Best Western Claydon Hotel

16-18 Ipswich Road, Claydon, Ipswich, Suffolk, IP6 0AR, England
based on 325 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA Silver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Best Western Claydon Hotel

Best Western Claydon Hotel.

Enjoy an idyllic break near Ipswich.

The Best Western Claydon Hotel is handily situated off the A14 only 5 miles west of Ipswich town centre. A perfect venue for business trips and stopovers. Small enough to ensure individual attention, ye
show more

Until further notice only Continental Breakfast will be served. Dinner and Room Service will still be available.
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, No Lift
Pets not accepted
Guide, hearing and assistance dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

Chef Luke Bearne
  • Crystal Room
  • Main Bar

claydon-country-house-hotel-dining-08-83676

Crystal Room

Our restaurant is a delightful combination of traditional and modern styles, our cooking reflects British trends and has a European influence acknowledging the passing seasons.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
claydon-country-house-hotel-leisure-02-83676

Main Bar

Our residents bar is a welcoming informal area which borders onto the conservatory. Perfect for taking a break or relaxing after a days meeting or networking!

Opening hours
07:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

If you are looking for the perfect wedding venue, the Best Western Claydon Hotel is the one. Whether you are planning a traditional reception or a civil service, you will have a team of experts to help you every step of the way.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Honeymoon Suite
  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Frankie Manners on 01473 830382

Wedding service and reception venue

We have a number of contacts, from DJs to live bands, which must be music to your ears! Whatever you want us to organise, we'll make sure your evening entertainment gets a great reception.

Catering

We'll give you plenty of food for thought when the time comes to choose your wedding food. From simple buffets to 3 course meals, we can cater for up to 120 without compromising on quality!

Honeymoon Suite

After your vows, it's time for the wows! Our exquisite, newly refurbished honeymoon suite with canopy bed and large flat screen TV is the perfect place to spend your special night.

Registrar

Registry office:
Gipping & Hartismere Register Office
Milton House, Milton Road South, Stowmarket, IP14
01449 612054

Additional Information

Get in touch with Frankie Manners on 01473 830382

Golf

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

Fynn Valley

5 miles away in Witnesham, Ipswich

Course type

Parkland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

0 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £32.00

Meetings & Events

Most of our guests are here on business. However, our meeting rooms and conference suites make working out of office a real pleasure!

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Most of our guests are here on business. However, our meeting rooms and conference suites make working out of office a real pleasure!

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Crystal Room 1 30 30 20 24 20
Crystal Room 2 30 30 20 24 20
Gipping Valley Suite 1 100 30 40 40 100
Oak Room 25 15 20 20 20
Gipping Valley Suite 2 30 16 16 16 20
Gipping Full Suite 130 40 40 40 100

Reviews of Best Western Claydon Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 325 reviews
Excellent 35%
Very Good 34%
Average 20%
Poor 7%
Terrible 2%
Rating

Ian F, wrote review 12/02/2020

Quiet venue with good food.

After a long drive was in need of food then sleep. Deciding to stay at the hotel restaurant must say was not disappointed. Good selection on the menu, the mixed grill was large and normally I could ... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Ian Thank you for your review of our hotel, it is always good to have positive feedback, I will pass on your compliments to the team and hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards Frankie Manners-Operations Manager
Rating

Amanda0610, wrote review 10/02/2020

Great

Stayed at the weekend and the hotel is great. Spotlessly clean and very friendly welcoming staff, we ate in the hotel and would highly recommend to do so, food of a very high standard, very fresh and ... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, I will pass on your compliments to all the staff, may I take this opportunity to thank you for your business. we look forward to your return, many thanks. Kind regards. Frankie Manners-Operation Manager
Rating

gittek2015, wrote review 31/01/2020

Deceptive pictures and unfair hotel staff

We had booked and fully paid at the best western hotel in ipswitch, they were repairing the boiler so they moved us to their sister hotel in Claydon. All this after traveling for more then 36 hours fr... more

Owner Response
ksaeed, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. You had a standard double room at the Gatehouse Hotel. This room was booked on a advance purchase rate plan. You however wanted a bath but all our standard rooms had a shower. We offered you our sister hotel which you accepted. We gave you a deluxe room with a bath but you wanted a bigger room. We informed you that you had booked a standard double room and that we had upgraded you to a deluxe room with a bath as a goodwill gesture. We informed you that you could upgrade to a Premier room at a nominal fee but you refused to pay. Once again as a goodwill gesture just to keep you happy we upgraded you to a Premier room for free. You were very happy with this room. Two days before you departure date you came to reception and said that you had finished what you had come to do in Ipswich and that you wanted to check out. You asked us to refund you for the two days that you would not be staying with us. We informed you that you had booked an advance purchase rate which was not refundable and also the fact that we had gone out of our way to try and keep you happy. I think it is really unfair you posting a bad review just because we did not refund for something which you not entitled for. If you would like to discuss this further you are kindly requested to contact me directly at the hotel. Frankie Manners Operations Manager.
Rating

716SueM, wrote review 26/01/2020

Brilliant but...

Wonderful service, lovely food, great value BUT the roast potatoes were dire. If they had been great; in my humble opinion you would have got a ten out of ten but they need a lot of improvement... I m... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Sue, Thank you for your review, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding all your expectations. I hope you will consider using us again to sample the true Claydon experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01473 830382. Yours sincerely, Frankie Manners, Operations Manager
Rating

gowestmygirl, wrote review 05/01/2020

Terrible night's sleep

We were originally booked to stay at the Best Western in Whitton. We arrived to check in and were told that since the chef was sick, they were relocating guests to the Best Western Claydon, 5-10 mins ... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and please accept my sincere apologies for not exceeding your expectations on this occasion. Due to issues surrounding the Gatehouse hotel over the Christmas period, we decided to close the property and relocate all guests to our sister Hotel; Best Western Claydon. We are sorry the accommodation offered was not suitable for you, however, complimentary breakfast was offered and accepted. Should you wish to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me directly to resolve this matter. I look forward to hearing from you in due course, many thanks. Kind regards. Frankie Manners – Operations Manager