• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel.

Victorian charm in Chelmsford.

Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel is a lovingly converted Victorian House, set in 9 acres of beautifully matured gardens and ideally situated midway between Chelmsford and Brentwood.With beautifully landscaped gardens and a delightful patio, this hotel is a wonderful place to relax and recharge your batteries. First class service will make your business or leisure break even more enjoyable.

While you're with us, you'll have the chance to enjoy delicious food in wonderful surroundings. Like the fine wine we pour, the hotel only gets better with age!

View more

Location

Writtle Road
Margaretting

Chelmsford
Essex
CM4 0EH
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 034174
AA

Summary

Bars, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

blank image

Bartellas Restaurant

Located with a sparkling new extension "Bartellas" Restaurant offers Modern English and Continental cuisine on an individually priced menu. Also on offer is a Traditional Sunday Lunch menu.

Opening hours

Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
blank image

The Lounge & Bar

A stunning new refurbishment and build have created our Lounge & Bar. Open for Coffees, Sandwiches, Afternoon Teas or just to sit and relax in!

Opening hours

11:00-22:30
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Hylands Golf Complex

Course information

Course Type: Parkland/links
Location: Off Site
Holes: 27
Par: 72
Distance: 6604 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3 miles away in ingatestone

Facilities

Driving range
Putting green golf facilites

Prices

9 holes £10.00
18 holes £24.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire £16.00
Tuition £40.00
Driving Range £3.50

Weddings

Best Western Ivy Hill is the ideal choice for your big day, the beautiful house and the elegant landscaped gardens are a perfect backdrop for your celebrations, whether your party is for 2 or 250 guests. Best Western Ivy Hill is fully licensed for civil ceremonies, this includes weddings, civil partnerships, commitment ceremonies, naming ceremonies and renewal of vows.

blank imageblank imageblank imageblank image

Wedding service and reception venue

The newly refurbished Ivy Suites offer the perfect venue for your wedding reception. Overlooking the gardens, they offer views that are as tempting as the food we serve!

Catering

Our variety of function rooms, menu options and experienced staff will ensure that your party is remembered for all the right reasons.

Registrar

Registry office:
Chelmsford
17 Market Road , Chelmsford, CM1 1GF
01245 430700




For any enquiries please call on 01277 353040

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CM4 0EH

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M25, J28, 9.00 miles
Nearest train station: Chelmsford, 5.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 23.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)

Address
Writtle Road
Margaretting
Chelmsford
Essex
CM4 0EH
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Colchester United FC (23 miles)

Shopping

  • Chelmsford (2.9 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

blank image

Those all-important board meetings will benefit from our pleasant 'out of office' refurbished surroundings, while general conferences and seminars can be hosted in one of our other flexible spaces.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Ivy 1 & Ivy 2

Available independently or combined into one large room the Ivy Suite is adjacent to our syndicate rooms for easy breakout. With plenty of natural light it offers imediate access direct into the gardens.

Margaretting Suite

A dedicated Conference & Function suite, the Margaretting Suite has an independant entrance, its own facilities and a private garden.

Highwood Room

Situated on the first floor, the Highwood Room is air conditioned and private.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Ivy 1 50 20 20 20 36
Ivy 1 & Ivy 2 90 40 46 44 76
Ivy Suite 0 0 0 0 120
Margaretting Suite 180 80 0 0 160
Highwood Room 60 24 28 32 0
Ivy 2 40 20 16 20 32
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 495 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 245
Rating: 4 163
Rating: 3 53
Rating: 2 26
Rating: 1 8
Rating

Don’t check in early!

15/10/2019 andreashE2834JI, Asker, Norway

Nice enough hotel, newly-ish refurbished room, but not the same standard in the bathroom. But then....they charged an extra 25 Pounds for checking in at noon in stead of 3 pm, even if the room was rea... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and it’s a shame you felt disappointed with our Early Check In policy. Our checking in time is 3pm, but when booked in advance we can organise the room to be let earlier than this, at a charge of £25.00. The Early Check In policy is used in most hotels worldwide and details of the charge are advised upon checking in and are included on our booking confirmations. For guests who choose not to pay the charge, we offer an alternative which is to pre-register their bedroom and we offer the service of leaving your luggage with us for free. You also make comment on the bathroom not being the same standard as the bedrooms, but I wanted to let you know the hotel is on a continuous makeover, which includes the bathrooms and I apologise you did not stay in one of these updated rooms. I hope this doesn’t stop you from visiting us again when you are next in the area. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

Ivy Hill Hotel - So Disapppointing

04/10/2019 jasperWyss,

This hotel is tired. it requires a good clean, some painting and decorating and generally needs brightening up. we booked and deluxe twin room which was huge, but dark, dingy and very stuffy although... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. Firstly I just wanted to let you know that all Best Western hotels are independently owned and run. I have looked into your reservation and have been advised of all the aspects that were done for you in order to rectify the situation, which you haven't mentioned on your review and I think it is a great shame that you have laboured on the negatives more than the positives, but I guess that's the Trip Advisor World. I hope when you are next in the area you stay with us again and allow us to redeem ourselves. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

Lovely Room

29/09/2019 mawal8, Brentwood, United Kingdom

We stayed in a four poster room very comfortable bed and lovely room. Super friendly staff and nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was good quality produce and even did a separate scrambled egg, wh... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. It is wonderful you found the room to be lovely and comfortable. It is always pleasing to hear the service our guests receive from our staff was greatly appreciated. I shall gladly pass on your comments to the team, including your kind comments regarding our breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

Total rip off

16/09/2019 Eddiex353,

My £130 room could do with a coat of paint, bathroom tired. Central heating for whole wing was like a machine gun going off as the radiator valve was sticking all night The function we attended in in... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and it's a great shame you didn't mention any maintenance issue during your stay, as we could have dealt with this at the time. Our hotel accommodation prices are competitively priced for the area and our bar tariffs are also lower than most venues in the area. I hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us again on another occasion. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

Perfect stay for wedding nearby but be warned of the heat in summer!

09/09/2019 gld39, London, United Kingdom

Stayed here as part of a bridal party for a wedding over at Crondon Park in July. The hotel is lovely and rooms are of a good size. The staff we came across were all very polite and friendly. Our onl... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us in July. It is wonderful you found the rooms to be large and decorated nicely. Also, it is always great to hear the service you receive from our staff was friendly and polite. It's disappointing you comment on the rooms being hot, as we do provide fans and as you can appreciate the weather in July was very warm. We do not claim to have air conditioning, and due to building regulations, our rooms that can accommodate young children do have child locks; but these can easily be unlocked by adults if they desire. As you can appreciate, by making our customers experience better, there will be some building works taking place and we do our upmost to keep guests away from these works where possible. The builders are arriving onsite at 8am, but actual building works are not taking place until 9am; which we do not feel is unreasonable. I hope should you be in the area again, this does not deter you from staying with us again. Jason Bartella Managing Director