Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

36 New Dover Road, Canterbury, Kent, CT1 3DU, England
based on 1528 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA The AA rosette is your guarantee that a hotel takes extra special pride in its cuisine.

Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Comfort in Canterbury.

The Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel sits quietly in Canterbury, amongst 2 acres of beautiful, tranquil landscaped gardens. The hotel, as well as offering a delightful place to spend the day and night, is also the ideal base for visiting Canterbury c show more

Hotel has limited car parking spaces
The hotel accepts pets in all rooms, £15 per pet per night by prior arrangement.
Bars, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Our head chef has over 13 years' experience, some of which was spent training at Eastwell Manor and the Michelin Stared All Brighton Manor.

  • Fountain Restaurant
  • Westfield Bar

Available

Fountain Restaurant

The Fountain Restaurant enjoys a warm and welcoming atmosphere, with Gothic style decor, and delicious modern British fayre, seasonal menus, working with ethical produce sourced from local suppliers and farms. Sample from our a la carte or daily dinner menu.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Westfield Bar

Our hotel bar boasts many original features of the old house, with it's beautiful gothic windows and intimate corners creating the perfect mood for relaxation. Why not take the opportunity to sit back and enjoy our comfy sofas and sample our tasty bar food, fine wines and local ales.

Opening hours
11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

The Best Western Abbots Barton is a unique venue with rural charm and ambience set in beautiful surroundings. This country house hotel with landscaped lawns and ancient trees is conveniently situated in the heart of Canterbury, just 10 minutes walk from the city centre.

  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Events Co-ordinator on 01227 760341

Registrar

Registry office:
Kent County Council
Wellington House, St. Stephens Road, Canterbury
0845 8247400

Golf

The County of Kent is perhaps the most fortunate in Southern England with the variety and quality of it's Golf courses. Chestfield, with it's historic connections, attractive layout and it's reputation for a warm friendly welcome, is well worth a visit. It boasts a course that is an excellent test of golf, with it's undulating fairways and greens, extensive tree planting programme, coupled with magnificent views, all set in the Kent countryside.

  • Chestfield
  • Canterbury

Chestfield

The County of Kent is perhaps the most fortunate in Southern England with the variety and quality of it's Golf courses. Chestfield, with it's historic connections, attractive layout and it's reputation for a warm friendly welcome, is well worth a visit. It boasts a course that is an excellent test of golf, with it's undulating fairways and greens, extensive tree planting programme, coupled with magnificent views, all set in the Kent countryside.

6.8 miles away in Whitstable

Course information

  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Parkland/Woodland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

6208 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £30.00
Tuition Yes

Canterbury

Canterbury Golf Club is situated in a delightful woodland setting around half a mile from the hotel.
The beautiful sculpted and challenging 18 hole layout,created by renowned golf course designer Harry Colt and has been in existence since 1927.The club house overlooks the 18th hole and the first tee. A driving range open to the public, excellent practice facilities and a well stocked pro shop all contribute to make it one of the top clubs in Kent.

1.5 miles away in Littlebourne Road

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Woodland/Parkland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

71

Distance

6272 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £42.00
Tuition Yes
Driving Range £2.25

Meetings & Events

With a large meeting room and even more space outside in our 2 acre grounds we can accommodate events of all kinds and capacities. 1 on 1 interviews are just as at home here as larger events.

  • Beckett

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

With a large meeting room and even more space outside in our 2 acre grounds we can accommodate events of all kinds and capacities. 1 on 1 interviews are just as at home here as larger events.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape

Beckett

This meeting room is half the section of the Cathedral suite and will accommodate smaller conferences. It has natural daylight and air conditioning, is ideal for private dining and networking events.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Marlowe 60 40 30 30 50
Beckett 60 40 30 30 50
Garden Room 30 20 18 20 50
Cathedral Room 150 70 60 70 100

Reviews of Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 1528 reviews
Excellent 45%
Very Good 36%
Average 11%
Poor 3%
Terrible 2%
Rating

stacey a, wrote review 16/01/2020

Afternoon tea

Me and my mum visited for afternoon tea earlier this week and had a fantastic time. The reception lady was helpful and the manger was very good and polite made sure we had morw tea or coffee if we nee... more

Rating

Paul M, wrote review 13/01/2020

A Ruined Christmas 2019!

We booked a four day Christmas break with Saga at The Best Western in Canterbury 23/27 December 2019. It was without any doubt the worst hotel experience we have ever experienced in our lives. It wa... more

Owner Response
Excursion57146732589, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and for the readers this our point of view with the facts as we know them. I am very disappointed to read your review as this was not what actually happened during your stay here at Christmas. Jacqui (Saga Organiser) had informed me that you were leaving to go home due to your partner’s toothache. I understood that she had broken her tooth and she was in lot of pain so decided it was best to go home on Christmas day morning. With regards to your room not being cleaned on Christmas Eve, you had a do not disturb sign on your door which means that my housekeeping team are not allowed to enter the room and you will not want your room cleaned. I do understand Christmas Eve, one of my Duty Manager’s and receptionists did service your room and gave you new towels. On Christmas day morning I spoke with Jacqui and she did explain the reason to you why your room was not cleaned due to the do not disturb sign and your partner apologised for the way she acted and Jacqui was told to apologise to the Duty Manager and receptionist on your behalf. Your partner explained that she was in a lot of agony with her tooth and took it out on my Duty Manager. We ask all groups to either pre-order prior to their stay or pre-order upon arrival. Menu choices for every guest are then passed onto the kitchen, Duty Managers and also Jacqui (Saga Organiser) had a copy of the menu choices therefore if any guest did forget Jacqui or the Duty Manager was able to let the guest know what they were eating and give a gentle reminder. Therefore maybe if the guest or yourself would have asked this would have been sorted quickly for you. With regards to the ‘rubbish dump’ we are currently undergoing a renovation and building 23 more bedrooms therefore unfortunately some of our bedrooms do back on to the building site. Also in relation to the amount paid, whilst we cannot reveal contracted rates with SAGA, I can assure you we do not receive what you pay! Presumably your insurance would have covered the cost as well as it was a ‘medical’ reason Kind regards
Rating

p1anne, wrote review 07/01/2020

Hotel stay

Would like to say it’s the second time I’ve stayed at this hotel and can’t praise the staff enough! Also, good breakfast, nothing is too much trouble for the waiting staff and always with a smile. Goo... more

Rating

John S, wrote review 30/12/2019

Close to the City centre

Great location just a short walk (15mins) from the city and cathederal etc. Comfortable bed, hot shower and good towels. Very creaky floors. We didnt eat apart from breakfast which was adequate but no... more

Rating

240MarkH, wrote review 29/12/2019

Afternoon Tea

Just had an amazing afternoon tea at the hotel with my wife and parents. The food was beautiful and plentiful. The service was fantastic and all set in beautiful surroundings. We have had plenty of af... more

Postcard

The best British travel stories to inspire your adventures.