Disappointed with admin charge
26/06/2016 Carol B,
Room was ok but nothing special, kettle was broken and no trouser press or iron in room.Nowhere in bathroom to put toilet bag, very small. Breakfast was very good and staff were helpful.unfortunately ... more
Room was ok but nothing special, kettle was broken and no trouser press or iron in room.Nowhere in bathroom to put toilet bag, very small. Breakfast was very good and staff were helpful.unfortunately I left my iPad charger in room so I phoned hotel and they said they had found it. I asked if they would post it back and of course I was willing to pay postage but they said there would be a £5 admin charge which was ridiculous and I just wonder where their goodwill is. We had paid £250 for a 2 night stay surely they could have posted it back without this charge. We shall never stay in a Best Western again less
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that you only felt the room was only ok, having been refurbished just a few years ago most people like them and the facilities they offer, had you mentioned during your visit that we were items not working correctly in the room we could have arranged replacements for you.
Sorry that you did not find it but all of the bathrooms do have a shelf, it is actually one of the Best Western inspection requirements that there is a place for guests to put toiletries.
The charge for the return of your item left behind was poorly explained to you and I apologise for this, we don't consider it to be an admin charge but the price quoted of £10 was to cover suitable packaging, recorded delivery and to allow some contribution towards the cost of a member of staff having to leave the hotel and go to the nearest post office which, due to our location is several miles away. We are not the only hotel to make a charge for returning items left behind and as I'm sure you can imagine, returning everything guests left behind free of charge would be very costly for us.
If you would prefer to send us a stamped addressed envelope we can return the item but this will just be regular post rather than a traceable service.
Sorry that this has led you to feel that you would not stay with us or any other Best Western again, I am not sure if you are aware of how the group works but all of the properties are independently owned so to judge them all on a policy of mine that you don't like is a little harsh.