Tired and needing some ongoing refurb
01/09/2015 10-co, Lincolnshire
All staff, Recetion, Housekeeping, Waiting, were excellent and breakfast was plentiful and hot. However the room itself was below par (Room 77) which was down a few steps from Reception. The bedroom... more
All staff, Recetion, Housekeeping, Waiting, were excellent and breakfast was plentiful and hot. However the room itself was below par (Room 77) which was down a few steps from Reception. The bedroom was clean but shabby but the bathroom was the pain problem. We stayed for 3 nights. The first morning we thought we hadn't put the shower curtain inside the bath when showering as the floor was awash, duly mopped up with all the towels and thought nothing more of it. The next morning it happened again but we noticed that the water was trickling out at a great rate of knots from behind the bath panel. This didn't happen when having a bath though so guess it's a seal somewhere that had gone on the shower mechanism, possibly behind the tiles. Again used all the towels and reported it to Reception. We managed the following day as before and hopefully this has now been rectified since we booked out. I guess if the previous occupant hadn't reported it they wouldn't know?! A lot of mould on the bathroom ceiling and the bathroom was very, very cramped. Overall, the hotel is situated on a very, very busy road, there's plenty of car parking and it is well placed for going into Reading itself. There is a lovely Indian restaurant around the corner if you feel like eating out, the Silsila (turn left out of the car park) and there are a few shops in a retail park, Next, Argos, Sainsburys, Boots (turn right out of the car park) - both areas within walking distance. Would we stay again.........mmmm probably not, not unless it has a revamp. less
Andrew_MacLachlan, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Calcot Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay.
We're very pleased to the that all staff were excellent and the breakfast was plentiful and hot!
Obviously we're disappointed that you didn't enjoy your room. The issue that you reported has now been sorted and this will no longer be a problem, it's a shame that it happened during your stay, and as you stated if we're not told about an issue we can't address it, so thank you for bringing it to our attention.
The hotel has an ongoing revamp happening in many places, we're in the process of currently updating some of out older rooms in the hotel, and have recently finished updating a majority of our bathrooms.
We hope that despite the issues you have, that you'll give us a chance to redeem ourselves,