Beware of booking with Best Western Chiswick Palace.
After our flight was cancelled out of London, we scrambled to book accommodation for the weekend. Through Hotels.com, we attempted to book on a phone while in transit with spotty internet. After hitti... more
After our flight was cancelled out of London, we scrambled to book accommodation for the weekend. Through Hotels.com, we attempted to book on a phone while in transit with spotty internet. After hitting confirm we realized the calendar dates had jumped by two weeks. Upon realizing the mistake we immediately contacted both Hotels.com and Best Western Chiswick to attempt to correct the error and move the dates to the upcoming weekend. Best Western no longer had both weekend days available and refused to refund our booking. They cited their no refund policy. I understand why these policies are often in place - people cancel last minute and the hotel would lose out by not being able to rebook the room. In this case our booking was more than two weeks out, we contacted them immediately (the booking didn't exist 30 minutes earlier), and there would have been ample opportunity to rebook the room. They wouldn't even offer a compromise - perhaps meeting us in the middle and refunding only one of the nights. Regardless of their policy there is always flexibility for decent and good customer service given an honest mistake. It made a particularly stressful travel situation worse. Given our interaction with, and inflexibility of Best Western Chiswick Palace, I would not recommend staying at this hotel. less
Denzil Ratnam MIH, General Manager at Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites, responded to this review
Whilst we sympathise with you having made an error and wanted to re-book the correct date - we do not accept your statement "Beware of Booking with Best Western Chiswick" - to clarify the situation
Firstly, you made the booking through a third party "Hotels.Com, we therefore not in a position to change or amend unless it is agreed by Hotels.com
Secondly, even though you had two weeks to arrive, the booking is a "non-refundable and non-cancellable" booking, hence you get a cheaper rate which is fenced.
We would recommend that you book directly through Best Western to avoid any issues and would have directly dealt with us and would have given consideration