• 8.1 /10 Fantastic
  •  
  • From
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Be our guest in Bridgend.

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is a fantastic place to stay near Swansea. The hotel is delightfully located in a semi-rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. You'll be near both coast and countryside but within easy reach of the city too.

Our modern, pet-friendly hotel in Bridgend boasts a range of rooms and full leisure facilities. But it's our prime location that really sets us apart. Just minutes away from the Glamorganshire heritage coastline, the vibrant capital of Cardiff and the cosmopolitan coastal city of Swansea, you'll be in a great position to see Wales at its very best.

Whether you're here on business or pleasure, there's plenty of opportunity to relax. Our leisure club and spa offers an indoor heated pool, spa treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, spa pool and fully equipped gym.

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is also a great place to hold a conference, being halfway between Swansea and Cardiff. We are able to offer a flexible range of conference facilities and our coordinators would be delighted to help assist you in organising your event.

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is close to everything in South Wales and an ideal place to stay near Swansea.

View more

Location

Ewenny Road
Bridgend

Cardiff
Mid Glamorgan
CF35 5AW
Wales
To make a reservation please call 0800 393130 (Freephone). For all other enquiries please call 01656 668811
AA/VW

Summary

Please note - weddings and functions are held most weekends which may lead to increased noise levels and busy public areas. Guests aged 16 and under have special access times to the hotel's Leisure Club & Spa. Please contact the hotel for further details. Dogs are only allowed in certain pet friendly bedrooms, please check availability with the hotel prior to making a booking. On Monday 8th & Tuesday 9th April our Leisure Club will be closed for planned maintenance work. Our Gym will remain open. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Gym, Indoor Pool, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Sauna, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to some floors, Spa Pool/Jacuzzi
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: Accepted £10 per pet per night, prior arrangement required.
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Bridgend restaurants don't come any more welcoming than at the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa.

Chef Simon Willows

heronston-hotel-dining-24-83481

Crane Restaurant

Our restaurant provides an exquisite dining experience, with unique Welsh charm always on the menu. We serve traditional and continental food to order, complemented by an excellent wine list. Our menu changes seasonally and our expert chef uses locally sourced ingredients where possible. We welcome residents or non-residents - so if you're looking for a great place to eat near Cardiff, the delightful Crane restaurant is the ideal choice.

Please note the Crane Restaurant is only open at lunchtime for Sunday lunch.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
heronston-hotel-dining-26-83481

Ewennys Bar & Grill

Whether you come here to catch up with friends and colleagues over a drink or two or just to enjoy your own company, you'll love the newly refurbished Ewennys Bar & Grill. The bars relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a pre-dinner drink or a light snack. Anytime you're feeling peckish during the day, come join us and choose from a variety of foods from our comprehensive new bar menu. We welcome residents or non-residents.

Opening hours

11:30-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Southerndown Golf Course

Southerndown Golf Course is a hidden gem, unique in offering part sandy links and part acid-heathland. Due to its terrain, it is one of the driest courses to be found throughout the land. The club offers all-year-round golf and is rarely closed to members and visitors. Southerndown is the nearest championship links-style course to the Celtic Manor resort.

Course information

Course Type: Championship
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6034 Yards
Handicap required

Location

5.00 miles away in Southerndown

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes £25.00
18 holes £50.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire £20.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £20.00
Driving Range £1.00

Royal Porthcawl Golf Club

Royal Porthcawl has a status that puts it among the world's top golf courses. There have been many prestigious professional and amateur events held at the club over the years. Ranked No.22 in the UK and Ireland, the chance to play this superb course is not to be missed and its just eight miles from the hotel.

Course information

Course Type: Championship
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6303 Yards
Handicap required

Location

8 miles away in Porthcawl

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £115.00
Trolley hire £12.50
Club hire £35.00
Tuition £25.00
Driving Range £4.50

Spa & Leisure

With an excellent range of facilities, the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to unwind. If you're looking for a great gym in Bridgend, we welcome non-residents by offering affordable membership packages.

heronston-hotel-leisure-08-83481

Unwind and Relax

There's nothing quite like a pampering session to relax your mind, body and soul. In this great spa hotel near Cardiff, you can enjoy a treatment or two that will leave you refreshed and invigorated.

With a range of facilities including our spa pool, sauna, steam room, indoor heated pool - complete with mood lighting - the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to unwind. We also offer a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices.

Please note: Guests aged 16 years and under have special access times to the hotels Leisure Club & Spa. Please contact the hotel for further details

No. of treatment rooms: 3
Minimum guests (per booking): 1
Maximum guests (per booking): 30

Children under 12 years of age require adult supervision at all times.

Opening times

Monday: 09:00- 19:00
Tuesday: 09:00- 19:00
Wednesday: 09:00- 19:00
Thursday: 09:00- 19:00
Friday: 09:00- 19:00
Saturday: 09:00- 19:00
Sunday: 09:00- 19:00

Leisure Facilities

  • Spa pool

  • Fully equipped gym

  • Indoor swimming pool

  • Sauna

  • Steam room

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Relax in our Herons Leisure Club pool area and enjoy mood lighting plus soothing, luxurious interiors while you take a dip. Our gym is air-conditioned with modern equipment for those who want to push themselves a little harder.

heronston-hotel-leisure-05-83481

Treatments

We offer a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices.

Type Treatment Time (mins) price (from)
Health & Beauty Facial 25 £25.00
Manicure 30 £29.00
Pedicure 35 £29.00
Tanning 20 £15.00
Waxing 45 £35.00
Massage 1 Hour Full Massage 50 £45.00
Back, Neck Shoulder Massage 25 £28.00
Hot Stone Massage 50 £50.00
Indian Head Massage 25 £28.00

Weddings

At the Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, we add the personal touch to every wedding we host, making this hotel a great wedding venue in South Wales. You'll enjoy attention to detail and first-class service from the first canape to the last dance.

Wedding service and reception venue

We have a number of excellent rooms available for a wedding celebration:

Ibis - A splendid air-conditioned suite that accommodates a maximum of 160 guests for an evening reception, or 240 when used with the Crane restaurant

Kingfisher - Glistening with crystal chandeliers, this suite accommodates a maximum of 160 guests

Heron, Boardroom and Mallard - these smaller suites are perfect for a more intimate celebration and can accommodate 40-50 guests.

Catering

We offer wide range of options for wedding packages in Bridgend that include both main meals and evening buffets. Wedding breakfast menus are selected with great care and all meals are planned with the utmost attention to detail - from a four or five course banquet to a simple buffet. Rely on our professional wedding planners to ensure your wedding is everything you dreamed it would be.

Registrar

Registry office:
Bridgend Registration District
The Register Office, Sunnyside, Bridgend CF31 4AR
01656 642391




General Manager Carolyn Powell and her Deputy Manager Mark Burgess head the team of experienced Wedding organisers.

For any enquiries please call Carolyn Powell on 01656 668811

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CF35 5AW

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M4, J35, 4.00 miles
Nearest train station: Bridgend Railway Station, 1.50 miles
Nearest airport: Cardiff, 16.00 miles
Free parking on site (160 spaces)
On site disabled parking (3 spaces)

Address
Ewenny Road
Bridgend
Cardiff
Mid Glamorgan
CF35 5AW
Wales


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Cardiff Millennium Stadium (20 miles)

  • Liberty Stadium Swansea (23 miles)

  • Cardiff City Stadium (20 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • St Fagans National History Museum (18 miles)

  • Cardiff Castle (20 miles)

  • Porthcawl Seaside Town (7 miles)

  • Glamorgan Heritage Coastline (3 miles)

  • McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Bridgend (3 miles)

Shopping

  • Bridgend Town Centre (1 miles)

  • McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Bridgend (3 miles)

  • McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Bridgend (3 miles)

  • Cardiff (20 miles)

  • Swansea (23 miles)

  • Bristol (59 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa makes for a great conference venue near Swansea and Cardiff.

Venue

With several rooms to choose from, the hotel can accommodate events attended by anything from 2 to 200 delegates in our larger Ibis and Kingfisher suites. In addition, we have smaller suites that can accommodate more intimate meetings of up to 50 guests. All rooms benefit from natural daylight and free Wi-Fi. The Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa is also ideally situated between Swansea and Cardiff, within easy reach of Junction 35 of the M4.

Packages

Our experienced events management team will be on hand to ensure your event runs smoothly. We offer a range of packages to suit your budget, which include everything you might need from flipcharts to audio-visual and conference equipment. Throughout your meeting, you'll be supplied with constant refreshments. Should delegates wish to stay over, we offer excellent rates, inclusive of meals and with full use of all hotel facilities.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Ibis Court

Our newly refurbished Ibis Court Suite is now equipped with the latest audio visual equipment built into the room.

Huckleberry Suite

Our Huckleberry Suite is equipped with modern meeting desks and 8 hour conference chairs.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Kingfisher 180 65 45 45 130
Boardroom 50 20 20 25 40
Bittern Room 35 18 18 20 30
Ibis Court 200 80 50 50 170
Mallard Suite 45 18 18 20 40
Huckleberry Suite 35 18 18 20 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 926 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 266
Rating: 4 309
Rating: 3 181
Rating: 2 95
Rating: 1 75
Rating

Food quality spoilt our stay

01/04/2019 Culture28195766715,

Stayed 3 nights from Saturday. Bar meals only available for dinner on Sunday and Monday and the quality was very poor. Make sure you are specific when asking for breakfast eg Full breakfast is one of ... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read you were disappointed with your meals at the hotel. We do provide a full breakfast, but as you say you can ask for additional items as and when required. I will look into the point raised that the restaurant was unavailable on Sunday and Monday, unless it was fully booked at the time you required. I will however investigate this further. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

31/03/2019 lorraine w, South Wales, United Kingdom

Bearing in mind I had phoned twice before our arrival to confirm things, upon arrival there was confusion as to if we were booked in. Only one person on reception and a queue of people behind us. In t... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to read you would book again in the future. I can see that a number of things could have been preformed better and this will be discussed with the heads of departments. I am sure you will have a lovely visit in the future and we are also looking forward to the refurbishment. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

Overnight stay

29/03/2019 Iain S, Monmouth, United Kingdom

Meeting with evening meal. Lunch for 100 delegates very average with tepid main course. Evening meal generally overpriced with sole fillet that looked like tomato soup but beef option really quite goo... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read you thought your bedroom was comfortable and well appointed. I am sorry to read you had mixed reviews on the dishes you were served some excellent and some not to your liking. I hope you will return in the future where we can achieve glowing reviews about all the meals served. Kind regards General Manager
Rating

Dreadful Experiance

27/03/2019 Tour31649118917,

The room was old and tatty, the shower didnt work properly, they continually only supplied 1 set of towels for a twin room with 2 people staying, food choice in restaurant was poor, I had to go find t... more

Rating

Meryl

27/03/2019 angelac0llier,

Everything to do with booking this hotel is fabulous, Meryl the lady on the other end of many emails and phone calls is brilliant. She always has a sunny disposition and always helps me with any quer... more

Owner Response
Heronston01, General Manager at Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read you have received excellent customer service from the whole team and especially Meryl. I will pass your comments on to the team & Meryl who will be thrilled. Kind regards General Manager