Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Ewenny Road, Bridgend, Cardiff, Mid Glamorgan, CF35 5AW, Wales
based on 1130 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA / VW Silver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Be our guest in Bridgend.

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is a fantastic place to stay near Swansea. The hotel is delightfully located in a semi-rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. You'll be near both coast show more

New contemporary bedroom refurbishment is underway. This should not affect your stay however we apologise should you experience any disruption.
Breakfast is served (Mon-Fri 6.30am-8.30am, Sat-Sun and Bank Holidays 8am-10am). Bar is open from 6pm each evening with food served from 6pm and last food orders at 9pm.
Our swimming pool, spa pool and gym is now open (time slots must be booked with reception) and the Hotel Spa is open Wednesday - Sunday.
24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Electric Car Charge, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Lift to all floors, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Spa Pool
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets accepted
By prior arrangement, £10.00 per pet/per night.
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 10:30

COVID Safety

We have taken extra steps to ensure your health and safety during your stay at our hotel. Click here for further details

Ewenny Road, Bridgend, Cardiff, Mid Glamorgan, CF35 5AW, Wales
What 3 Words: ///dart.become.dots

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

Chef Simon Willows

Bridgend restaurants don't come any more welcoming than at the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa.

  • Crane Restaurant
  • Ewennys Bar & Grill

Crane Restaurant

Our restaurant provides an exquisite dining experience, with unique Welsh charm always on the menu. We serve traditional and continental food to order, complemented by an excellent wine list. Our menu changes seasonally and our expert chef uses locally sourced ingredients where possible. We welcome residents or non-residents - so if you're looking for a great place to eat near Cardiff, the delightful Crane restaurant is the ideal choice.

Please note the Crane Restaurant is only open at lunchtime for Sunday lunch.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary

Ewennys Bar & Grill

Whether you come here to catch up with friends and colleagues over a drink or two or just to enjoy your own company, you'll love the refurbished Ewennys Bar & Grill. The bars relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a pre-dinner drink or a light snack. Anytime you're feeling peckish during the day, come join us and choose from a variety of foods from our comprehensive new bar menu. We welcome residents or non-residents.

Opening hours
18:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Packages

In need of some long-overdue pampering at our state-of-the-art spa and leisure facilities? Maybe you're interested in a golf break? Or if you're making an overnight stop-off before a flight or ferry, stay with us and get breakfast, transfer and car parking for the duration of your holiday.

  • Seasonal Hotel Favourites

Packages

Heronston Hotel New Year's Eve Gala Dinner Dance
1 Night
Join us on New Year's Eve and see in the New Year in style!! Arrive from 7pm to a Chambord Royale Cocktail. Enjoy a Gala Seven-Course dinner including coffee and pet...
Check availability

Weddings

At the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, we add the personal touch to every wedding we host, making this hotel a great wedding venue in South Wales. You'll enjoy attention to detail and first-class service from the first canape to the last dance.

For any enquiries please call Carolyn Powell on 01656 666082

Registrar

Registry office:
Bridgend Registration District
The Register Office, Sunnyside, Bridgend CF31 4AR
01656 642391

Golf Off Site

Southerndown Golf Course is a hidden gem, unique in offering part sandy links and part acid-heathland. Due to its terrain, it is one of the driest courses to be found throughout the land. The club offers all-year-round golf and is rarely closed to members and visitors. Southerndown is the nearest championship links-style course to the Celtic Manor resort.

  • Southerndown Golf Course
  • Royal Porthcawl Golf Club

Southerndown Golf Course

5.00 miles away in Southerndown

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Championship

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

6034 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

9 holes £25.00
18 holes £50.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire £20.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £20.00
Driving Range £1.00

Royal Porthcawl Golf Club

Royal Porthcawl Golf Club is only 8 miles from the hotel along the A48 and A4106 to Porthcawl.

8 miles away in Porthcawl

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Championship

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72

Distance

6303 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

18 holes £115.00
Trolley hire £12.50
Club hire £35.00
Tuition £25.00
Driving Range £4.50

Spa & Leisure facilities

With an excellent range of facilities, the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to unwind. If you're looking for a great gym in Bridgend, we welcome non-residents by offering affordable membership packages.

  • Spa Facilities
  • Treatments

Spa Facilities

There's nothing quite like a pampering session to relax your mind, body and soul. In this great spa hotel near Cardiff, you can enjoy a treatment or two that will leave you refreshed and invigorated.

With a range of facilities including our spa pool, sauna, steam room, indoor heated pool - complete with mood lighting - the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to unwind. We also offer a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices.

Please note: Guests aged 16 years and under have special access times to the hotels Leisure Club & Spa. Please contact the hotel for further details

  • No. of treatment rooms: 2
  • Minimum guests per booking: 1
  • Maximum guests per booking: 1
  • Guests aged 16 years and under have special access times to the hotels Leisure Club and Spa. Please contact the hotel for further details.

Opening Times

Monday - Tuesday: closed
Wednesday - Sunday: 09:00 - 18:00

Treatments

We offer a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices.

Health & Beauty
From £32.00 / Treatment
Massage
From £30.00 / Treatment
Facial
25 mins
From£32.00
Manicure
30 mins
From£32.00
Pedicure
35 mins
From£32.00
Waxing
45 mins
From£35.00
1 Hour Full Massage
50 mins
From£50.00
Back, Neck Shoulder Massage
25 mins
From£35.00
Hot Stone Massage
50 mins
From£55.00
Indian Head Massage
25 mins
From£30.00

Make the most of our leisure facilities and enjoy some down time

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Meetings & Events

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa makes for a great conference venue near Swansea and Cardiff.

Venue

With several rooms to choose from, the hotel can accommodate events ...

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa makes for a great conference venue near Swansea and Cardiff.

Venue

With several rooms to choose from, the hotel can accommodate events attended by anything from 2 to 200 delegates in our larger Ibis and Kingfisher suites. In addition, we have smaller suites that can accommodate more intimate meetings of up to 50 guests. All rooms benefit from natural daylight and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is also ideally situated between Swansea and Cardiff, within easy reach of Junction 35 of the M4.

Packages

Our experienced events management team will be on hand to ensure your event runs smoothly. We offer a range of packages to suit your budget, which include everything you might need from flipcharts to audio-visual and conference equipment. Throughout your meeting, you'll be supplied with constant refreshments. Should delegates wish to stay over, we offer excellent rates, inclusive of meals and with full use of all hotel facilities.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Kingfisher 26 26 15 15 0
Boardroom 8 8 8 8 0
Bittern Room 6 6 6 6 0
Ibis Court 30 30 16 16 0
Mallard Suite 6 6 6 6 0
Huckleberry Suite 0 5 6 6 0

Reviews of Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Traveller Overview:
3.5 Rating: 1130 reviews
Excellent 30%
Very Good 30%
Average 18%
Poor 11%
Terrible 9%
Rating

GillW64, wrote review 12/10/2021

Such a disappointment

Went to a family members wedding which was held at this hotel. Definitely not worth the money. The room was dated. The carpets in the passageways were absolutely a disgrace. The bride had to walk thro... more

Owner Response
Carolyn Powell, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay. I know we are having work done at the hotel and on this day the workmen were on site, I apologise if the Bride walked through this area, the work however is being completed in a completely different part of the hotel to the function room and bridal suite which were in use. I hope you will stay again once our refurbishment is completed. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

Rajesh M, wrote review 08/10/2021

Nice hotel with friendly staff

A typical BW Hotel with friendly staff. Very nice restaurant but limited vegetarian options. Swimming pool has very nice lighting and there is also a gym. There was a problem with hot water in the mor... more

Owner Response
Carolyn Powell, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, pleased to read overall you had a good stay. The issue with the hot water was rectified on the morning of your departure, I apologise for the inconvenience to yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

coxy824, wrote review 06/10/2021

good hotel

The hotel was very clean. Pool was shut which was very disapointing! The food was nice in the restaurant and breakfast ok . There could have been more of a selection for evening dinner and was a bit e... more

Owner Response
Carolyn Powell, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. I apologise for the swimming pool being out of action during your stay due to a maintenance issue, this has been rectified and all facilities are up and running. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

amandan884, wrote review 03/10/2021

Good base

I stayed here with 5 friends we had 3 queen rooms with 2 in each room. The rooms were very large with a pull out sofa bed in each room. The rooms were really clean and had a little patio door which le... more

Owner Response
Carolyn Powell, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to read you and your party enjoyed your stay. I will pass your comments onto the team and we will look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

260rhianw, wrote review 26/09/2021

Not very good

Disappointed with the stay to be honest.. it’s supposed to be a spa hotel and there was no facilities working. We weren’t told this until arrival which if we knew we wouldn’t of booked and paid £170 w... more

Owner Response
Carolyn Powell, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am sorry you felt disappointed with your stay. I understand that we tried to contact all guests prior to their arrival concerning our pool being out of order while we are awaiting parts. If we were unable to contact you then I apologise for this. I hope you will return again in the future and be able to use all the facilities the hotel has to offer. Kind regards General Manager