Best Western Desert Winds

16200 Sierra Highway, Mojave, California, 93501-1835, United States
based on 257 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
rating TBC

Best Western Desert Winds

Enjoy convenient access to Mojave Spaceport, Edwards Air Force Base and Willow Springs International Speedway while staying at this Mojave, California hotel.

Welcome to the Best Western Desert Winds where guests will receive the highest qua
show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out14:00:00 | 11:00:00

Reviews of Best Western Desert Winds

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 257 reviews
Excellent 34%
Very Good 36%
Average 19%
Poor 8%
Terrible 1%
Rating

Vicky058, wrote review 15/01/2020

Dog Friendly in This Area

This BW is just okay. We chose it because they are pet friendly. The next closest BW in Lancaster (?) did not so I won’t complain too much as they fit the bill for our needs in the moment. Observation... more

Rating

scooten02, wrote review 03/12/2019

Keep driving

The rooms are not clean, step out of your room to cigarette smoke, dangerous steps to second floor, water pressure is weak, the heat/ac unit must be on centigrade, if you do stay skip the breakfast an... more

Owner Response
kathybP7196KA, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this review
I am sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. I am used to getting excellent reviews of our property so I am not sure how everything went so bad for you. The rooms are inspected every day by housekeeping supervisor to ensure cleanliness. As far as the cigarette smoke, we are an exterior property so I can not tell people they are not allowed to smoke outside. I do however encourage people that smoke to book smoking rooms. In the 18 years that I have been managing this hotel there has not been even 1 accident on the stairs. The water pressure has not been a problem but I checked anyway just to make sure it was fine. The HVAC units can be Fahrenheit or Celsius depending on preference and is manually changed at unit. The breakfast is one of the best that is offered at not cost. we have a wide variety of choices with both hot and cold items. I am not sure what else can be added. Again, I am sorry that you had a bad time during your stay.
Rating

Barbara B, wrote review 18/11/2019

Similar to a Hilton Garden Inn

The rooms are decorated in a modern style and are kept very clean. I'm happy to find such a great place to stay in Mojave while on business travel. Bed and pillows are super comfortable. Coffee in ... more

Rating

RTinAZ, wrote review 22/10/2019

Mojave Mistake!

After a below average dinner at Denny’s (Poor selection nearby) we retire to room to notice entry door is extremely warped at bottom allowing wind and sound to penetrate room. Between the semis and tr... more

Owner Response
Kathy B, General Manager at Best Western Desert Winds, responded to this review
Dear Mr. Mistake ! I am not sure how I am responsible for Denny's but I will respond anyway. There is a wide variety of places to eat here like a Thai Cuisine, Anthonys Grill, Subway, and all kinds of fast food, all on one street and very close to hotel. As far as being unsympathetic, you were rude and obnoxious to Julia when you were being checked out of the hotel, and did not report any problems at all until check out, I am guessing because you did not want us to find the dog in the room that you neglected to disclose. the pet charge was posted due to you bringing an animal into a room designated for no pets, these rooms are for people with allergies to animals. Now this pet free room has had a dog in it. Mojave is known for the high winds and trains. It was extremely windy during your stay. You stated that you noticed the problem after eating at Dennys yet did not call the front desk so we could move your room and solve both the door and the train noise all at the same time. the pet rooms are farther away from the trains, so all would have been taken care of immediately. As you so eloquently put it the Lousy, Disgusting experience was a result of your own actions, so you should not be unhappy with Best Western.
Rating

Departure62721592512, wrote review 13/10/2019

Mojave

This is a great 1/2 trip point to stop for the night as we continue our trip. The hotel is a nice place to stay, helpful people, clean and usually no problems or complaints. We are snowbirds and make ... more