• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Clifton Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Clifton Hotel.

Are you looking for a fine place to stay in Folkestone? Then look no further. The Best Western Clifton Hotel in Folkestone is perched on the famous Leas, with views across the Channel to France. Celebrated as a Folkestone landmark, the hotel is fabulously situated only fifty yards from the Leas Cliff Hall Conference and Entertainment Centre. The majestic sands of the East Cliff Beach are just a pleasant stroll away whilst the town centre and harbour are mere minutes away. As this charming hotel near the heart of Folkestone dates back to the 1864, you'll enjoy Victorian character as well as modern convenience during your stay.

Whatever you want to do - shop till you drop, go for a walk or run on the Leas, enjoy a theatre show or simply relax at the hotel - we're certain you'll leave feeling fabulous and refreshed. With Dover Castle and the Kent Downs area of outstanding natural beauty also just down the road, youll never be short of places to see and things to do near Folkestone.

The Best Western Clifton Hotel makes an excellent base for trips to France, as its only three miles from the Channel Tunnel terminal and seven miles from the ferry port in Dover. You can also drive to the M20 motorway in just a few minutes. For these same reasons, the hotel makes an excellent conference venue in Folkestone. Not only can we accommodate guests crossing the Channel, but our superb function rooms mean that we can host your business meeting in style.

With Victorian character and a fantastic coastal location, the Best Western Clifton Hotel is sure to make for an incredibly memorable stay.

View more

Location

The Leas
Clifton Gardens

Folkestone
Kent
CT20 2EB
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6152*
AA

Summary

No onsite car park . Hotel offers parking voucher for £2 per day for street parking, however availability cannot be guaranteed.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to all floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

For fine evening dining or a light and informal lunch, visit our Garden restaurant and Clifton bar. We are proud to serve you some of the most exceptional food around whilst you sit back and admire the flowers blooming in our impressive gardens.

Chef Legorio

clifton-hotel-dining-10-83677-OP

Garden Restaurant

Our comfortably furnished restaurant overlooks the adjoining garden and makes the ideal venue for a leisurely lunch or dinner. We offer a choice of seasonal menus, which are complemented by a wide selection of fine wines. Children are looked after just as well with their own menu of appetising meals. At certain times of the year our resident pianist will be present to provide background music and add an extra splash of enjoyment to your dinner.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 11:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary
clifton-hotel-dining-35-83677

Costa Coffee Lounge

The Clifton bar overlooks the sun terrace with its flower-filled boxes, providing a warm and friendly atmosphere. Enjoy a drink from our renowned choice of cask-conditioned draught ales and if you're feeling peckish, theres a varied selection of hot and cold snacks. Open from midday to midnight, you can enjoy a warm welcome and convivial company whatever time you visit.

Opening hours

10:00-24:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

If you're looking for a wonderful wedding venue in Folkestone, the Best Western Clifton Hotel fits the bill. We have excellent facilities for wedding receptions, private luncheons or dinner parties, and can offer the perfect venue for parties of 6 to 100 persons.

Wedding service and reception venue

Five separate function rooms are available, some of which are interconnecting if you want to spread out your party. The largest is our Pleydell room, which can accommodate up to a 100 guests, plus we have three medium-sized rooms for the more intimate celebrations. All offer natural lighting and tasteful decor. The hotel's private two-acre garden will provide a tranquil setting for your special event and many of your photographs.

Catering

Our team of dedicated wedding planners will ensure you have the day you've always dreamed about. We offer a variety of set menus and packages to suit any budget, whether you prefer a full, sit-down banquet or a more informal buffet. If you have bespoke requirements - vegetarian or childrens options, for example - talk to our team who will be pleased to discuss and accommodate for your needs.

Registrar

Registry office:





Get in touch with Cristi Manea

For any enquiries please call Events on 01303 851231

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CT20 2EB

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M20, J13, 2.00 miles
Nearest train station: Folkestone Central, 1.00 miles
Nearest airport: london Gatwick, 75.00 miles

Address
The Leas
Clifton Gardens
Folkestone
Kent
CT20 2EB
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Bannatyne (1.5 miles)

  • Folkestone Bowls club (1.5 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Dover Castle (6 miles)

  • Leeds Castle (30 miles)

  • France (33 miles)

  • Cathedral of Canterbury (20 miles)

  • The Leas Cliff Hall (0 miles)

Shopping

  • Folkestone (0.2 miles)

  • Ashford (13 miles)

  • Canterbury (20 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

clifton-hotel-meeting-space-02-83677

With its superb location and close links across the Channel, the Best Western Clifton Hotel is a great conference venue in Folkestone. Our function rooms feature stylish floor to ceiling windows, as well as wall-to-wall hospitality from our attentive staff.

PLEYDELL ROOM
The Pleydell room is situated on the ground floor overlooking the garden area and is suitable for meetings and dinner dance parties.

ROMNEY ROOM
The Romney room is situated on the ground floor, overlooking the garden area. It's suitable for training courses and can be used in conjunction with the Pleydell room, for some extra space.

GARDEN ROOM
The Garden room is situated on the ground floor and overlooks the garden area. The suite is ideal for smaller meeting and private dinner parties.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Pleydell

The Pleydell Room is situated on the ground floor overlooking the Garden area and is suitable for both Meetings and Dinner Dance Parties

Romney

The Romney Room is situated on the ground floor overlooking the Garden area and id suitable for Training courses and can be used in conjunction with the Pleydell Room

Garden

The Garden Room is situated on the ground floor overlooking the Garden area suitable for smaller meeting and Dinner parties




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Pleydell 80 32 32 30 75
Romney 50 18 20 20 40
Garden 40 14 14 20 32
Bouverie 40 14 16 18 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 536 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 133
Rating: 4 186
Rating: 3 123
Rating: 2 52
Rating: 1 42
Rating

A pleasant stay

18/04/2018 Dawnsparkles,

Staff very welcoming and Hotel was very clean. The room lived up to expectations. We had room service early evening. And in the morning had breakfast down stairs which was very good value. The one sta... more

Owner Response
Neil L, General Manager at Best Western Clifton Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Dawn Thank you for your kind words and sentiments following your recent stay-your feedback is of great importance to us and I am really pleased you had a pleasant stay. As you will have noted, we have begun a refurbishment program that will encompass all areas of the hotel with particular attention going into the bedrooms and bathrooms. Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know you had a good time and we look forward to being of service again in the future Kind regards Neil
Rating

Popped in for a coffee

17/04/2018 Velma62, Crawley, United Kingdom

Was made welcome by reception who directed us to the bar. The bar lady was extremely pleasant , helpful and courteous and quick to serve. Comfortable bar area with lovely decor. We sat by the window a... more

Owner Response
Neil L, General Manager at Best Western Clifton Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Velma Thank you very much for your kind words and support, this is very much appreciated. I am really pleased the team looked after you so well and I hope we can have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future, be it for another coffee or lunch, dinner or a cheeky cocktail ! Once again, thank you for your review, it has been very helpful Kind regards Neil
Rating

Comfortable and clean

15/04/2018 scott m, Bristol, United Kingdom

I was greeted on arrival and given a large and comfortable room which was made up daily. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty with cooked & continental available, wifi was good and room service meals exc... more

Owner Response
Neil L, General Manager at Best Western Clifton Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Scott Thank you for your review and for the kind words and sentiments therein-these are very much appreciated. I will ensure your feedback is passed onto all those concerned & we hope we can be of service again to you in the future Warmest regards Neil
Rating

Disgusted

15/04/2018 mandccooper, London, United Kingdom

Booked as accessible room nothing in room was disabled friendly doorway to bathroom to small for wheelchair no rails at all round toilet or higher pan access to hotel up ridiculously steep ramps boo... more

Owner Response
Neil L, General Manager at Best Western Clifton Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and the feedback therein, this has been most enlightening. Whilst I can concur with the angle of the ramp coming into the hotel is a little steep, it is something we are actively trying to resolve with planning permission and building works. In respect of the issue with the accessible bedroom, I have reviewed the various correspondence between yourself & the hotel and there wasn't any mention of requiring an accessible room, it is my understanding that you requested a first floor room, with a seaview and close to the lift, which we complied with fully and we explained the logistics of the building. I am truly sorry if there has been a misunderstanding on either part, however, I hope, that following your discussions with my Front Office team prior to your departure, that this has now been resolved Once again, thank you for your feedback, it has been most helpful Kindest regards Neil
Rating

Pleasantly surprised

14/04/2018 Karen L, Boufflers, France

We found this hotel very comfortable as well as very efficient and welcoming staff ... well presented and all credit to the staff for maintaining standards throughout our stay . This Hotel deserves 4-... more

Owner Response
Neil L, General Manager at Best Western Clifton Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Karen Thank you so much for your kind words and praise-these are very much appreciated. I am pleased the team made your stay memorable for the right reasons and we look forward to being of service to you again in the future Once again, thank you for putting a smile on all of our faces Kindest regards Neil