Let down by breakfast staff
19/01/2016 JohnDaniell, St. Albans, United Kingdom
I stayed at this hotel on business and was happy with the welcome. The executive room was spacious but a little dated in parts. I would expect bottled water as standard in this category of room withou... more
I stayed at this hotel on business and was happy with the welcome. The executive room was spacious but a little dated in parts. I would expect bottled water as standard in this category of room without having to request it. The wifi connection was not 100% reliable. The service at dinner in the restaurant was outstanding. Lorna takes great pride in her work and aims to please. The good was of very good quality. All was fine until recently breakfast service the next morning. There was nobody to greet me on arrival do after waiting 3 minutes I chose my own table. There followed an exchange of 4 letter expletives between the breakfast staff which was totally unacceptable. Although this took place in the kitchen, it was loud enough for all to hear. less
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review following your recent visit.
I am pleased that in the main you enjoyed your stay, we are only a three star hotel and as such are not required to provide bottled water in the rooms however we do offer this free of charge and in order to ensure it is fresh and chilled it is available on request.
We have the best internet connection that is available but due to our location the speeds available are restricted.
The service at breakfast and language that you overheard was not acceptable and the staff involved have been reprimanded. I do hope that this one small incident would not overshadow all of the positives from your visit and you would stay with us again if you were in the area.