DON'T BE FOOLED NOT a Best Westrn Hotel
29/03/2018 DeniseB731611, Los Angeles, California
My family and I were headed to Ensenada for a mini-vacation, on Saturday, 2/17/2018. I first called the hotel to find out if there were any availability, the person that answered stated that there was... more
My family and I were headed to Ensenada for a mini-vacation, on Saturday, 2/17/2018. I first called the hotel to find out if there were any availability, the person that answered stated that there was no vacancy available do to the long Presidents' holiday weekend. I then looked on Cheaptickets and to my surprise it stated that only one room was available, I went ahead and made the reservation. We arrived at the hotel around 10 pm. The person at the reception was very helpful with getting us checked in. When we got to the room, the key card was not working, I went back to the reception and told the man that the key card was not working. He then escorted me to the room and opened the room with the master key and told me that he will re-program the key card and bring it to me. In meantime, my husband after driving 5 hrs from Los Angeles wanted to take a warm shower. While he was showering he told me there was no hot water and no soap/shampoo/ conditioner. I immediately went back to the reception and told the man. He told me that the lever for the hot water needed to be moved a couple times and that the soap/shampoo/conditioner was inside the shower and it was a 3-in-1. He also stated that unfortunately the IT guy was not available to reprogram my key card and therefore not provide me with one. So I asked him, how was I supposed to go in to my hotel room. He then apologized and said that he would have to escort me EVERY TIME I needed the room opened. I felt this was an inconvenience and requested another room, however was told no other room was available. I had no choice but to stay in the room. And that is exactly how all night and the next morning went, every time we left the room we were escorted to the room to have someone open it for us. Attached are pictures of the 3-in-1 soap when clearly this is a hand soap and not amenities that are at the standards of a best western hotel. In the pictures you will also see that the tv was not working, since it had no signal. I reached out to managers, Jose Rendon and Patricia Campuzano the next day via email and as of today, neither one has reached out to me. less
JoseRendon, Manager at Best Western El Cid, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments Mrs Denise
Your main complaint I think is the electronic key, we are a small hotel, we do not have need to have round the clock maintenance personnel. maybe because you were so tired you found it annoying that the bell boy had to accompany you to your door when you needed to come back in.
We are the only certified GREEN HOTEL in Ensenada, in order to keep that certification, we need to keep waste to a minimum,
we certainly do not offer a 3 in 1 (Shampoo,conditioner, body wash), we do however offer a 2 in 1 (DIAL Body and Hair Shampoo)
Our showers all work the same, you pull the handle and you rotate left for hot(Red dot) right for cold (blue dot)
Hotel offers all kinds of amenities ( Razors, Shaving cream, combs, tooth brush, tooth paste, Coffee maker, Deodorant, International plug adapter, Makeup mirror, Sewing Kit Bar soap, bottled shampoo, bottled conditioner, and more The full list is on the Guest Directory), all you have to do is ask the front desk and they will bring up anything that you need, again this is to reduce waste.