Awful place to stay
Stayed here for one night after reading great reviews on the hotel and thought it was a good price for breakfast and room. Greeted by a friendly enough receptionist however she wasnt wearing a mask o... more
Stayed here for one night after reading great reviews on the hotel and thought it was a good price for breakfast and room. Greeted by a friendly enough receptionist however she wasnt wearing a mask or visor. Hand sanitiser in reception was a bit hit and miss whether it worked or not.
Got given key to room 18 which should have been a standard double. Walked into a family room (not a problem) bathroom light wouldnt stay on, dirt in drawers, mould around windows, double bed didnt have a head board neither was it properly made.
My partner complained at reception about light not working whilst i spotted all the other issues. Partner was told there was no other rooms available and the manager was busy but would see us at some point to resolve the light issue.
After spotting the other issues and checking pictures on website we decided we werent happy to stay and looked online at other hotels but unfortunately they were all booked.
Went back to reception and explained what we had found and that we wanted to leave. We were then offered another room even though we had been told previously there werent any.
Took key to room 3 and quickly checked it as we were late for a dinner reservation. Room looked more like what we had booked so decided to stay, however after dinner found that after a proper look the room was not clean. There was a toe nail down the side of the toilet, dust on the headboards, big clump of brown hair on carpet (i have blonde) and the bath looked like it had seen a good clean in god knows how long.
Bed was extremely uncomfortable and there was no soap in the room.
Given that we are in covid times i though hotels should be taking extra precautions with cleanliness but not this hotel. Doesnt even seem that they are able to meet basic cleaning requirements.
There was no communication regarding using the facilities until we asked about them.
Ordered dessert in the restaurant and the jelly in the ice cream was solid and tasted disgusting (dont order the knicker bocker glory).
Service was really slow and staff not wearing visors at breakfast.
When checking out and asked how are stay was, we explained it wasnt great and the room wasnt clean to ehich the young girl just replied sorry!!
I wont be recommending this hotel less
Lynne Broadrick, General Manager at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not meeting and exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
The issues that you have raised will certainly be addressed, with the appropriate departments and department heads and necessary steps will be taken. The hotel is due a refurbishment next year, but I am aware this should happen as soon as possible.
We follow the Best Western Guidelines regarding the bath items, but this is under review at this time.
I was sorry to hear that the dessert was not of your liking. Staffing is difficult as bringing staff back from furlough has been a challenge based on the current environment.
I would like extend my apologies further by offering you a complimentary upgrade in one of our executive rooms.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01379 870456 to discuss. Again please accept my apologies.