Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Ewenny Road, Bridgend, Cardiff, Mid Glamorgan, CF35 5AW, Wales
based on 1037 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA / VW Silver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Be our guest in Bridgend.

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is a fantastic place to stay near Swansea. The hotel is delightfully located in a semi-rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. You'll be near both coast show more

New contemporary bedroom refurbishment is underway. This should not affect your stay however we apologise should you experience any disruption.
Please note: Guests aged 16 years and under have special access times to the hotels Leisure Club & Spa. Please contact the hotel for further details
Please Note - weddings/functions held most weekends (increased noise levels and busy public areas).
Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Lift to some floors, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Spa Pool, Twenty Four Hour Service
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets accepted
By prior arrangement, £10.00 per pet/per night.
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Bridgend restaurants don't come any more welcoming than at the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa.

Chef Simon Willows
  • Crane Restaurant
  • Ewennys Bar & Grill

Crane Restaurant

Our restaurant provides an exquisite dining experience, with unique Welsh charm always on the menu. We serve traditional and continental food to order, complemented by an excellent wine list. Our menu changes seasonally and our expert chef uses locally sourced ingredients where possible. We welcome residents or non-residents - so if you're looking for a great place to eat near Cardiff, the delightful Crane restaurant is the ideal choice.

Please note the Crane Restaurant is only open at lunchtime for Sunday lunch.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Ewennys Bar & Grill

Whether you come here to catch up with friends and colleagues over a drink or two or just to enjoy your own company, you'll love the newly refurbished Ewennys Bar & Grill. The bars relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a pre-dinner drink or a light snack. Anytime you're feeling peckish during the day, come join us and choose from a variety of foods from our comprehensive new bar menu. We welcome residents or non-residents.

Opening hours
11:30-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

At the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, we add the personal touch to every wedding we host, making this hotel a great wedding venue in South Wales. You'll enjoy attention to detail and first-class service from the first canape to the last dance.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Carolyn Powell on 01656 668811

Wedding service and reception venue

We have a number of excellent rooms available for a wedding celebration:

Ibis - A splendid air-conditioned suite that accommodates a maximum of 160 guests for an evening reception, or 240 when used with the Crane restaurant

Kingfisher - Glistening with crystal chandeliers, this suite accommodates a maximum of 160 guests

Heron, Boardroom and Mallard - these smaller suites are perfect for a more intimate celebration and can accommodate 40-50 guests.

Catering

We offer wide range of options for wedding packages in Bridgend that include both main meals and evening buffets. Wedding breakfast menus are selected with great care and all meals are planned with the utmost attention to detail - from a four or five course banquet to a simple buffet. Rely on our professional wedding planners to ensure your wedding is everything you dreamed it would be.

Registrar

Registry office:
Bridgend Registration District
The Register Office, Sunnyside, Bridgend CF31 4AR
01656 642391

Golf

Southerndown Golf Course is a hidden gem, unique in offering part sandy links and part acid-heathland. Due to its terrain, it is one of the driest courses to be found throughout the land. The club offers all-year-round golf and is rarely closed to members and visitors. Southerndown is the nearest championship links-style course to the Celtic Manor resort.

  • Southerndown Golf Course
  • Royal Porthcawl Golf Club

Southerndown Golf Course

Southerndown Golf Course is a hidden gem, unique in offering part sandy links and part acid-heathland. Due to its terrain, it is one of the driest courses to be found throughout the land. The club offers all-year-round golf and is rarely closed to members and visitors. Southerndown is the nearest championship links-style course to the Celtic Manor resort.

5.00 miles away in Southerndown

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Championship

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

6034 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

9 holes £25.00
18 holes £50.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire £20.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £20.00
Driving Range £1.00

Royal Porthcawl Golf Club

Royal Porthcawl has a status that puts it among the world's top golf courses. There have been many prestigious professional and amateur events held at the club over the years. Ranked No.22 in the UK and Ireland, the chance to play this superb course is not to be missed and its just eight miles from the hotel.

8 miles away in Porthcawl

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Championship

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72

Distance

6303 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £115.00
Trolley hire £12.50
Club hire £35.00
Tuition £25.00
Driving Range £4.50

Spa & Leisure facilities

With an excellent range of facilities, the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to unwind. If you're looking for a great gym in Bridgend, we welcome non-residents by offering affordable membership packages.

  • Spa Facilities
  • Treatments
  • Leisure Details

Spa Facilities

There's nothing quite like a pampering session to relax your mind, body and soul. In this great spa hotel near Cardiff, you can enjoy a treatment or two that will leave you refreshed and invigorated.

With a range of facilities including our spa pool, sauna, steam room, indoor heated pool - complete with mood lighting - the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to unwind. We also offer a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices.

Please note: Guests aged 16 years and under have special access times to the hotels Leisure Club & Spa. Please contact the hotel for further details

  • No. of treatment rooms: 2
  • Minimum guests per booking: 1
  • Maximum guests per booking: 1
  • Children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult but are not allowed in the gym. There are special access times for children under 16 years.

Opening Times

Monday - Saturday: 09:00 - 18:00
Sunday: -

Treatments

We offer a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices.

Health & Beauty
From £20.00 / Treatment
Massage
From £30.00 / Treatment
Health & Beauty
From £20.00 / Treatment
Facial
25 mins
From£30.00
Manicure
30 mins
From£29.00
Pedicure
35 mins
From£29.00
Tanning
20 mins
From£20.00
Waxing
45 mins
From£35.00
Massages
From £30.00 / Treatment
1 Hour Full Massage
50 mins
From£50.00
Back, Neck Shoulder Massage
25 mins
From£35.00
Hot Stone Massage
50 mins
From£55.00
Indian Head Massage
25 mins
From£30.00

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Leisure Details

  • Spa pool
  • Fully equipped gym
  • Indoor swimming pool

Meetings & Events

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa makes for a great conference venue near Swansea and Cardiff.

Venue

With several rooms to choose from, the hotel can accommodate events atte...

  • Ibis Court
  • Huckleberry Suite

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa makes for a great conference venue near Swansea and Cardiff.

Venue

With several rooms to choose from, the hotel can accommodate events attended by anything from 2 to 200 delegates in our larger Ibis and Kingfisher suites. In addition, we have smaller suites that can accommodate more intimate meetings of up to 50 guests. All rooms benefit from natural daylight and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is also ideally situated between Swansea and Cardiff, within easy reach of Junction 35 of the M4.

Packages

Our experienced events management team will be on hand to ensure your event runs smoothly. We offer a range of packages to suit your budget, which include everything you might need from flipcharts to audio-visual and conference equipment. Throughout your meeting, you'll be supplied with constant refreshments. Should delegates wish to stay over, we offer excellent rates, inclusive of meals and with full use of all hotel facilities.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape

Ibis Court

Our newly refurbished Ibis Court Suite is now equipped with the latest audio visual equipment built into the room.

Huckleberry Suite

Our Huckleberry Suite is equipped with modern meeting desks and 8 hour conference chairs.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Kingfisher 180 65 45 45 130
Boardroom 50 20 20 25 40
Bittern Room 35 18 18 20 30
Ibis Court 200 80 50 50 170
Mallard Suite 45 18 18 20 40
Huckleberry Suite 35 18 18 20 0

Reviews of Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Traveller Overview:
3.5 Rating: 1037 reviews
Excellent 29%
Very Good 31%
Average 19%
Poor 10%
Terrible 8%
Rating

Kamp4la, wrote review 22/03/2020

Lovely room, weird door way!

Beautiful room, strange that you walk through a conference room to get to it! Fabulous decor including bathroom etc but some lamps did not work. Tv remote was for both TVs but did actually turn the 2 ... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you thought your room and bathroom were beautifully decorated. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

RobGMC42, wrote review 08/03/2020

Great service, good value for money

This is an old hotel, but it has great character, friendly and helpful staff. It is very good value for money, where guests have full access to the (newly refurbished) gym, swimming pool, sauna, hot ... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. I will pass your comments on to the team who will be thrilled. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

dawnbM2841TI, wrote review 05/03/2020

Poor service and hotel for the price!

As a family we recently stayed in this hotel to visit friends. The breakfast menu was poor, no choice on type of eggs which most establishments do, rubber fried eggs kept warm on a hotplate. No full ... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay. We always have alternative eggs to the fried and scrambled egg on the weekend breakfast buffet, but they are cooked to order from the kitchen. In terms of the milk we serve semi- skimmed, soya or almond milk, I apologise if you were misinformed on this subject. I will discuss with our head housekeeper your comments concerning the bedroom and ensure any oversight on this occasion is corrected immediately. I would like to thank you for your feedback as all feedback is used as a tool to help the hotel continually improve standard and services. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

paulhistory, wrote review 01/03/2020

heronston bridgend

great hotel close to amenities great pool and spar note when leaving hotel first set of light do not follower sign M4 Port Talbot it takes the long way around better to go straight on head for MacAr... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcome you back. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

AJTipps, wrote review 25/02/2020

Exceeded expectations

Welcoming friendly and relaxing, I booked for my husbands birthday, the rooms are lovely the staff are friendly and helpful, the menu was a bit limited as it was a groupon voucher however the choice i... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review, I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and meals. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the near future. Kind regards General Manager