My 76th Birthday Treat
12/07/2018 Anne H, Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
We chose this hotel because it was close to the Canterbury City Centre but far enough away with a 2 acre garden (their website said!) to relax in. The reception staff and porter were very helpful. O... more
We chose this hotel because it was close to the Canterbury City Centre but far enough away with a 2 acre garden (their website said!) to relax in. The reception staff and porter were very helpful. Our room (Standard Twin) was nicely furnished (although the wardrobe door needed attention - Room 129 - and the modern washbasin had this ridiculous plug that allows water to flow away constantly! Just like the Greek hotels.) On our first night, as we were tired from travelling, we had dinner in the restaurant. The soup had to be returned as it was tasteless and our waitress immediately apologised. Then we ordered venison. This was a joke! We had two pieces about 1" square of venison and absolutely not acceptable. There was a wedding party in on our first night and we wondered if the kitchen had run out of food? We found a great pub nearby for the remainder of our stay for dinner. The breakfast was OK, but the restaurant staff seem very disorganised and the lighting is poor and no windows. Our chamber maid was very good and our room was always clean and the bed was comfy. I understand that the rooms are being refurbished at the moment and extra rooms are being built. With an improvement in the restaurant, the hotel is a useful place for a few days of exploring the historic City. Thoroughly recommend the boat trip on the River Stour, but not happy to pay £12.50 admission to the cathedral. less
abbotsgm, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
I am pleased to read your room was to your liking, although do apologise about the wardrobe door and sink plug, my maintenance team have been into that room and rectified those issues and I thank you for bringing them to my attention.
I was most saddened to read you did not enjoy dinner with us, and that the soup was not to your liking. I have spoken with the waiting team regarding the venison who inform me nothing was mentioned when the table check was done. We will always try to rectify an issue if we are made aware.
Our restaurant does not have windows as it is an internal room, there are plans as part of our refurbishment programme to relocate the restaurant to the front of the building which will remedy this. I can only apologise you found the lighting levels low, I have never had feedback of this nature but will look to see if there are ways of improving this.
Thank you also for mentioning my room attendants, they certainly do work very hard to keep the cleanliness standards that we have set out.