• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel.

Victorian charm in Chelmsford.

Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel is a lovingly converted Victorian House, set in 9 acres of beautifully matured gardens and ideally situated midway between Chelmsford and Brentwood.With beautifully landscaped gardens and a delightful patio, this hotel is a wonderful place to relax and recharge your batteries. First class service will make your business or leisure break even more enjoyable.

While you're with us, you'll have the chance to enjoy delicious food in wonderful surroundings. Like the fine wine we pour, the hotel only gets better with age!

View more

Location

Writtle Road
Margaretting

Chelmsford
Essex
CM4 0EH
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 034174
AA

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

blank image

Bartellas Restaurant

Located with a sparkling new extension "Bartellas" Restaurant offers Modern English and Continental cuisine on an individually priced menu. Also on offer is a Traditional Sunday Lunch menu.

Opening hours

Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
blank image

The Lounge & Bar

A stunning new refurbishment and build have created our Lounge & Bar. open for Coffees & Sandwiched, Afternoon Teas or just to sit and relax in!

Opening hours

11:00-22:30
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Hylands Golf Complex

Course information

Course Type: Parkland/links
Location: Off Site
Holes: 27
Par: 72
Distance: 6604 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3 miles away in ingatestone

Facilities

Driving range
Putting green golf facilites

Prices

9 holes £10.00
18 holes £24.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire £16.00
Tuition £40.00
Driving Range £3.50

Weddings

Best Western Ivy Hill is the ideal choice for your big day, the beautiful house and the elegant landscaped gardens are a perfect backdrop for your celebrations, whether your party is for 2 or 250 guests. Best Western Ivy Hill is fully licensed for civil ceremonies, this includes weddings, civil partnerships, commitment ceremonies, naming ceremonies and renewal of vows.

blank imageblank imageblank imageblank image

Wedding service and reception venue

The newly refurbished Ivy Suites offer the perfect venue for your wedding reception. Overlooking the gardens, they offer views that are as tempting as the food we serve!

Catering

Our variety of function rooms, menu options and experienced staff will ensure that your party is remembered for all the right reasons.

Registrar

Registry office:
Chelmsford
17 Market Road , Chelmsford, CM1 1GF
01245 430700




For any enquiries please call on 01277 353040

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CM4 0EH

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M25, J28, 9.00 miles
Nearest train station: Chelmsford, 5.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 23.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)
On site disabled parking (3 spaces)

Address
Writtle Road
Margaretting
Chelmsford
Essex
CM4 0EH
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Colchester United FC (23 miles)

Shopping

  • Chelmsford (2.9 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

blank image

Those all-important board meetings will benefit from our pleasant 'out of office' refurbished surroundings, while general conferences and seminars can be hosted in one of our other flexible spaces.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Ivy 1 & Ivy 2

Available independently or combined into one large room the Ivy Suite is adjacent to our syndicate rooms for easy breakout. With plenty of natural light it offers imediate access direct into the gardens.

Margaretting Suite

A dedicated Conference & Function suite, the Margaretting Suite has an independant entrance, its own facilities and a private garden.

Highwood Room

Situated on the first floor, the Highwood Room is air conditioned and private.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Ivy 1 50 20 20 20 30
Ivy 2 50 20 20 20 36
Ivy 1 & Ivy 2 90 40 46 44 76
Ivy Suite 0 0 0 0 120
Margaretting Suite 180 80 0 0 160
Highwood Room 60 24 28 32 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 485 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 240
Rating: 4 162
Rating: 3 53
Rating: 2 25
Rating: 1 6
Rating

Lunch Meeting

16/08/2019 Stuart G, Nottingham

Hotel was undergoing some building works, it was raining and a Monday - what could go wrong ? Simplistically , nothing ! Excellent attentive staff , and a very pleasant chef, led our business meeting ... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and for rewarding us with 5 stars. I am pleased you had a wonderful time dining with us and found the staff to be attentive. I hope when you are next in the area you come back and perhaps stay overnight in one of our beautiful bedrooms. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

Good Accomodation

12/08/2019 thill647525, Devizes, United Kingdom

We stayed at this hotel after attending a friends wedding and found the accomodation was good value for money. However, we were a bit disappointed with the breakfast, as there was not much option and... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you had a wonderful overnight stay with us, but I apologise you found the breakfast to be disappointing. Our breakfast is complimentary and we offer full cooked breakfast along with a wide variety of continental produce as well. We normally receive glowing reviews for our breakfast and it's a great shame you didn't mention your disappointment to a member of the team on the day. I hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us again when you are next in the area. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

A scrumptious afternoon tea

11/08/2019 Jackie B, Tilbury, United Kingdom

As we had a discount voucher, three of us went for afternoon tea at this hotel. It was delicious and plentiful. The decor of the restaurant is very nice and staff were friendly and helpful. We woul... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you all had a wonderful time dining with us for Afternoon Tea and found the food and service to be friendly and helpful. It is fantastic you shall be returning again soon, perhaps for dinner in our restaurant Bartellas. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

Mislead, parched and out of pocket.

05/08/2019 Oscar P,

Having running water, being charged for my 'complimentary' breakfast, having £40 withheld without explanation (I'm still waiting for that to be returned to me), and being charged £25 for the early che... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, but I am disappointed to read your comments as I note the hotel manager has been in contact with you; but you still feel the need to write via Trip Advisor. I apologise for the loss of water, this was caused by a slight airlock in the system and was immediately resolved. Your bedroom rate was inclusive of breakfast, and having checked your invoice I can see we haven't charged you additional charges for this. Regarding the early check in charge, the hotel was fully booked the night prior to your arrival and a £25 fee is a standard charge for occupying a room earlier than our normal 3pm checking in time. A pre-authorisation is also a standard procedure all hotels in the UK follow by. As the hotel manager confirmed to you, we have cancelled the pre-authorisation, but you need to contact your bank to release the funds as this is beyond our control. It's disappointing you feel you are no longer wanting to stay in Best Western's, as we are all independently owned and run. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

Baby’s christening

03/08/2019 Denise F, London, United Kingdom

We had our sons christening at the best western at the end of May. The team were fantastic in the run up to the event as well as on the day. Libby and the events team were brilliant. I would definitel... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and for rewarding us with 5 stars. I am so pleased you all had a wonderful day celebrating your sons Christening and your review gives me hope you will have such joyous memories of this day. I am pleased you found the service from our staff, from booking this event, right up to on the day; to be 'brilliant'. I hope when you require a venue for another occasion, perhaps your son's birthday party; you think of us! Jason Bartella Managing Director