Dated and unsanitary room
05/07/2018 MNMomoftwokids, Minneapolis, Minnesota
We booked a king suite with a pull out bed for June 14th. During check in, the front desk staff were nice. We were bummed because they informed us that the pool had been closed and they were not sure ... more
We booked a king suite with a pull out bed for June 14th. During check in, the front desk staff were nice. We were bummed because they informed us that the pool had been closed and they were not sure if it would be open later that day. We were there for the big state trap shoot event and knew that some of the kids had planned to swim so that was disappointing. We brought our things into the room and could tell everything was pretty dated right away. We needed to use the bathroom before meeting friends for dinner and found that it was absolutely disgusting. It appeared the cleaners had been in there to replenish towels and toilet paper but there were pubic hairs in the tub, on the tub ledge, the floor and toilet. If that had not been cleaned properly, how do you trust that anything else has been? At dinner we checked the availability of other nearby hotels and luckily found a room at the AmericInn in town for $40.00 more a night since only one room choice was available. At that point we didn't even care that it cost more. When we arrived back at Best Western, we told the front desk that we know we just checked in but would like to check out without offering an explanation of why since we had another customer standing behind us. The man behind the desk apologized and said that he would cancel out the transaction. He then asked me if it was because of the room and I just said yes, that my son and I could not stay there. My thought is that he had to have had other complaints just like this already. I watched my bank statement and I was never refunded. I called Best Western and the man who answered said a manager would call me. To date they have not called or refunded us. Other people from our school group that had stayed there also had similar problems in their rooms but could not find another hotel to stay at. I know one group had been told they would get a discount after they complained the following morning. Breakfast was also not ready in the morning for that group when they were told it would be available so they didn't get a chance to eat before competing the next morning. Hopefully they remodel all of the rooms and hire cleaners that care to make sure things are sanitary for others. I know our separate groups will not be recommending to stay here for future trap shoot competitions. less
lq6158, Manager at Best Western Alexandria Inn, responded to this review
I am very sorry that you had a bad experience in Alexandria. I think that you have us confused with another hotel. We don't have King Suites and our pool was not closed during the Trap Shoot Tournament. Also, our front desk staff is all women. I hope that you will stay with us next time you are in Alexandria.