Unhappy at the Best Western Palace Hotel
09/10/2019 christow71, Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
My husband and I booked a River Room at the Palace Hotel for five nights. The cost was three hundred and eleven pounds sterling a night. We requested a ground floor room about nine months before we ... more
My husband and I booked a River Room at the Palace Hotel for five nights. The cost was three hundred and eleven pounds sterling a night. We requested a ground floor room about nine months before we left that Overlooked the castle and river. They couldn't promise us that, but that we would get the equivalent. What we got was a third floor room, that you had to walk right up to the window to see the river, and that was blocked mostly by what looked liked the remains of an old balcony. You could see the castle, again from near the window. The paintwork and windows were shabby, and for the money we were really disappointed. I went to the reception and told them that I had requested a ground floor room, but was told that the room we got was what we were getting.
Breakfast we had included in our tariff. What a laugh, we got down, and had to contend with three bus loads of people. This happened every day. If there wasn’t at least two busloads, there was three. We found out on the last day that there was an additional room that they could have put us in but none of the staff had a clue about what to do. The food was okay, it was a buffet, some of it was cold, and some kind of warm. We could only eat at nine if we didn't want to contend with a noisy big roomful of people. There was always tons of luggage in the lovely lobby area from the bus people, and you had to navigate your way around it to get anywhere.
My husband and I were really disappointed. Never again will we stay there.
AimeeABW, Revenue Management Assistant at Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
I'm sorry to hear that you were left unimpressed with your room. We do always try our best to find the guests another room if they are unhappy with their original room. Sometimes this is not possible due to the number of people staying at this specific time. I can only apologise that this was not possible at your time of stay.
I apologise that the breakfast area made you feel uncomfortable due to it being so busy. We are looking into a solution to improve this.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Inverness.