Could not stay in this unclean hotel. Checked out and went across the street
My family and friends (9 of us) booked 3 rooms through Priceline name your own price for the night of August 24 at your hotel, the Galaxy Inn, in Dover, DE. It was a perfect stopover point for us in our travels from outer banks to our home in upstate NY. When my husband called to confirm the reservation the day before, he was told that unfortunately the hotel was overbooked and we could not have 3 non-smoking rooms and that 2 of our rooms were smoking rooms. My son has asthma and is very sensitive to smoke so we were not happy with this but we were told that there was a possibility that there was a cancellation and decided to check in anyway since it was a Priceline deal and non refundable. Unfortunately, that was not the case and were informed that no cancellations had been made and these were the only available rooms. We were assigned rooms 230, 130 and 216. The smoke in the rooms 230 and 130 was unbearable, but not only that, the rooms were in disrepair and unclean. In room 230, there was a substance smeared on the wall that dripped to the wall trim (it looked like ketchup). The curtains had slices in them and there was no inner curtain. The sheets were stained. The carpet was old and stained. Overall, the room looked unclean, with dust and dirt on most of the surfaces.
Regarding room 130, the room was dirty, rug extremely dirty, bathroom doorknob non functioning, closet door broken, toilet paper roll with only 2 sheets of paper not changed to full roll, ripped wallpaper, strong urine smell in room in addition to the overwhelming smoke smell which no one should be subjected to. There was crud along tile in bathroom and dirt or rust on the floor behind the door.
The non-smoking room, 216, had spots on the carpet that looked like blood that started in front of the refrigerator and dripped to the bathroom.
I am attaching photos of room 230 (curtains and red food stain) and the spots on the floor in room 216.
In the end, due to the overwhelming smoke smell and dirty rooms and in the interest of our and our children’s health, we decided to leave the hotel and find something more suitable and clean and ended up across the street. After showing the front desk clerk, she agreed to cancel the reservations and directed me to email the manager, which I did that night. I have not yet heard back. I understand that the hotel is going to be remodeled but at this point in time, the conditions of the rooms are unacceptable and we were extremely disappointed, as we have stayed in Best Western hotels in the past and expected a lot more from this chain. less
Steve G, General Manager at Best Western Galaxy Inn, responded to this review
Sorry you booked smoking rooms that we haven't renovated yet. We would of switched you rooms but there was none available. Hopefully in the next couple months all the rooms will be renovated elevating some of if not all your issues. Sorry we did not meet your standards.