• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Claydon Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Claydon Hotel.

Enjoy an idyllic break near Ipswich.

The Best Western Claydon Hotel is handily situated off the A14 only 5 miles west of Ipswich town centre. A perfect venue for business trips and stopovers. Small enough to ensure individual attention, yet spacious enough for a comfortable stay. A mixture of rural charm and modern convenience with a delightful Victorian dining room and additional function room for larger gatherings. Excellent road links to Norwich, Colchester and Cambridge make the hotel a great place to do business. You will have all that you need on site and will never be far from the areas recreational attractions.

View more

Location

16-18 Ipswich Road
Claydon

Ipswich
Suffolk
IP6 0AR
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6151*
AA

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
Pets: No Pets accepted
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Chef Frankie Manners

claydon-country-house-hotel-dining-08-83676

Crystal Room

Our restaurant is a delightful combination of traditional and modern styles, our cooking reflects British trends and has a European influence acknowledging the passing seasons.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:00
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
claydon-country-house-hotel-leisure-02-83676

Main Bar

Our residents bar is a welcoming informal area which borders onto the conservatory. Perfect for taking a break or relaxing after a days meeting or networking!

Opening hours

07:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Fynn Valley

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 0 Yards
No handicap required

Location

5.00 miles away in Witnesham, Ipswich

Prices

9 holes Yes

Weddings

If you're looking for the perfect wedding venue, the Best Western Claydon Hotel is the one. Whether youre planning a traditional reception or a civil service, you'll have a team of experts to help you every step of the way.

claydon-country-house-hotel-wedding-events-24-83676claydon-country-house-hotel-wedding-events-26-83676claydon-country-house-hotel-wedding-events-30-83676claydon-country-house-hotel-wedding-events-31-83676claydon-country-house-hotel-wedding-events-32-83676claydon-country-house-hotel-wedding-events-36-83676

Wedding service and reception venue

We have a number of contacts, from DJs to live bands, which must be music to your ears! Whatever you want us to organise, we'll make sure your evening entertainment gets a great reception.

Catering

We'll give you plenty of food for thought when the time comes to choose your wedding food. From simple buffets to AA Rosette standard 3 course meals, we can cater for up to 120 without compromising on quality!

Honeymoon Suite

After your vows, it's time for the wows! Our exquisite, newly refurbished honeymoon suite with canopy bed and large flat screen TV is the perfect place to spend your special night.

Registrar

Registry office:
Gipping & Hartismere Register Office
Milton House, Milton Road South, Stowmarket, IP14
01449 612054




Get in touch with Heather Billing on 01473 830382

For any enquiries please call Heather Billing on 01473 830382

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type IP6 0AR

Send to Tom Tom

Address
16-18 Ipswich Road
Claydon
Ipswich
Suffolk
IP6 0AR
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Ipswich Football Club (5 miles)

  • Ipswich Speedway (5 miles)

  • Newmarket race course (40 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Suffolk water park (2 miles)

  • Christchurch park and Mansion (5 miles)

  • Museum of East Anglian Life (8 miles)

  • Suffolk Owl Sanctuary (5 miles)

  • Icksworth House & Abbey Gardens -Bury St Edmunds (20 miles)

Shopping

  • Ipswich Shopping Centre (5 miles)

  • Norwich Shopping Centre (25 miles)

  • Bury St Edmunds (20 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Most of our guests are here on business. However, our meeting rooms and conference suites make working out of office a real pleasure!

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Crystal Room 1 30 30 20 24 20
Crystal Room 2 30 30 20 24 20
Gipping Valley Suite 1 100 30 40 40 100
Oak Room 25 15 20 20 20
Gipping Valley Suite 2 30 16 16 16 20
Gipping Full Suite 130 40 40 40 100
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 274 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 94
Rating: 4 95
Rating: 3 61
Rating: 2 19
Rating: 1 5
Rating

xmas lunch

07/12/2017 61Bumblebee, Ipswich, United Kingdom

The food was good, I had fig and sarrano ham, turkey Christmas dinner with vegetables and cheese and biscuits. I don't understand why you get 3 pieces of cheese and one biscuit, surely you need at th... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review we are sorry we did not meet with all your expectations; we will continue to make any necessary improvements. We hope you will consider us in the future, many thanks Yours Sincerely Frankie Manners Operations Manager
Rating

Comfortable room, very nice staff, basic facilities

03/12/2017 GillyMac99, Cardiff

We received a lovely, friendly greeting on arrival and were directed to our room. It was freezing because, for energy-saving reasons, you can't have the heat on until you get there. That's quite a g... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review we are sorry we did not meet with all your expectations; as the hotel holds a green tourism award we do not preheat our rooms, however we will preheat rooms on request, we will continue to make any necessary improvements. We hope you will consider us in the future, many thanks Yours Sincerely Frankie Manners Operations Manager
Rating

Small Room & Lumpy Bed

08/11/2017 iceman123EastSussex, East Sussex

This hotel would do for a one-night stay, but would not be suitable for a longer break. Our room was extremely small and also the bathroom. The bed was lumpy and very creaky. As said earlier there ... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to filling in our customer review, we are sorry we did not meet with all your expectations, please accept my sincere apologies. We hope you will consider using us again in the future, many thanks Yours sincerely Frankie Manners Operations Manager
Rating

Best Western, Best yet.

30/10/2017 Geff R, Broadstairs, United Kingdom

Having travelled extensively and often used Best Western I have learned that all things vary and hotels are no exception. My wife and I stayed here for a weekend break and shared a standard double roo... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your comments, we will endeavour to make improvements to our hotel to ensure comfort and satisfaction to all of our customers, we are also delighted you enjoy your stay with us and hope you will continue to support us in the future, many thanks. Kind regards Frankie Manners Operations Manager
Rating

A Hotel......a Vicarage or a Care Home?......It needs a Makeover soon!!

23/10/2017 Tasty_Mr_T, Southampton, United Kingdom

I stayed here recently on Business and agree with previous comments that it may call itself a country house hotel on the internet but it isn't, really. It's a short-stay, overnight kind of place suita... more

Owner Response
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Claydon Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr T, Thank you for taking the time to fill in the customer review. Throughout the past 8 months the hotel has rebranded its name to Best Western Claydon Hotel, it has also been in the process of major refurbishment to our falsities with an on-going program in place. Unfortunately the Stannah Stair lift at the bottom to the stairs is a welcome relief to customers with disabilities or less fortunate than ourselves. We are sorry on this occasion we did not meet with all your expectations, however I hope once our refurbishments are completed you will consider using us again in the future, many thanks. Yours sincerely Frank Manners - Operations Manager