Definitely NOT a 4*
16/09/2017 trippeehippee, Calgary, Canada
This hotel was really a disappointment. We are typically Best Western patrons and have always had good stays at these hotels .. this one was definitely the exception. First and foremost we were not in... more
This hotel was really a disappointment. We are typically Best Western patrons and have always had good stays at these hotels .. this one was definitely the exception. First and foremost we were not informed at any point prior to arriving that this hotel is under renovations at the moment but that wasn't one of the issues actually. Firstly, this hotel smells like an old hotel .. a mixture of mildew, cigarettes and booze greet you when you enter, fortunately the rooms don't smell like this but it's really off-putting when you enter. Secondly, Duncan was under a "boil water" advisory when we were there. This of course is not the Best Western's fault but once again we were not advised of this until we entered the room and found a notice on the credenza advising us of this. A short while later a young man came to the door offering us 2 small bottles of water, when we asked for 2 more for making coffee, he joking said that the whole thing was really probably over played and he himself had drank the water out of the tap that morning and was, in his words, still alive. He also suggested that the water is boiled as is goes through the coffee machine anyway, however when we insisted on extra, he did grudgingly hand them over. Some one should inform this young man that water needs to boil at a full rolling boil for 1 minute to effectively remove bacteria. Okay thirdly, the faucet in the tub leaked continuously all night and not just an occasional drip, a steady stream.Next, the bed was horrible .. it felt like it was 10 years old. Lastly .. the location, while handy to access, it's very loud .. unfortunately our room overlooked the entrance way to the hotel, so we heard every vehicle coming in and because of its close proximity to the highway, we also heard that noise all night, so bring ear plugs. All in all, this was definitely not a good experience. less
Bonnie P, General Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this review
Dear most valued guest,
May I first start off by saying how sorry I am that you had to go through such an uncomfortable experience. Being under renovations is a difficult time but having a Boil Water Advisory in place from the city & all the rest must definitely have been off-putting.
We are quite aware that our hotel is an older property, and we are trying all that we can to make sure our renovations take care of everything that encompasses that. We are so so sorry that this disturbed your stay.
With the new Renovations, we are putting in newer and higher quality window frames that will have a sound-proofing quality to them, which in return will help with the sound issue that many of our light sleepers have at our hotel.
I apologize sincerely about our employee that used jokes during such a crucial time. I will be having a meeting with him to discuss the elements of customer care and ensure all our guests are served fairly with respect and great conduct.
I hope you will give us a chance to renew your experience again at our property. These renovations are a big step for us in this community, but we understand how much discomfort there must be in the stay-experience. We always ask our guests to let us know if there is anything uncomfortable right away so that we can cater to their needs right away. We are problem solvers, and we want to help everyone to feel like they are coming to a warm and friendly home. I hope you will give us a chance to revive your excellent experience you usually have with our brand, as we are very proud to be a part of this as well. Please feel free to email me or call the hotel and talk to me personally and I would be happy to assist you with anything you need.