NEVER Stay Here - Appalling Hotel and Appalling Owners
26/11/2017 sjz24, Brisbane
We arrived at this Best Western Motor Inn this afternoon. We had booked a two bedroom, family room for $155 per night through Wotif.com. The photos on Wotif showed a modern 3 star motor inn but when w... more
We arrived at this Best Western Motor Inn this afternoon. We had booked a two bedroom, family room for $155 per night through Wotif.com. The photos on Wotif showed a modern 3 star motor inn but when we arrived, we were appalled.
We parked and went into Reception. A bell rang to notify the staff that we had arrived. We waited and waited. Finally a staff member arrived and informed us that she was sorry but she was cleaning other rooms. I had no issue with this, as it is a country hotel. We checked in and I paid the $155.00 in full.
We arrived at our 'Two Bedroom, Family Room' to find that we were on the ground floor, beside a busy highway and the noise was so loud, it sounded like we actually on the highway. Sunday afternoon but semi trailers, caravans and cars flying past our closed door.
The room was certainly not a 3 star family room. It was incredibly dated, smelt of smoke or carbon monoxide,(I wasn't sure) and had been painted by someone who clearly had no experience as a painter.
I went into what was to be my daughter's room for the night and what I saw shocked me (please the attached photos). A sliding window with no deadbolt or lock, on the ground floor which opened out onto a hidden 'garden' (I use that word very loosely) which was really a dumping ground of old, empty pool chlorine and pool products, a rusting old pool filter which was very loud and a large barrel filled with soil and cigarette butts, directly under the window. The window could have been easily jimmied open and someone could have entered our room, during the night.
The front door had no dead bolt or chain for security and faced directly onto the ground floor car park. A hotel room on the ground floor, looking out onto a busy highway with no security at all.
I went to speak with Reception and again no one was there. Walked in and out and in and out again to activate the notification bell. Finally the same woman who was cleaning the rooms arrived and I told her that we couldn't stay the night with so little security.
She spoke with the 'owner' who refused to refund me the money "as it isn't fair on us". I asked her how it was fair for us. She didn't care. Not her problem. I went back to the room and rang Wotif (a call centre in Arizona, USA!) and the lady did try to help by calling the hotel, who refused to refund me anything and said the hotel had CCTV and good security. Great! A CCTV camera to look back over, if something had happened to us during the night.
I went straight to reception, placed the keys on the counter and told the owner that we would not be staying and that I would follow this up with Wotif and Fair Trading which I am doing. We drove another 3.5 hours to Melbourne and found a Mantra Executive room for $189 with free wifi. How a 3 star Best Western can charge $155 per night and a 4 Star Melbourne Mantra apartment is only $189 is astounding.
What an absolute disgrace that we could not receive any of my money back. I even said I would accept 50% to make up for the cancellation. Best Western should be ashamed of this Motor Inn, Motif should be ashamed to list this Motor Inn and the owners should be ashamed of their pricing, how they treat visitors to Victoria and how poorly they have maintained and updated their establishment.
Shame on you, Best Western Governor Gipps Motor Inn. You are misleading tourists and clearly have provided old photos. Never again. less
governorgipps, Manager at Best Western Governor Gipps Motor Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
but the window you talking about its really can not open from outside. and the area you see from the window is not for public . We got 2 doors and a lock to make sure no public to go in that place.
sorry we can't refund you when you stayed couple hours and we do offered you same room on upstairs. hope you can stay with us again and we will give you a big discount next time.
Best Western Governor Gipps Motor Inn