• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel.

Victorian charm in Chelmsford.

Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel is a lovingly converted Victorian House, set in 9 acres of beautifully matured gardens and ideally situated midway between Chelmsford and Brentwood.With beautifully landscaped gardens and a delightful patio, this hotel is a wonderful place to relax and recharge your batteries. First class service will make your business or leisure break even more enjoyable.

While you're with us, you'll have the chance to enjoy delicious food in wonderful surroundings. Like the fine wine we pour, the hotel only gets better with age!

View more

Location

Writtle Road
Margaretting

Chelmsford
Essex
CM4 0EH
England
To make a reservation please call 0800 393130 (Freephone). For all other enquiries please call 01277 353040
AA

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

ivy-hill-hotel-dining-07-83852

Bartellas Restaurant

Located with a sparkling new extension "Bartellas" Restaurant offers Modern English and Continental cuisine on an individually priced menu. Also on offer is a Traditional Sunday Lunch menu.

Opening hours

Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
ivy-hill-hotel-dining-14-83852

The Lounge & Bar

A stunning new refurbishment and build have created our Lounge & Bar. open for Coffees & Sandwiched, Afternoon Teas or just to sit and relax in!

Opening hours

11:00-22:30
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Hylands Golf Complex

Course information

Course Type: Parkland/links
Location: Off Site
Holes: 27
Par: 72
Distance: 6604 Yards
No handicap required

Location

3 miles away in ingatestone

Facilities

Driving range
Putting green golf facilites

Prices

9 holes £10.00
18 holes £24.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire £16.00
Tuition £40.00
Driving Range £3.50

Weddings

Best Western Ivy Hill is the ideal choice for your big day, the beautiful house and the elegant landscaped gardens are a perfect backdrop for your celebrations, whether your party is for 2 or 250 guests. Best Western Ivy Hill is fully licensed for civil ceremonies, this includes weddings, civil partnerships, commitment ceremonies, naming ceremonies and renewal of vows.

ivy-hill-hotel-wedding-events-12-83852ivy-hill-hotel-wedding-events-18-83852ivy-hill-hotel-wedding-events-17-83852

Wedding service and reception venue

The newly refurbished Ivy Suites offer the perfect venue for your wedding reception. Overlooking the gardens, they offer views that are as tempting as the food we serve!

Catering

Our variety of function rooms, menu options and experienced staff will ensure that your party is remembered for all the right reasons.

Registrar

Registry office:
Chelmsford
17 Market Road , Chelmsford, CM1 1GF
01245 430700




For any enquiries please call on 01277 353040

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CM4 0EH

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M25, J28, 9.00 miles
Nearest train station: Chelmsford, 5.00 miles
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 23.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)
On site disabled parking (3 spaces)

Address
Writtle Road
Margaretting
Chelmsford
Essex
CM4 0EH
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Colchester United FC (23 miles)

Shopping

  • Chelmsford (2.9 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

ivy-hill-hotel-meeting-space-07-83852

Those all-important board meetings will benefit from our pleasant 'out of office' refurbished surroundings, while general conferences and seminars can be hosted in one of our other flexible spaces.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Ivy 1 & Ivy 2

Available independently or combined into one large room the Ivy Suite is adjacent to our syndicate rooms for easy breakout. With plenty of natural light it offers imediate access direct into the gardens.

Margaretting Suite

A dedicated Conference & Function suite, the Margaretting Suite has an independant entrance, its own facilities and a private garden.

Highwood Room

Situated on the first floor, the Highwood Room is air conditioned and private.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Ivy 1 50 20 20 20 30
Ivy 2 50 20 20 20 36
Ivy 1 & Ivy 2 90 40 46 44 76
Ivy Suite 0 0 0 0 120
Margaretting Suite 180 80 0 0 160
Highwood Room 60 24 28 32 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 444 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 218
Rating: 4 154
Rating: 3 48
Rating: 2 19
Rating: 1 5
Rating

Nice Christmas lunch

12/02/2019 1sjoe,

Very good meeting place just few minutes away from the A12. Quiet pleasant place. Food nicely served and very good. Service good. Parking free and big overflow car park . Food good quality and quantit... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I am delighted you had a wonderful Christmas luncheon with us and found our location to be a very good meeting point, close to the A12 with ample free parking. It is fantastic you found the food to be great and the level of service from all of our staff to also be very good, as we aim to deliver a 5 star service, which I am glad you were not disappointed. I shall gladly pass on your comments to the team. I hope when you are next in the area you come and visit us again, we have a few events taking place soon such as Mother's & Father's Day and Easter Sunday luncheon at Bartellas or Afternoon Tea at Ivy Hill. Please take a look at our website for further information.. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

VERY GOOD ACCOMODATION

05/02/2019 DOUG Y, Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Dropped into the Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel without booking and was pleasantly accommodated.The receptionist could not be more helpful. Comfortable and clean rooms. Visited the Bartellas restaurant f... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and I would like to thank you for recommending us. I am delighted you had a wonderful stay and found the room to be clean and comfortable. It is fantastic you found the food to be extremely good and the level of service from all of our staff to be helpful, as we aim to deliver a 5 star service, which I am glad you were not disappointed. I shall gladly pass on your comments to the team. I hope when you are next in the area you come and stay with us again. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

Another Great Stay

08/01/2019 30statesJo, London, United Kingdom

Our family booked in for the weekend of the Sweet Charity Ball again this year to ensure no one had to drive home! Rooms are comfortable, though it was raining heavily the night we stayed and leaky gu... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you all had a wonderful stay with us and found the staff to be attentive and the breakfast the following morning to be of a good selection. I hope when you are next in the area you stay with us again and perhaps dine in our Restaurant Bartellas. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

a fair price but some odd quirks

08/01/2019 julian H, Norwich, United Kingdom

visited as part of a single night away to see friends. Room okay , warm and clean but a little on the small side and not too impressed with bags of laundry left in the fire escape route which was NOT ... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I apologise if the shower didn't work whilst you stayed with us, I shall look into this as a matter of urgency. I have checked with the team and it is a great shame you didn't mention this to anyone during your stay or upon check out. However I am pleased you found the room to be warm and clean, and I hope when you are next in the area this does not deter you from staying with us again. Jason Bartella Managing Director
Rating

New Years Eve

06/01/2019 nestledown1, Castle Hedingham, United Kingdom

Very well planned New Years Eve Event. Reception drink on arrival. Fish starter and Haddock with Mussels was nicely presented and tasted delicious. Those that had Fillet of Beef said it was overcooked... more

Owner Response
HLGroup, Owner at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for a lovely review of our New Year's Eve event at Ivy Hill. I apologise the steak wasn't to your satisfaction, but as mentioned on the Christmas programme the steaks were all cooked medium. As we had sent out around 160 steaks, some of these may have been slightly different. If you had mentioned this on the evening I can assure you the team would have rectified the issue immediately. I hope this doesn't deter you from dining with us again, perhaps for dinner in our restaurant Bartellas. Jason Bartella Managing Director