware of how the group works but all of the properties are independently owned so to judge them all on a policy of mine that you don't like is a little harsh. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

Two nights at the BW Ivy

19/06/2016 mjw44, Sevenoaks

When we arrived we were pleased with the appearance of the hotel and grounds however, we had to wait for 20 minutes in the lounge bar until the official 3 PM check in time and then had an easy check-i... more