Best Western Ipswich Hotel and Spa

Old London Road, Copdock, Ipswich, Suffolk, IP8 3JD, England
based on 686 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA

Best Western Ipswich Hotel and Spa

Be our guest in Ipswich.

Best Western Ipswich Hotel and Spa, is set snuggly in its quiet countryside surroundings, but we're also just a stone's throw from the A12 and A14, meaning easy access to all major routes (and just far enough away from the hassle of parking in town). show more

Breakfast is 'grab and go' delivered to the guests room
COVID 19 - Hotel is only open for guests travelling for work or authorised purposes. Evidence may be requested on arrival or during pre-registration.
24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Free WIFI, Lift to all floors, Pets Allowed, Restaurants
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets accepted
, on request.
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 11:00
Old London Road, Copdock, Ipswich, Suffolk, IP8 3JD, England
Sat Nav Directions: IP8 3JD
What 3 Words: ambitions.pointed.crust

Restaurants & Bars

Meet Darren our head chef, born in Cambridge and trained in one of the local colleges. Darren is proud to have put some of his team through the same education and training he received in the area. He also got engaged and married at the hotel! Darren has been part of the team for over 13 years, bringing a wealth of experience. His motto is 'the closer it is the more you can keep an eye on it'. This philosophy has been brought to the kitchen to ensure that a large amount of our products are purchased locally from private independent producers.

Chef Darren Morton
  • Wolsey Suite
  • Wolsey Bar

Wolsey Suite

The Wolsey Suite is our main restaurant & bar, serving up a big helping of home from home style English cuisine. Choose from our a la carte or table d'hote menus. Our brilliant chefs source the very best local ingredients and all meals are cooked to order. Enjoy.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 06:30 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary

Wolsey Bar

Our retro style public bar serves up fabulous food all day long, with Sky TV for the big matches and more. We also offer an enticing sandwich and snack menu.

Opening hours
10:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Big or small, we have it all. The events team at the Best Western Ipswich Hotel and Spa are always on hand to help you make all your arrangements before and during the big day itself.

For any enquiries please call Kate Sewell on 01473 209988

Registrar

Registry office:
Suffolk County Council
St Peters House, 16 Grimwade St, Ipswich IP4 1LP
0345 6072050

Golf

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

  • Brettvale
  • Fynn Valley

Brettvale

5.8 miles away in Noaks Road, Ipswich

Course information

  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Park Land

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

5877 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

18 holes £20.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Buggy hire £5.00
Tuition £40.00

Fynn Valley

7 miles away in Witnesham Road, Ipswich

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Open Ground

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

6391 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes £16.00
18 holes £28.00
Trolley hire £2.50
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £39.50
Driving Range £5.00

Meetings & Events

Our venue really is the business for meetings and events - as well as smaller gatherings and interviews in an impressive setting. The eight meeting rooms at Best Western Ipswich Hotel and Spa all offe...

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Our venue really is the business for meetings and events - as well as smaller gatherings and interviews in an impressive setting. The eight meeting rooms at Best Western Ipswich Hotel and Spa all offer an array of facilities, with The Suffolk Suite presenting a 'one stop shop' solution for a large banquet or conference being one of the largest venues in East Anglia, catering for up to 500 guests in style as well as comfort.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Suffolk Suite 600 200 80 35 350
Wolsey Suite 0 0 0 0 120
Constable Suite 90 40 35 40 80
Constable Suite 1 50 30 25 30 30
Constable Suite 2 30 20 15 20 30
Lucas Room 40 16 20 20 30
Portman Room 0 0 0 24 24
Orford Room 20 10 0 12 0

Reviews of Best Western Ipswich Hotel and Spa

Traveller Overview:
3.5 Rating: 686 reviews
Excellent 33%
Very Good 27%
Average 19%
Poor 9%
Terrible 10%
Rating

johnhT6379AM, wrote review 15/02/2021

Wonderful Takeaway Sunday Roast

Collected our takeaway Sunday roast yesterday. Big portions, meat was tender, six different vegetables, lovely gravy served in a separate container. Meals remained hot for quite some time so no need ... more

Rating

coppercurly, wrote review 05/12/2020

Festive afternoon tea

We have just had the most excellent afternoon tea at the hotel. A good number and selection of sandwiches with tasty fillings and also sausage rolls and pigs in blankets! The scones, we think, had cra... more

Owner Response
Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Copper Curly I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea. Hopefully once Government restrictions are lifted you can enjoy another Afternoon Tea here and incorporate it with a day using our new SPA facilities. Look out for offers on our SPA Social Media pages. Kind regards Kate Sewell General Manager
Rating

Slc1234, wrote review 21/11/2020

Dirty and staff unhelpful

The bathroom was dirty and despite asking at check-in about whether breakfast was in clued in the rate (which it was) neither of the check in staff told us we needed to pre order with them there and t... more

Owner Response
Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Slc1234 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am unsure if I spoke to yourself or your sister I did apologise to her if we hadn't made it clear on arrival the process for ordering Breakfast, when we spoke Breakfast was still available and this was offered to her I even checked with her again when I saw her at Reception to see whether any was required but this was declined. The pens are sanitised daily this is done before check in and after check out which is 11am. Kind regards Kate Sewell General Manager
Rating

zafira63, wrote review 01/11/2020

Not happy

Booked into hotel. Staff were friendly. Went up to our superior double room.the bed had been changed as the headboard was for a kingsize looked out if sorts. It was at back of hotel thought yes it w... more

Owner Response
Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel, responded to this review
Dear zafira63 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your stay. The bed has not been changed in the room the design of the headboards take in the cabinets either side as well. Unfortunately there are a number of adaptations that we have had to make whilst the pandemic is going on not just when the Country is in lockdown but we look forward to the day the restrictions are lifted. Kind regards Kate Sewell General Manager
Rating

Eva O, wrote review 17/10/2020

Amazing breakfast

The place is very tired looking, but it is cheap, it is clean, apart from the car park. The many restrictions that are in place at present, were being observed. The staff are friendly, if sometimes ra... more

Owner Response
Kate Sewell, General Manager at Best Western Ipswich Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Eva O Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I a, pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the Kitchen team. i hope we get the opportunity to welcome you abck soon. Kind regards Kate Sewell General Manager