• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Claydon Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Claydon Hotel.

Enjoy an idyllic break near Ipswich.

The Best Western Claydon Hotel is handily situated off the A14 only 5 miles west of Ipswich town centre. A perfect venue for business trips and stopovers. Small enough to ensure individual attention, yet spacious enough for a comfortable stay. A mixture of rural charm and modern convenience with a delightful Victorian dining room and additional function room for larger gatherings. Excellent road links to Norwich, Colchester and Cambridge make the hotel a great place to do business. You will have all that you need on site and will never be far from the areas recreational attractions.

View more


16-18 Ipswich Road

For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6151*


Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00


Dining and Bars

Chef Frankie Manners


Crystal Room

Our restaurant is a delightful combination of traditional and modern styles, our cooking reflects British trends and has a European influence acknowledging the passing seasons.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Main Bar

Our residents bar is a welcoming informal area which borders onto the conservatory. Perfect for taking a break or relaxing after a days meeting or networking!

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Fynn Valley

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 0 Yards
No handicap required


5.00 miles away in Witnesham, Ipswich


9 holes Yes


If you're looking for the perfect wedding venue, the Best Western Claydon Hotel is the one. Whether youre planning a traditional reception or a civil service, you'll have a team of experts to help you every step of the way.


Wedding service and reception venue

We have a number of contacts, from DJs to live bands, which must be music to your ears! Whatever you want us to organise, we'll make sure your evening entertainment gets a great reception.


We'll give you plenty of food for thought when the time comes to choose your wedding food. From simple buffets to AA Rosette standard 3 course meals, we can cater for up to 120 without compromising on quality!

Honeymoon Suite

After your vows, it's time for the wows! Our exquisite, newly refurbished honeymoon suite with canopy bed and large flat screen TV is the perfect place to spend your special night.


Registry office:
Gipping & Hartismere Register Office
Milton House, Milton Road South, Stowmarket, IP14
01449 612054

Get in touch with Heather Billing on 01473 830382

For any enquiries please call Heather Billing on 01473 830382

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type IP6 0AR

Send to Tom Tom

16-18 Ipswich Road

What's nearby?


  • Ipswich Football Club (5 miles)

  • Ipswich Speedway (5 miles)

  • Newmarket race course (40 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Suffolk water park (2 miles)

  • Christchurch park and Mansion (5 miles)

  • Museum of East Anglian Life (8 miles)

  • Suffolk Owl Sanctuary (5 miles)

  • Icksworth House & Abbey Gardens -Bury St Edmunds (20 miles)


  • Ipswich Shopping Centre (5 miles)

  • Norwich Shopping Centre (25 miles)

  • Bury St Edmunds (20 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Most of our guests are here on business. However, our meeting rooms and conference suites make working out of office a real pleasure!

Available room set ups

U shape

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Crystal Room 1 30 30 20 24 20
Crystal Room 2 30 30 20 24 20
Gipping Valley Suite 1 100 30 40 40 100
Oak Room 25 15 20 20 20
Gipping Valley Suite 2 30 16 16 16 20
Gipping Full Suite 130 40 40 40 100
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 282 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 97
Rating: 4 96
Rating: 3 62
Rating: 2 21
Rating: 1 6

Worst Best Western I have ever been to

14/03/2018 Russell B, Coventry, United Kingdom

Firstly I have to say that the Staff are lovely and very tentative, however this being said the room I was given was cold, the bed made noises on every slight movement the bathroom had seen better day... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr Burns Thank you for your feedback, we are truly sorry on this occasion your experience with us was unsatisfactory, we currently have an ongoing renovation program to review all our bedrooms, the one you occupied does not reflect all. If you are happy to accept, I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to include breakfast on your next stay. Once again I offer you my sincerest apologies. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to get in touch with me before making your booking, many thanks. Yours Sincerely Frankie Manners – Manager

Poor effort all round

14/03/2018 Andrew B, Nottingham, United Kingdom

So called deluxe room was cold, with a hard mattress, missing light bulb and peeling paint, tired decor and thin worn out towels. Continental breakfast awful, cheap nasty plastic cheese, packet pastri... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Dear I am sorry you were unhappy with some aspects of your hotel stay. We will of course look into the issues you have raised we look forward to your booking in the future; Please do not hesitate to get in touch if I can be of any further assistance, many thanks. Kind regards Frankie Manners-Operation Manager

O.K. Has improved.

08/03/2018 Hilary B, Cambridge, United Kingdom

This Hotel is better than the last time I stayed around 3 years ago. It has improved in relation to some aspects. The bed was much more comfortable than last time. My room was warm, and if small, was ... more


Overnight stay in Ipswich

28/01/2018 philhough54, Kidderminster, United Kingdom

What a little gem this hotel is. Very clean, well equipped and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and obliging staff. Our delux double room was very comfortable and having been recently ref... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, we will endeavour to make further improvements to our hotel to ensure comfort and satisfaction to all of our customers, we are delighted you enjoy your stay and hope you will continue to support us in the future. We will pass on your compliments to all the staff, many thanks. Kind regards Frankie Manners Operations Manager

Not sure about this one...!

09/01/2018 AvrilNanton, London

We stayed at this hotel over the 2017 Christmas period from 24 - 27 Dec. When we arrived (Christmas Eve) the disabled alarm bell was going off and the poor member of staff (there were only 2 members o... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the customer survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback, by telling us what you liked or disliked about your stay and how we can improve; you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We have been made aware adjustment to the room where necessary and have since been completed, although we still have on going renovation in process. I hope after our brief conversation by phone last week my apology had been accepted by you. If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me, we hope you will come back and try us again at a later date, many thanks. Yours sincerely, Frankie Manners Operations Manager