12/08/2018 Sheila C, Southampton, United Kingdom
My son and I stayed here while visiting relatives. The room was okay, but the staff entrance was right outside and someone was holding a loud conversation outside our door late at night - it could onl... more
My son and I stayed here while visiting relatives. The room was okay, but the staff entrance was right outside and someone was holding a loud conversation outside our door late at night - it could only have been staff as no other rooms were past ours. Breakfast was a huge disappointment, especially for the price. I'm coeliac so need a gluten free meal or I'm ill. I explained this to the waitress when I ordered, and that my bacon couldn't be put on a plate with the sausages etc. I also asked if they had gluten free bread which she doubted by went to check. While she was gone, I noticed that there was no dedicated toaster and as I hadn't got any toaster bags with me, when she came back to tell me that they did have GF bread which was frozen I declined it. At this point she opened the kitchen door and shouted "it's okay, she doesn't want it now!" Thank you, I needed the world to know that.
The breakfast when it arrived was overcooked. Bacon was hard and dry, and both of my eggs, and my sons, were solid. Wish we hadn't bothered, especially as there had been some cross contamination in the kitchen and I was ill. On a three hour car journey this wasn't good, especially as I was driving and had to stop in three service stations to use their facilities!! Staff need more training! less
Lynsey M, Reception Manager at Best Western Bradford Guide Post Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review.
I would hope that you were asked upon check in or at least during the booking process if you had any dietary requirements so we could have been prepared for your stay. Had we have known about this in advance then the gluten free bread certainly wouldn't have been an issue.
I'm not too sure which room you stayed in from your description, and we do not have a staff entrance. All staff and customers enter via the main entrance at the front of the hotel.
With regards to cross contamination in the kitchen, all our kitchen staff are fully trained in all aspects of food preparation and service, in the recent Environmental Health inspection we received 5 stars for this.
We have spoken to all members of staff involved in regards to further training, thank you for bringing this to our attention, the breakfast waitress is new and certainly shouldn't have shouted into the kitchen with guests present.
Whilst I know your recent stay had a rubbish ending for you, I hope this does not deter you from staying again at our hotel where we can prove that our guests are looked after properly. Should you wish to make a booking then please contact me direct and I will oversee the dietary information is passed over correctly. My contact number is 01274 607866 option 2 or email@example.com