Explore Hotel

Best Western George Hotel.

A charming Victorian townhouse in the city of Norwich.

The Best Western George Hotel in Norwich is perfectly placed, just 10 minutes walk from the centre of this historical city. Although you'll be close to everything that Norwich has to offer, you'll also be only a short distance away from the Norfolk Broads National Park and North Norfolk Coast. You really will enjoy the best of every world!

Back at the hotel, you'll be treated to warm Norfolk hospitality and fine food. Almost every guest who stays here comments on how wonderful our cuisine is; what better recommendation could you ask for!

View more

Location

Arlington Lane
Newmarket Road

Norwich
Norfolk
NR2 2DA
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6136*
AA

Summary

2016 dinner inclusive rates offer a £24 per person à la carte allowance
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted £10 per night, specific rooms only.
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Paul Branford has been Head Chef at The BW George hotel for 12 years and along with his team produces some of the finest food in Norwich. Do not leave the hotel until you have tried one of their mouthwatering steaks and homemade chocolate and raspberry desserts.

Chef Paul Branford

george-hotel-dining-08-83651

Arlington Grill & Brasserie

Our restaurant has a brasserie look and feel to it, with an open kitchen at the front allowing guests to watch the preparation and passion that goes into their meals!

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary
george-hotel-leisure-03-83651

Arlington Bar

Join us for a pre-dinner drink or a cheeky nightcap in our welcoming bar.

Opening hours

09:00-24:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Eaton Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6118 Yards
No handicap required

Location

1 miles away in Newmarket Road, Norwich, NR4 6SF

Facilities

Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £60.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes

Costessey Park Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 5881 Yards
No handicap required

Location

5.5 miles away in Old Costessey, Norwich, NR8 5AL

Facilities

Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £22.50
Trolley hire £3.00
Buggy hire £20.00
Tuition £20.00

Weddings

Every wedding we host is close to our hearts, and we'll work with you to make sure everything is to your liking. No matter how weird or wonderful a request might be!

george-hotel-wedding-events-01-83651george-hotel-wedding-events-02-83651george-hotel-wedding-events-03-83651-OPgeorge-hotel-wedding-events-04-83651-OPgeorge-hotel-wedding-events-05-83651-OP

Wedding service and reception venue

We allow you to arrange your own entertainment, so feel free to invite a DJ or live band to your big night!

Catering

With a variety of set menus to choose from all at different prices you can plan and prepare for your big day quickly and easily!

Honeymoon Suite

The King George Suite has wooden beams and a Jacuzzi bath. Most importantly, it has a unique charm that sets a magical mood!

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call Jane Seager on 01603 617841

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type NR2 2DA

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A11, J, 1.00 miles
Nearest train station: Norwich, 2.00 miles
Nearest airport: Norwich, 5.00 miles
Free parking on site (35 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
Arlington Lane
Newmarket Road
Norwich
Norfolk
NR2 2DA
England


What's nearby?

Cities & Attractions

  • Norwich Castle (1 miles)

  • Norwich Cathedral (1 miles)

  • Norfolk Broads (8 miles)

  • Roman Catholic Cathedral (1 miles)

  • Chapelfield Shopping Centre (1 miles)

Shopping

  • Norwich Chapelfields (1.3 miles)

  • Castle Mall (1.2 miles)

  • Norwich Lanes (1.2 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

george-hotel-meeting-space-03-83651

The Best Western George Hotel is an ideal business venue in Norwich for conferences and meetings. The hotel is situated only 10 minutes walk from Norwich city centre and has excellent facilities available to hire; from the larger conferences to the smaller group meetings. We also offer free car parking and Wi-Fi, and a good selection of menus and beverages to ensure your guests are kept happy and motivated throughout their day.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Ascot Suite

The Ascot room is a small meeting room which can accommodate up to 10 guests boardroom style and is often used as a breakout room for the larger events




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Newmarket Suite 80 40 32 32 80
Ascot Suite 0 0 12 12 12
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 390 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 94
Rating: 4 112
Rating: 3 95
Rating: 2 60
Rating: 1 30
Rating

Cultural wasteland that is Norwich

22/09/2016 David W, norwich, United Kingdom

Excellent staff made an otherwise good stay great, they could not do enough to make the stay pleasurable, their local knowledge was excellent and tended to my every need. The hotel is quite old but th... more

Rating

Not Great!

21/09/2016 Amanda P,

Stayed here for one night on a business trip, could choose any hotel in the area however chose this due to convince to the University rather than price (there were cheaper hotels, some with gym and po... more

Owner Response
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback. All the issues you have mentioned such as air-conditioning and the walls are either being addressed or will be addressed during the refurbishments. All the staff know full well they must not use their personal phones during work time, so I am very disappointed you found them on their phones on you arrival and please be assured this issue will be resolved immediately.
Rating

Clean But....

21/09/2016 Kscn55, Greater London, United Kingdom

Although my single room was spotlessly clean, crisp white sheets can't disguise the ancient mattress that just sags/crumples when you sit or lay on it. It's ok in your grandma's spare bedroom cos she'... more

Owner Response
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your input. We are aware of the noise from the flooring and when the hotel progresses with the full refurbishment the floorboards are all going to be replaced to solve this issue, and as you say, we do try and reflect this in the prices charged.
Rating

Dire

14/09/2016 Dazelwood,

Stayed for a business meeting booked in by the university. I have never written a bad review before but the owners of this place need a wake up call. Other than an unhelpful receptionist when I arrive... more

Owner Response
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review
So sorry to hear you had such a poor experience. As said previously, the owners are in the process of agreeing a full refurbishment for the whole of the hotel, which obviously all staff and management are looking forward to immensely. Please be aware, a lot of the rooms have already been upgraded so I do apologise you did not experience one of these rooms during your stay.
Rating

Good food and excellent Garden suite

01/09/2016 fish4amy, Crawley, United Kingdom

We stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. We booked the garden suite as we wanted a bit more space to relax. The 2 bed room is like a house at the back of the hotel and was exactly wh... more