Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Best Western George Hotel.

A charming Victorian townhouse in the city of Norwich.

The Best Western George Hotel in Norwich is perfectly placed, just 10 minutes walk from the centre of this historical city. Although you'll be close to everything that Norwich has to offer, you'll also be only a short distance away from the Norfolk Broads National Park and North Norfolk Coast. You really will enjoy the best of every world!

Back at the hotel, you'll be treated to warm Norfolk hospitality and fine food. Almost every guest who stays here comments on how wonderful our cuisine is; what better recommendation could you ask for!

View more

Location

Arlington Lane
Newmarket Road
Norwich
Norfolk
NR2 2DA
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6136*
AA

Summary

2016 dinner inclusive rates offer a £24 per person à la carte allowance
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted £10 per night, specific rooms only.
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Paul Branford has been Head Chef at The BW George hotel for 12 years and along with his team produces some of the finest food in Norwich. Do not leave the hotel until you have tried one of their mouthwatering steaks and homemade chocolate and raspberry desserts.

Chef Paul Branford

george-hotel-dining-08-83651

Arlington Grill & Brasserie

Our restaurant has a brasserie look and feel to it, with an open kitchen at the front allowing guests to watch the preparation and passion that goes into their meals!

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary
george-hotel-leisure-03-83651

Arlington Bar

Join us for a pre-dinner drink or a cheeky nightcap in our welcoming bar.

Opening hours

09:00-24:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Eaton Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6118 Yards
No handicap required

Location

1 miles away in Newmarket Road, Norwich, NR4 6SF

Facilities

Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £60.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes

Costessey Park Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 5881 Yards
No handicap required

Location

5.5 miles away in Old Costessey, Norwich, NR8 5AL

Facilities

Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £22.50
Trolley hire £3.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £20.00

Weddings

Every wedding we host is close to our hearts, and we'll work with you to make sure everything is to your liking. No matter how weird or wonderful a request might be!

george-hotel-wedding-events-01-83651george-hotel-wedding-events-02-83651george-hotel-wedding-events-03-83651-OPgeorge-hotel-wedding-events-04-83651-OPgeorge-hotel-wedding-events-05-83651-OP

Wedding service and reception venue

We allow you to arrange your own entertainment, so feel free to invite a DJ or live band to your big night!

Catering

With a variety of set menus to choose from all at different prices you can plan and prepare for your big day quickly and easily!

Honeymoon Suite

The King George Suite has wooden beams and a Jacuzzi bath. Most importantly, it has a unique charm that sets a magical mood!

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call Jane Seager on 01603 617841

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type NR2 2DA

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A11, J, 1.00 miles
Nearest train station: Norwich, 2.00 miles
Nearest airport: Norwich, 5.00 miles
Free parking on site (35 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
Arlington Lane
Newmarket Road
Norwich
Norfolk
NR2 2DA
England


What's nearby?

Cities & Attractions

  • Norwich Castle (1 miles)

  • Norwich Cathedral (1 miles)

  • Norfolk Broads (8 miles)

  • Roman Catholic Cathedral (1 miles)

  • Chapelfield Shopping Centre (1 miles)

Shopping

  • Norwich Chapelfields (1.3 miles)

  • Castle Mall (1.2 miles)

  • Norwich Lanes (1.2 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

george-hotel-meeting-space-03-83651

The Best Western George Hotel is an ideal business venue in Norwich for conferences and meetings. The hotel is situated only 10 minutes walk from Norwich city centre and has excellent facilities available to hire; from the larger conferences to the smaller group meetings. We also offer free car parking and Wi-Fi, and a good selection of menus and beverages to ensure your guests are kept happy and motivated throughout their day.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Ascot Suite

The Ascot room is a small meeting room which can accommodate up to 10 guests boardroom style and is often used as a breakout room for the larger events




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Newmarket Suite 80 40 32 32 80
Ascot Suite 0 0 12 12 12
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 376 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 93
Rating: 4 109
Rating: 3 93
Rating: 2 55
Rating: 1 27
Rating

Definitely not 'Best' western

18/07/2016 John T, Southampton, United Kingdom

How disappointing. The whole place smelt very badly, musty and stale. The corridor smelt as bad as the rooms. Single beds were very small. I had to lie diagonally in bed just so I could straighten my... more

Owner Response
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and sincere apologies you found the rooms a musty odour. I have already spoken to the head housekeeper to ensure this is resolved asap.Some rooms are quite small and the shower pressure is an issue which we hope to resolve with the full refurbishment next year. In the meantime we are fitting power shower heads for the affected rooms for a more immediate resolution. So sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us.If there is anything i can assist you with further, please contact me direct.
Rating

Rather tired

13/07/2016 Simon M, London, United Kingdom

Alas, this hotel is typical of many under the Best Western banner - old fashioned, rather tired and more expensive than local comparative competition. The bath and shower were particularly poor, the... more

Rating

Great place for a quiet city break in Norwich

11/07/2016 StephenJames1000, Luton, United Kingdom

Norwich is a lovely place for a city break, plenty of shopping , nearby is the Norfolk Broads and the coast. this hotel is just of a main road so easy to find but very quiet at night with no traffic n... more

Owner Response
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Rating

Good location

09/07/2016 Linda M,

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before going onto our week break in Hunstanton. We booked a double room through booking.com and was suprised to be given a suite in the eaves (appeared to have the... more

Owner Response
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you were happy with your stay and will take note of the cleaning issues you mentioned. Again thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and staff, your custom is much appreciated.
Rating

the 3.5 review is about right

07/07/2016 Richard J, Newcastle under Lyme

Great location, parking good, bar good, a normal cheap hotel, I would think great for a group, just a little grubby particularly hall carpets. We had a very large room massive bed but friends ended up... more

Owner Response
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. We are glad you were pleased with most of the hotels attributes. Being an old Victorian building all rooms are different shapes and sizes and hopefully next year a full refurbishment will be in place enhancing the property even more.