My mother is a 79 year old, disabled women who was really looking forward to spending the week with her sister and her family, who we haven’t seen for 4 years. But, this trip was corrupted and ruined by staying at the Best Western Claydon Country House Hotel, which from the experience I can say will NEVER happen again because we will never stay there again.
When I arrived at the Hotel at 2pm on the 13th July, I paid in full £386 for 1 twin room, for a 6 night stay. Soon After entering the room we discovered that the shower wasn’t very well clean and the sink didn’t empty properly, leaving the sink full of dirty water. The room was generally dusty and the feeling that the room hadn’t been cleaned since before the hotel closed in March remained. After we requested someone to help us with the sink issue the receptionist came and explained that the sink’s push plug is operated slightly differently, but when she tried to fix it, it still wouldn’t work. She then invited another receptionist in who also had no luck. They then said that they will call the plumber to fix it. we waited in the room for almost 2 hours before deciding to pack up and go home, after being forgotten about by the staff. I was fuming at this point. I didn’t drive 100 miles to stay in a dirty and unsanitary room for a week, to then be forgotten about. While I was loading the car back up with my mother’s wheel chair and belongings I was approached by the owner who apologised for the delay and offered us 2 other rooms, as they couldn’t fix the sink. Normally when a hotel owner would say it would not require another charge. But he took me to reception where I paid an additional £304 for the new rooms and please note I only paid this because I was sure I was going to be reimbursed for the £386 I initially paid.
From there on I was happy in my new room that was offered but, my mother did not. My mother’s room’s toilet was not flushing properly indicated by your operations manager, entering the room, wearing a mask and gloves to assess what was wrong. After confirming that he would be able to fix the issues with the toilet he left the room to get tools to sort out the problem. Upon fixing the toilet he said to my mother to leave the top of the toilet off so it can function. I really wouldn’t call this ‘Fixing the issue’.
The evening meal consisted of both frozen fish & Chips which was less than satisfactory, considering the Fish & Chip shop opposite would have fresh produce and it would be cheaper.
When attempting to go to sleep that night, we had both realised that there was such a large amount of traffic coming through the village, which were mostly trucks. This made often and increasing noise. Considering the road is less than 5 meters away from our windows, these rooms were actually the worst possible rooms to put us in. I would have thought that the owner of the hotel, he would know that A14 south bound was closed, which diverted traffic through Claydon and past the hotel till early hours in the morning. This proved very challenging to get to sleep. When the morning finally came, after having only 2 hours sleep we decided to check out, from having a horrible experience. Upon checking out I expected to receive an invoice but, was never given one and this left me not completely understanding what I had paid for.
My mother has been on the phone with both Best Western and the hotel directly and I must say that I am less than impressed with and how this has been dealt with. She was told that a letter has been sent to us, but 4 weeks later we have still received no further word.
Before doing this review, I chose to look through previous reviews to see if any of the issues I had with the hotel, had popped up before. I have read a few responses from the “Operations Manager” who has stated that they had offered someone a different (deluxe) room as a “gesture of good will” because it did not meet their expectations. He also stated that the “gesture of good will” was to keep that guest “happy”. When reading this, I thought the Best Western Claydon Country House Hotel‘s Management were clearly not caring enough to offer us this so called “gesture of good will” because they didn’t care if we were happy or not! Just wanted the extra £304 I had to pay!
I’d like to say that all customers are treated equally, but clearly this isn’t the case at The Best Western Claydon county House Hotel.
I was initially doing this review as an email directly to the hotel, best western and their complaints department. But, soon after speaking with best western directly I found out that that the hotel’s owner had categorically said we ‘will not be refunded any money’. Hearing this made me feel that The Claydon Country House Hotel haven’t acted professionally, have lied and never intended to refund any of the money, even after hearing we had such a horrible stay.
I wouldn’t recommend anyone to stay here, but if you are looking to have an unpleasant, unhygienic, corrupt and overall uncomfortable stay then by all means, the Best Western Claydon Country House hotel is for you.
Joseph O’Rourke less
Claydon Ipswich, General Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr O’Rourke,
Thank you for the time taken to provide this review, in response I must say I am disappointed to read of your experience and I am terribly sorry this has been left to materialise in this way.
This is not the standard we aim to deliver; I can only apologise, if on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, however, there are a few things I wish to clarify because I believe the comments which you have made are unfair.
The hotel had recently re-opened a week prior to your booking. All bedrooms were fully sanitised before and there were no issues reported prior, during, or after the room was serviced by housekeepers.
We were aware this room had been booked by you and your mother. Your mother had called the hotel at least three times during lockdown and had stated that she would need to book two rooms next to each other rather than a twin room because you did not want to stay with her in the same room. However later we were advised that because of budget issues she wanted to book a twin room.
After check-in we were made aware there were issues with the swivel sink plug, this had become tightly wedged. I met with you at reception and at no time did you make me aware of any dis-satisfaction. You then, for some personal reasons, decided to check out. We asked you if there was anything we could do and you told at least two of our staff members and also the owner that there was nothing wrong with the hotel and that you had decided to leave because of personal reasons and that we had done whatever we could.
The owner then spoke to you and informed you that your mother had informed him before making the booking that you did not want to stay with her in the same room and if that was the reason they wanted to leave then we could offer your mother another room and could also offer you another room next to your mother’s room at a discounted rate which would be non-refundable.
You then spoke to your mother and asked us if we could show the two rooms to you. You were in both those rooms for at least fifteen minutes during which time we left you on your own to make a decision. After fifteen minutes you came to reception and confirmed that you were happy with the rooms and would like to take up our offer.
Prior to your meal we enjoyed pleasant conversations at reception, before allowing you to browse through the menu. After your meal I met with you, although briefly, in reception and once again you gave no impression you were dissatisfied, and you seemed content.
Soon after my attention was again alerted by the receptionist, it was in relation to your mother’s room, I arrived at the room in question in full PPE to assist. I was advised that the toilet would not flush. I tried to explain to your mother that once the toilet had been flushed she needed to give time for the cistern to fill up before flushing again but she kept on pushing the flush button without giving the chance for the cistern to fill up. I once again explained to your mother and then left her content.
My understanding is that you were in and out of your mother’s room all night (for reasons not known to us) and the next morning you decided to check out. You once again advised the receptionist that there was nothing wrong with the hotel and that you wanted to leave because of personal reasons and that he did not expect the hotel to refund any monies because it was not our fault.
Your mother subsequently contacted Best Western customer services who carried out a full investigation and came to the conclusion that we had everything to satisfy you and your mother. I would be happy to discuss this with you and would request you to contact me on the hotel number.
Frankie Manners-Operations Manager