Functional but not pleasant.
I've never given a 'poor' rating for a hotel before, but unfortunately that is exactly how I would describe my experience here.
I was staying with a few family members (attending a family funeral in the neighbourhood). We were all disappointed with our stay.
On a plus note, the bedroom was clean and pleasant, the beds comfortable and the bathroom bright and roomy. I had a good cooked breakfast too. My sister also enjoyed bar food she ordered on arrival.
However, as soon as we arrived our difficulties began. I was sharing a room with my elderly parents, but it had been prepared for just two people, so we had to call reception to get another teacup and towels sent up. A short time later, I merely nudged with my knee, the stool in front of the dressing table, and a leg fell right off ! (I'm very glad I hadn't actually tried to sit on it).
We had to call reception again to report the incident, but we weren't happy with the response. We were told a maintenance man would look at it at some point, but there didn't seem to be any sense of urgency about this. As my mother wanted to use the dressing table immediately, she suggested that they find a replacement stool/chair from somewhere but this was considered impossible because all the rooms were booked up. No spare furniture anywhere in the hotel? Really?
So our faulty, unusable stool remained in our room, and amazingly, was still there 4 hours later, when we returned from the first part of our family funeral. Reception were called a third time, and eventually, someone arrived with two spare chairs, and took the broken stool away.
Later that evening, we all returned from the second part of the funeral, and went to the bar to have some drinks. It was about eleven o'clock. It was not possible for me to buy drinks with either cash or card - all purchases had to be put on hotel room. This seemed a very inflexible and unhelpful policy to me but I didn't argue. As the bar was busy, my family and I went outside onto the terrace for a little while, until it began to rain. So we returned to the bar, to find that there were no chairs left for us in the main room, and that the only chairs available were in another room that had no lights, and was in complete darkness. We couldn't find the barman anywhere to help us with the lights, so we had to move several heavy armchairs into the main room. A glass of wine got broken in the effort. Still there was no sign of the barman, and in fact, at just half eleven, the bar appeared to be shut down and closed for the evening.
How very disappointing. We all needed to be up early the next day for travel, but we also needed to unwind after an emotional day. I've never stayed in a hotel before that had such an early closure time for the bar.
So overall, the best that I can say about this hotel is that is functional, as long as you are lucky enough not to have broken furniture in your room. But don't expect to enjoy yourself. I certainly wouldn't stay again or recommend it to any friends. less
186342Jules, Manager at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry you were disappointed with your stay and sincerely apologise for the broken stool, this of course should not have happened and been replaced immediately.
Our policy is always to keep the bar open beyond 11pm if any residents wish to continue to relax and drink throughout the evening.I will certainly investigate why this did not happen on this occasion, and again apologise for the inconvenience and disappointment caused.