No Sleep for Weary
22/02/2017 christinec174, San Angelo, Texas
At approximately 9:30 PM, the fire alarm went off. The hotel was evacuated. We were not given time to get anything - left my car keys behind, which was the bad mistake. In pajamas and slippers, thi... more
At approximately 9:30 PM, the fire alarm went off. The hotel was evacuated. We were not given time to get anything - left my car keys behind, which was the bad mistake. In pajamas and slippers, thin jacket, all the guests and hotel staff stood in the cold, windy night while scores of firemen combed the hotel for the source of the fire for several hours. No actual fire was found, but the alarms kept going continually until midnight. We were allowed back in to our rooms. Thereafter the alarms kept going off every ten minutes or so, Finally all was quiet around 3:30 AM. I had to get up at 5:30 AM to continue my travel. When checking out at 7:00 AM, I complained to the front desk person about the lack of sleep, etc. While I realize it wasn't his fault, he did promise a small discount on my bill. The discount appeared in my bank account, but then when the charges finished processing, the discount had disappeared. So not only did I get 2 hours or less of sleep, I also got duped on the discount! Through the ordeal, the hotel staff never gave us any information. We, the guests, had to listen to the firemen and get the news from each other. The situation was handled very poorly. Very bad experience. less
esmeralda v, Manager at Best Western Douglas Inn & Suites, responded to this review
I would like to thank for you for the review on our property. I'd like to start off by apoligizing for the inconvience you had during your stay. I was well aware of the situation and guided my staff the best was possible. Unfortunatly the fire department advised us to not shut alarm off until they arrived to the property antod figure out the situation. The fire alarm system notified not only the hotel but the fire department of a possible situation, in which we were asked to follow a certin procedure. I am sorry that it did not happen just once but a couple of times, we can understand your frustration especially being at the time it happened. We did follow up during business hours, and got the situation fixed. We apoligize this occured. I hope you have a better stay at our property in the near future. We appreciate your business and value your business.