I am a traveling medical professional and Best Western was the only hotel nearby. Motels have proven not to be very safe when traveling alone. I was surprised when cash was the only acceptable form ... more
I am a traveling medical professional and Best Western was the only hotel nearby. Motels have proven not to be very safe when traveling alone. I was surprised when cash was the only acceptable form of payment for weekly stays. This was the first in 15 years to not have an option to use my Visa. I was surprised when that rate did not include toiletries, coffee or breakfast. It was the most I ever paid for a weekly stay. That was OK. The most important issue was a place to stay so I could work for 13 weeks. I left after completing the contract. Two months later I was requested by the hospital to return. I called Best Western and Sam said everything would be the same. Surprises continued--I travel with glue traps and roaches and other bugs were captured on the traps. The bugs were entering from the bottom of the door which was approximately an inch or two from the floor. A few days after mentioning that, my weekly rate increased by $100.00. Absolutely extortion. While I continued to stay 4 more weeks, the noise was unbearable. Many nights I was awakened by loud noises or music. I didn't complain for fear my rate would increase again. I left one week of completing the assignment due to sleep deprivation. Additionally, the handicapped parking spaces were occupied by vehicles without a placard. In my opinion, anyone who does that has a character flaw. less
Sam Sandhu, General Manager at Best Western Butner Creedmoor Inn, responded to this review
Dear Ms. Tessie,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your thoughts and have made every effort to accommodate your budget so that you could avoid staying at alternate lodging that was not to your standards. A few things:
1) You were offered the option to pay via credit card, but this rate was slightly higher and you declined this option. Because you wanted to pay "as little as possible" to stay in your budget, and as a courtesy we did our best to accommodate you, we agreed to accept cash payment so that the hotel could avoid the expense of credit card fees and pass those savings directly to you. We do not typically do this, but we did this for you as a courtesy.
2) The rate you paid at any given time was significantly below the Econo Lodge or Quality Inn, which are lower tier hotels and the other options in this area. In fact, you yourself stated that you refused to even enter those properties due to your standards, that they were not safe or clean. Again, this hotel went well below its typical rate to accommodate you on the strength of your status as a medical professional working during Covid. This hotel did everything possible to accommodate your budget, at times, even at the hotel's own expense. Your slight rate increase was simply related to cost of hotel operations and nothing more or less, so to accuse the hotel of “extortion” is both inaccurate and defamatory.
3) You did not voice a single complaint until after your rate increased. I wish at that time you had simply stated it was not in your budget and found alternate accommodations. Instead, you agreed to the slight increase and are now attempting to badmouth the same hotel that accommodated you. Often you would attempt to negotiate your rate further down after agreeing to pay it. Even now, you are looking to find issues and fault where none existed and if the accommodations you had were infact as you claim, why would you have stayed for as long as you did?
4) This hotel has maintained a 100% sanitation rating for years, has a 24 hour front desk service and is the only interior corridor option available. Throughout your stay, our staff went above and beyond for you, including fixing your personal laptop, offering you a staff laptop for your personal use, servicing your room at your convenience and per your schedule even when it meant having the staff work outside of their standard hours, allowing you to pay late on occasion when you left town, waiving your security deposit, etc.
5) You have always been free to check out or find alternate accommodations. However, you stayed with us because you knew the value and rate we were offering you were unmatched and unbeatable - even after your recent increase - so you insisted on staying. I am honestly surprised by your review as the entire staff here treated you like family and at no time did you present yourself as unhappy. You knew from the outset that we are not an extended stay hotel, but we did our best to customize a rate for your needs. You understood that prior to checking in, and stated you did not want toiletries, breakfast etc. because you wanted the "lowest possible rate" so it is unfair to complain about not receiving certain services or amenities after agreeing.
With the above in mind, we of course respect your feedback and will consider it seriously moving forward as we are always looking at ways to improve our offering for our valued patrons. We enjoyed hosting you and wish you safe and happy continued travels.
Sam S., GM