Best Western Claydon Hotel

16-18 Ipswich Road, Claydon, Ipswich, Suffolk, IP6 0AR, England
based on 333 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA Silver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Best Western Claydon Hotel

Best Western Claydon Hotel.

Enjoy an idyllic break near Ipswich.

The Best Western Claydon Hotel is handily situated off the A14 only 5 miles west of Ipswich town centre. A perfect venue for business trips and stopovers. Small enough to ensure individual attention, ye
show more

Restaurant bookings must be made in advance prior to arrival
Breakfast will be a Grab and Go option. Reduced food and beverage offerings.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, No Lift
Pets not accepted
Guide, hearing and assistance dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00
16-18 Ipswich Road, Claydon, Ipswich, Suffolk, IP6 0AR, England

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

Chef Luke Bearne
  • Crystal Room
  • Main Bar

Dining and bars

Crystal Room

Our restaurant is a delightful combination of traditional and modern styles, our cooking reflects British trends and has a European influence acknowledging the passing seasons.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
Dining and bars

Main Bar

Our residents bar is a welcoming informal area which borders onto the conservatory. Perfect for taking a break or relaxing after a days meeting or networking!

Opening hours
07:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

If you are looking for the perfect wedding venue, the Best Western Claydon Hotel is the one. Whether you are planning a traditional reception or a civil service, you will have a team of experts to help you every step of the way.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Honeymoon Suite
  • Registrar

Wedding service and reception venue

We have a number of contacts, from DJs to live bands, which must be music to your ears! Whatever you want us to organise, we'll make sure your evening entertainment gets a great reception.

Catering

We'll give you plenty of food for thought when the time comes to choose your wedding food. From simple buffets to 3 course meals, we can cater for up to 120 without compromising on quality!

Honeymoon Suite

After your vows, it's time for the wows! Our exquisite, newly refurbished honeymoon suite with canopy bed and large flat screen TV is the perfect place to spend your special night.

Registrar

Registry office:
Gipping & Hartismere Register Office
Milton House, Milton Road South, Stowmarket, IP14
01449 612054

Additional Information

Get in touch with Frankie Manners on 01473 830382

Golf

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

Fynn Valley

5 miles away in Witnesham, Ipswich

Course type

Parkland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

0 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

18 holes £32.00

Meetings & Events

Most of our guests are here on business. However, our meeting rooms and conference suites make working out of office a real pleasure!

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Most of our guests are here on business. However, our meeting rooms and conference suites make working out of office a real pleasure!

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Crystal Room 1 30 30 20 24 20
Crystal Room 2 30 30 20 24 20
Gipping Valley Suite 1 100 30 40 40 100
Oak Room 25 15 20 20 20
Gipping Valley Suite 2 30 16 16 16 20
Gipping Full Suite 130 40 40 40 100

Reviews of Best Western Claydon Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 333 reviews
Excellent 35%
Very Good 34%
Average 20%
Poor 7%
Terrible 3%
Rating

clairehX8764EV, wrote review 27/09/2020

Best Western Claydon

The hotel was excellent value. All the staff we dealt with were lovely - so friendly and helpful. Dinner was delicious. The room was spotless. The décor was a little tired, but fine for a 3* hotel... more

Rating

alivanmanen, wrote review 10/09/2020

Special place ..

We have been visiting the sister ship “ Gatehouse Hotel ‘for many years .Since Covid she has been closed ..so stayed this summer at the Claydon Hotel instead . We were certainly not disappointed... b... more

Owner Response
Claydon Ipswich, General Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Alivanmanen Thank you so much for the lovely review, I am delighted you were looked after so well, unfortunately, without the old world charm of the Gatehouse, however, we hope our personalities made up for the loss. I will pass on your compliments to the staff, especially Marina. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future many thanks. Kind regards Frankie Manners Operations Manager
Rating

Hugo V, wrote review 10/09/2020

Lovely and very economical hotel

Although not as romantic as the Gatehouse, were we have stayed many times in the past, the hotel was clean, the food was excellent and god value. The manager, Frankie, was very friendly and professio... more

Owner Response
Claydon Ipswich, General Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Hugo, Thank you for such a great review. I will ensure the outstanding team members mentioned see this review, they will be delighted. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Frankie Manners- Operations Manager
Rating

allison i, wrote review 19/08/2020

Take a travel kettle and multi purpose wipes

I stayed two nights, the bath had the previous occupants hair still in it, I did mention this to the staff who offered to clean it, I did it myself as I had taken wipes with me, no tea and coffee faci... more

Owner Response
Claydon Ipswich, General Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Allison Thank you for the review, please rest assured we will take the appropriate measures to address these issue to prevent future occurrence. We welcome you sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Regards. Frankie Manners -Operations Manager.
Rating

JoeOrouke, wrote review 12/08/2020

Worst Hotel Stay of My Life

My mother is a 79 year old, disabled women who was really looking forward to spending the week with her sister and her family, who we haven’t seen for 4 years. But, this trip was corrupted and ruined ... more

Owner Response
Claydon Ipswich, General Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr O’Rourke, Thank you for the time taken to provide this review, in response I must say I am disappointed to read of your experience and I am terribly sorry this has been left to materialise in this way. This is not the standard we aim to deliver; I can only apologise, if on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, however, there are a few things I wish to clarify because I believe the comments which you have made are unfair. The hotel had recently re-opened a week prior to your booking. All bedrooms were fully sanitised before and there were no issues reported prior, during, or after the room was serviced by housekeepers. We were aware this room had been booked by you and your mother. Your mother had called the hotel at least three times during lockdown and had stated that she would need to book two rooms next to each other rather than a twin room because you did not want to stay with her in the same room. However later we were advised that because of budget issues she wanted to book a twin room. After check-in we were made aware there were issues with the swivel sink plug, this had become tightly wedged. I met with you at reception and at no time did you make me aware of any dis-satisfaction. You then, for some personal reasons, decided to check out. We asked you if there was anything we could do and you told at least two of our staff members and also the owner that there was nothing wrong with the hotel and that you had decided to leave because of personal reasons and that we had done whatever we could. The owner then spoke to you and informed you that your mother had informed him before making the booking that you did not want to stay with her in the same room and if that was the reason they wanted to leave then we could offer your mother another room and could also offer you another room next to your mother’s room at a discounted rate which would be non-refundable. You then spoke to your mother and asked us if we could show the two rooms to you. You were in both those rooms for at least fifteen minutes during which time we left you on your own to make a decision. After fifteen minutes you came to reception and confirmed that you were happy with the rooms and would like to take up our offer. Prior to your meal we enjoyed pleasant conversations at reception, before allowing you to browse through the menu. After your meal I met with you, although briefly, in reception and once again you gave no impression you were dissatisfied, and you seemed content. Soon after my attention was again alerted by the receptionist, it was in relation to your mother’s room, I arrived at the room in question in full PPE to assist. I was advised that the toilet would not flush. I tried to explain to your mother that once the toilet had been flushed she needed to give time for the cistern to fill up before flushing again but she kept on pushing the flush button without giving the chance for the cistern to fill up. I once again explained to your mother and then left her content. My understanding is that you were in and out of your mother’s room all night (for reasons not known to us) and the next morning you decided to check out. You once again advised the receptionist that there was nothing wrong with the hotel and that you wanted to leave because of personal reasons and that he did not expect the hotel to refund any monies because it was not our fault. Your mother subsequently contacted Best Western customer services who carried out a full investigation and came to the conclusion that we had everything to satisfy you and your mother. I would be happy to discuss this with you and would request you to contact me on the hotel number. Yours Sincerely Frankie Manners-Operations Manager