Best Western Claydon Hotel

16-18 Ipswich Road, Claydon, Ipswich, Suffolk, IP6 0AR, England
based on 321 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA Silver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Best Western Claydon Hotel

Best Western Claydon Hotel.

Enjoy an idyllic break near Ipswich.

The Best Western Claydon Hotel is handily situated off the A14 only 5 miles west of Ipswich town centre. A perfect venue for business trips and stopovers. Small enough to ensure individual attention, ye
show more

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, No Lift
Pets not accepted
Guide, hearing and assistance dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

Chef Luke Bearne
  • Crystal Room
  • Main Bar

claydon-country-house-hotel-dining-08-83676

Crystal Room

Our restaurant is a delightful combination of traditional and modern styles, our cooking reflects British trends and has a European influence acknowledging the passing seasons.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
claydon-country-house-hotel-leisure-02-83676

Main Bar

Our residents bar is a welcoming informal area which borders onto the conservatory. Perfect for taking a break or relaxing after a days meeting or networking!

Opening hours
07:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

If you are looking for the perfect wedding venue, the Best Western Claydon Hotel is the one. Whether you are planning a traditional reception or a civil service, you will have a team of experts to help you every step of the way.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Honeymoon Suite
  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Frankie Manners on 01473 830382

Wedding service and reception venue

We have a number of contacts, from DJs to live bands, which must be music to your ears! Whatever you want us to organise, we'll make sure your evening entertainment gets a great reception.

Catering

We'll give you plenty of food for thought when the time comes to choose your wedding food. From simple buffets to 3 course meals, we can cater for up to 120 without compromising on quality!

Honeymoon Suite

After your vows, it's time for the wows! Our exquisite, newly refurbished honeymoon suite with canopy bed and large flat screen TV is the perfect place to spend your special night.

Registrar

Registry office:
Gipping & Hartismere Register Office
Milton House, Milton Road South, Stowmarket, IP14
01449 612054

Additional Information

Get in touch with Frankie Manners on 01473 830382

Golf

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

Fynn Valley

5 miles away in Witnesham, Ipswich

Course type

Parkland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

0 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £32.00

Meetings & Events

Most of our guests are here on business. However, our meeting rooms and conference suites make working out of office a real pleasure!

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Most of our guests are here on business. However, our meeting rooms and conference suites make working out of office a real pleasure!

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Crystal Room 1 30 30 20 24 20
Crystal Room 2 30 30 20 24 20
Gipping Valley Suite 1 100 30 40 40 100
Oak Room 25 15 20 20 20
Gipping Valley Suite 2 30 16 16 16 20
Gipping Full Suite 130 40 40 40 100

Reviews of Best Western Claydon Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 321 reviews
Excellent 35%
Very Good 34%
Average 20%
Poor 7%
Terrible 2%
Rating

gowestmygirl, wrote review 05/01/2020

Terrible night's sleep

We were originally booked to stay at the Best Western in Whitton. We arrived to check in and were told that since the chef was sick, they were relocating guests to the Best Western Claydon, 5-10 mins ... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and please accept my sincere apologies for not exceeding your expectations on this occasion. Due to issues surrounding the Gatehouse hotel over the Christmas period, we decided to close the property and relocate all guests to our sister Hotel; Best Western Claydon. We are sorry the accommodation offered was not suitable for you, however, complimentary breakfast was offered and accepted. Should you wish to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me directly to resolve this matter. I look forward to hearing from you in due course, many thanks. Kind regards. Frankie Manners – Operations Manager
Rating

SPMMidlands, wrote review 03/12/2019

Best western Claydon

Overall very good , pleasant and helpful staff. Rooms all comfortable a little tired maybe . Heating could be improved. Restaurant very good, lovely room, food excellent, good choice of wines and dri... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, A pleasure to have been in a position to accommodate you, we currently have an ongoing renovation plan in operation which is 80 percent completed. We hopefully look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks. Kind regards Frankie Manners- Operations Manager
Rating

Emma844, wrote review 01/09/2019

An average hotel

Stayed here last night due to a family party. It was just me and my husband (kid stayed with g/parents) The room itself was pretty decent and had everything you needed for a pleasant stay. Im not a pi... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, We are sorry we did not meet with all your expectations; your comments were of great value to us. Unfortunately, you only sampled one room in 36 bedrooms; I would appreciate the opportunity to allow you to sample them further. We hope you will reconsider using us again in the future, it was also a pity you missed out on our breakfast before going to the Crown pub across the road, maybe next time, many thanks. Kind regards Frankie Manners Operations Manager
Rating

PaulC9217, wrote review 30/07/2019

A bit tired and rundown

Stayed here last night and left feeling as tired and run down as the hotel. Very tired looking and carpets seen better days. Floors creaked and there was a lot of noise transfer from adjoining rooms. ... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, We are sorry we did not meet with all your expectations; however, your comments were of great value to us, many thanks. Kind regards Frankie Manners Operations Manager
Rating

Ruby T, wrote review 28/07/2019

Underwhelmed

Staff members decidedly scruffy in appearance, even the duty manager looked as though she had slept in her clothes and a hairbrush was a foreign object. Fairly efficient check in but the room was poke... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Ruby, Thank you for reviewing our property. We are sorry your visit to the hotel did not exceed your expectations on this occasion. All customer feedback is taken very seriously and used to make improvements for staff training, we have since implemented new procedures, and thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. If we can be of any assistance to you in the future; please do not hesitate to get in touch, many thanks. your sincerely. Frankie Manners - Operations Manager.