• 8.1 /10 Fantastic
  •  
  • From
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Be our guest in Bridgend.

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is a fantastic place to stay near Swansea. The hotel is delightfully located in a semi-rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. You'll be near both coast and countryside but within easy reach of the city too.

Our modern, pet-friendly hotel in Bridgend boasts a range of rooms and full leisure facilities. But it's our prime location that really sets us apart. Just minutes away from the Glamorganshire heritage coastline, the vibrant capital of Cardiff and the cosmopolitan coastal city of Swansea, you'll be in a great position to see Wales at its very best.

Whether you're here on business or pleasure, there's plenty of opportunity to relax. Our leisure club and spa offers an indoor heated pool, spa treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, spa pool and fully equipped gym.

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is also a great place to hold a conference, being halfway between Swansea and Cardiff. We are able to offer a flexible range of conference facilities and our coordinators would be delighted to help assist you in organising your event.

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is close to everything in South Wales and an ideal place to stay near Swansea.

View more

Location

Ewenny Road
Bridgend

Cardiff
Mid Glamorgan
CF35 5AW
Wales
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 03330 034155
AA/VWSilver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Summary

The Restaurant will be closed on Fri/Sat nights during Dec due Functions. 24th to 27th Dec and 1st Jan there will be limited evening food service. Please note "Celebrations
Bars, Gym, Indoor Pool, Lift to some floors, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Spa Pool/Jacuzzi, Twenty Four Hour Service
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: Accepted Check availability with the hotel prior to booking
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Bridgend restaurants don't come any more welcoming than at the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa.

Chef Simon Willows

blank image

Crane Restaurant

Our restaurant provides an exquisite dining experience, with unique Welsh charm always on the menu. We serve traditional and continental food to order, complemented by an excellent wine list. Our menu changes seasonally and our expert chef uses locally sourced ingredients where possible. We welcome residents or non-residents - so if you're looking for a great place to eat near Cardiff, the delightful Crane restaurant is the ideal choice.

Please note the Crane Restaurant is only open at lunchtime for Sunday lunch.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Ewennys Bar & Grill

Whether you come here to catch up with friends and colleagues over a drink or two or just to enjoy your own company, you'll love the newly refurbished Ewennys Bar & Grill. The bars relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a pre-dinner drink or a light snack. Anytime you're feeling peckish during the day, come join us and choose from a variety of foods from our comprehensive new bar menu. We welcome residents or non-residents.

Opening hours

11:30-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Southerndown Golf Course

Southerndown Golf Course is a hidden gem, unique in offering part sandy links and part acid-heathland. Due to its terrain, it is one of the driest courses to be found throughout the land. The club offers all-year-round golf and is rarely closed to members and visitors. Southerndown is the nearest championship links-style course to the Celtic Manor resort.

Course information

Course Type: Championship
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6034 Yards
Handicap required

Location

5.00 miles away in Southerndown

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £25.00
18 holes £50.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire £20.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £20.00
Driving Range £1.00

Royal Porthcawl Golf Club

Royal Porthcawl has a status that puts it among the world's top golf courses. There have been many prestigious professional and amateur events held at the club over the years. Ranked No.22 in the UK and Ireland, the chance to play this superb course is not to be missed and its just eight miles from the hotel.

Course information

Course Type: Championship
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6303 Yards
Handicap required

Location

8 miles away in Porthcawl

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £115.00
Trolley hire £12.50
Club hire £35.00
Tuition £25.00
Driving Range £4.50

Spa & Leisure

With an excellent range of facilities, the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to unwind. If you're looking for a great gym in Bridgend, we welcome non-residents by offering affordable membership packages.

blank image

Spa Facilities

There's nothing quite like a pampering session to relax your mind, body and soul. In this great spa hotel near Cardiff, you can enjoy a treatment or two that will leave you refreshed and invigorated.

With a range of facilities including our spa pool, sauna, steam room, indoor heated pool - complete with mood lighting - the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to unwind. We also offer a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices.

Please note: Guests aged 16 years and under have special access times to the hotels Leisure Club & Spa. Please contact the hotel for further details

No. of treatment rooms: 3
Minimum guests (per booking): 1
Maximum guests (per booking): 30

Children under 12 years of age require adult supervision at all times.

Opening times

Monday: 09:00- 19:00
Tuesday: 09:00- 19:00
Wednesday: 09:00- 19:00
Thursday: 09:00- 19:00
Friday: 09:00- 19:00
Saturday: 09:00- 19:00
Sunday: 09:00- 19:00

Leisure Facilities

  • Spa pool

  • Fully equipped gym

  • Indoor swimming pool

Treatments

We offer a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices.

Type Treatment Time (mins) price (from)
Health & Beauty Facial 25 £30.00
Manicure 30 £29.00
Pedicure 35 £29.00
Tanning 20 £20.00
Waxing 45 £35.00
Massage 1 Hour Full Massage 50 £50.00
Back, Neck Shoulder Massage 25 £35.00
Hot Stone Massage 50 £55.00
Indian Head Massage 25 £30.00

Weddings

At the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, we add the personal touch to every wedding we host, making this hotel a great wedding venue in South Wales. You'll enjoy attention to detail and first-class service from the first canape to the last dance.

blank imageblank imageblank imageblank image

Wedding service and reception venue

We have a number of excellent rooms available for a wedding celebration:

Ibis - A splendid air-conditioned suite that accommodates a maximum of 160 guests for an evening reception, or 240 when used with the Crane restaurant

Kingfisher - Glistening with crystal chandeliers, this suite accommodates a maximum of 160 guests

Heron, Boardroom and Mallard - these smaller suites are perfect for a more intimate celebration and can accommodate 40-50 guests.

Catering

We offer wide range of options for wedding packages in Bridgend that include both main meals and evening buffets. Wedding breakfast menus are selected with great care and all meals are planned with the utmost attention to detail - from a four or five course banquet to a simple buffet. Rely on our professional wedding planners to ensure your wedding is everything you dreamed it would be.

Registrar

Registry office:
Bridgend Registration District
The Register Office, Sunnyside, Bridgend CF31 4AR
01656 642391




General Manager Carolyn Powell and her Deputy Manager Mark Burgess head the team of experienced Wedding organisers.

For any enquiries please call Carolyn Powell on 01656 668811

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CF35 5AW

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M4, J35, 4.00 miles
Nearest train station: Bridgend Railway Station, 1.50 miles
Nearest airport: Cardiff, 16.00 miles
Free parking on site (160 spaces)

Address
Ewenny Road
Bridgend
Cardiff
Mid Glamorgan
CF35 5AW
Wales


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Cardiff Millennium Stadium (20 miles)

  • Liberty Stadium Swansea (23 miles)

  • Cardiff City Stadium (20 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • St Fagans National History Museum (18 miles)

  • Cardiff Castle (20 miles)

  • Porthcawl Seaside Town (7 miles)

  • Glamorgan Heritage Coastline (3 miles)

  • McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Bridgend (3 miles)

Shopping

  • Bridgend Town Centre (1 miles)

  • McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Bridgend (3 miles)

  • McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Bridgend (3 miles)

  • Cardiff (20 miles)

  • Swansea (23 miles)

  • Bristol (59 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa makes for a great conference venue near Swansea and Cardiff.

Venue

With several rooms to choose from, the hotel can accommodate events attended by anything from 2 to 200 delegates in our larger Ibis and Kingfisher suites. In addition, we have smaller suites that can accommodate more intimate meetings of up to 50 guests. All rooms benefit from natural daylight and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is also ideally situated between Swansea and Cardiff, within easy reach of Junction 35 of the M4.

Packages

Our experienced events management team will be on hand to ensure your event runs smoothly. We offer a range of packages to suit your budget, which include everything you might need from flipcharts to audio-visual and conference equipment. Throughout your meeting, you'll be supplied with constant refreshments. Should delegates wish to stay over, we offer excellent rates, inclusive of meals and with full use of all hotel facilities.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Ibis Court

Our newly refurbished Ibis Court Suite is now equipped with the latest audio visual equipment built into the room.

Huckleberry Suite

Our Huckleberry Suite is equipped with modern meeting desks and 8 hour conference chairs.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Kingfisher 180 65 45 45 130
Boardroom 50 20 20 25 40
Bittern Room 35 18 18 20 30
Ibis Court 200 80 50 50 170
Mallard Suite 45 18 18 20 40
Huckleberry Suite 35 18 18 20 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1004 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 290
Rating: 4 323
Rating: 3 195
Rating: 2 107
Rating: 1 89
Rating

Lovely

05/12/2019 Jai6969,

Just ending my first of two weeks staying at this hotel for training in Bridgend and I have had a fantastic experience. The staff are brilliant. Very polite and helpful. Food is excellent. Delicious a... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am please you found the hotel, meals and staff lovely. I would like to confirm the hotel is currently under going a full refurbishment of all bedrooms and public areas, so we should be completely up to date following this. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next section of training. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

Re fresheers required in more area than one

02/12/2019 Vanessa S, Swansea, United Kingdom

Staff members require a re train in customer service, staff members require a re train in reservation accuracy, exterior require regular maintaining, spa area requires regular maintaining, furniture i... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read you thought the hotel was clean and the breakfast was to the required standard. I am sorry to read you thought the staff required more training, we do have regular training sessions and will of course take your feedback on board. We are also currently undergoing a full hotel refurbishment which includes all bedrooms and public areas. I hope you will return in the future to have a really enjoyable stay. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

Dated hotel

27/11/2019 gerf190, Celbridge, Ireland

We stayed here for a family get together and it was a very disappointing visit to be honest. The hotel and rooms are very dated when you first walk in to check in it doesn’t even feel like your walkin... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read you were not full satisfied with your stay. I can confirm the hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment of guests bedrooms and public areas. I have spoken to the Food & Beverage Manager concerning the issues you have raised to ensure these are a one off and to ensure more training is given in some areas. We hope you will return again in the future. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

Family get together

26/11/2019 Tourist16028049428, Swansea, United Kingdom

Conveniently located hotel with good facilities but probably in need of some modernisation, especially in the guest rooms. Staff were great - extremely helpful and very friendly. One downside is that ... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am pleased you thought our team were extremely helpful and very friendly. I can confirm we are currently under going a complete refurbishment including guest bedrooms and public areas. This will see the accessible facilities improved throughout the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

In need of updating

23/11/2019 Tracey H, Swansea

Stayed here on a Groupon deal but upgraded to a superior room which is s must be the sound of other people. Arrived at reception to be greeted by a boy not s hello or anything just looked at us.I said... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read your were not completely satisfied in your stay. I will speak to the reception team concerning the issues you have raised and ensure these are not regular occurrences for other guests. I do hope you will return in the future, as the hotel is currently going through a complete refurbishment and I would hope the service issues would be resolved immediately. Kind regards General Manager