• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Look inside this hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Comfort in Canterbury.

The Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel sits quietly in Canterbury, amongst 2 acres of beautiful, tranquil landscaped gardens. The hotel, as well as offering a delightful place to spend the day and night, is also the ideal base for visiting Canterbury city centre itself. The Cathedral, shops and tourist attractions are all within this wonderful citys walls just a 10 minute walk away. Built in the 1830's as a private house, the hotel has lost none of it's style and charm. If anything, the homely atmosphere has only improved with age!

The Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel provides a great indoors, but those seeking adventure or relaxation in the great outdoors will be equally impressed by our location. Coastal and country walks are close-by, you can enjoy both river and sea fishing, and try something a little different with clay pigeon shooting at the local shooting range!

** Please note that there will be some building work at the back of the hotel over the next 6 months but this will cause minimal disruption to guests stay **

View more

Location

36 New Dover Road
Canterbury
Kent
CT1 3DU
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6209*
AA

Summary

Hotel has limited car parking spaces
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: Accepted by prior arrangement only at £10 per night.
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Our head chef has over 13 years' experience, some of which was spent training at Eastwell Manor and the Michelin Stared All Brighton Manor.

abbots-barton-hotel-dining-26-83796

Westfield Bar

Our hotel bar boasts many original features of the old house, with it's beautiful gothic windows and intimate corners creating the perfect mood for relaxation. Why not take the opportunity to sit back and enjoy our comfy sofas and sample our tasty bar food, fine wines and local ales.

Opening hours

11:00-23.00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Chestfield

The County of Kent is perhaps the most fortunate in Southern England with the variety and quality of it's Golf courses. Chestfield, with it's historic connections, attractive layout and it's reputation for a warm friendly welcome, is well worth a visit. It boasts a course that is an excellent test of golf, with it's undulating fairways and greens, extensive tree planting programme, coupled with magnificent views, all set in the Kent countryside.

Course information

Course Type: Parkland/Woodland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6208 Yards
No handicap required

Location

6.8 miles away in Whitstable

Facilities

Please vist; www.chestfield-golfclub.co.uk

Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £30.00
Tuition Yes

Canterbury

Canterbury Golf Club is situated in a delightful woodland setting around half a mile from the hotel.
The beautiful sculpted and challenging 18 hole layout,created by renowned golf course designer Harry Colt and has been in existence since 1927.The club house overlooks the 18th hole and the first tee. A driving range open to the public, excellent practice facilities and a well stocked pro shop all contribute to make it one of the top clubs in Kent.

Course information

Course Type: Woodland/Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6272 Yards
No handicap required

Location

1.5 miles away in Littlebourne Road

Facilities

Please vist; www.chestfield-golfclub.co.uk

Driving range
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £15.00
Tuition Yes
Driving Range £2.25

Weddings

The Best Western Abbots Barton is a unique venue with rural charm and ambience set in beautiful surroundings. This country house hotel with landscaped lawns and ancient trees is conveniently situated in the heart of Canterbury, just 10 minutes walk from the city centre.

abbots-barton-hotel-wedding-events-08-83796abbots-barton-hotel-wedding-events-09-83796abbots-barton-hotel-wedding-events-10-83796abbots-barton-hotel-wedding-events-11-83796abbots-barton-hotel-wedding-events-12-83796

Wedding service and reception venue

Whether you would prefer a traditional celebration or something more contemporary, our experienced wedding co-ordinator will be with you every step of the way to advise and guide if needed to ensure that it truly is the happiest day of your life.

Catering

From traditional sit-down wedding breakfasts, seated buffet and relaxed evening spreads to fish and chip suppers and 7-course banquets, we'll meet almost any requirement!

Honeymoon Suite

Traditional decor with a 4 poster bed, gives you a delightful honeymoon suite. The seating area for two in the Gothic tower of the room overlooks the landscaped lawns. A corner jacuzzi bath compliments the large bathroom with heated towel rail. In the bedroom there is a large flat sceen tv, hospitality tray and trouser press.

Registrar

Registry office:
Kent County Council
Wellington House, St. Stephens Road, Canterbury
0845 8247400




Contact Emma Vogle on 01227 760341

For any enquiries please call Emma Vogle on 01227 760341

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CT1 3DU

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M2, J7, 8.00 miles
Nearest train station: Canterbury East, 1.00 miles
Nearest airport: london Gatwick, 65.00 miles
Free parking on site (40 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

Address
36 New Dover Road
Canterbury
Kent
CT1 3DU
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Canterbury Rugby Club (2 miles)

  • St Lawrence Kent County Cricket Ground (0.8 miles)

  • Gillingham Football Club (28 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Canterbury Cathedral (0.5 miles)

  • Canterbury (0.5 miles)

  • Historic City Centre (0.5 miles)

  • Howletts Wild Animal Park (5 miles)

  • Marlowe Theatre (0.8 miles)

Shopping

  • Whitefriars Shopping Centre (0.5 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

abbots-barton-hotel-meeting-space-02-83796

With a large meeting room and even more space outside in our 2 acre grounds we can accommodate events of all kinds and capacities. 1 on 1 interviews are just as at home here as larger events.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Beckett

This meeting room is half the section of the Cathedral suite and will accommodate smaller conferences. It has natural daylight and air conditioning, is ideal for private dining and networking events.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Marlowe 60 40 30 30 50
Beckett 60 40 30 30 50
Garden Room 30 20 18 20 50
Cathedral Room 150 70 60 70 100
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1312 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 607
Rating: 4 475
Rating: 3 144
Rating: 2 50
Rating: 1 36
Rating

avoid room 5!

16/05/2018 Allison H, London, United Kingdom

If you are travelling solo make sure they give you a room with a double bed. Room 5 is a very old-fashioned and small room with a single bed and for some reason I couldn't work out they have tightly n... more

Owner Response
abbotsgm, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. It is always disappointing to hear we have not met our guests expectations. I have checked your booking and you had reserved a standard single room which is advertised as having a single bed. These rooms are smaller in size. Our ground floor rooms do currently have protective blue gauze over the windows, this is for health and safety reasons as these rooms are currently facing our expansion project, please accept my apologies this detracted on your stay. We always ask our guests to let us know if they have any issues or are not happy with their rooms so we can try and resolve it for you. Kind Regards.
Rating

Excellent Hotel

12/05/2018 Dave_B586, Reading, United Kingdom

The Abbots Barton Hotel is well appointed both inside and out. It's located in a relaxing setting. A short walk from the city centre & has ample free parking. The Hotel is extremely clean and comforta... more

Owner Response
abbotsgm, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are indeed currently in the process of extending the hotel, creating additional bedrooms, a new restaurant and functions space, with further plans for a spa and swimming pool. My team do work exceptionally hard to look after all of our guests, and it nice to see that there efforts are recognised, thank you for especially giving Radmila, Dean, Sarah, Oliver and Pietro a special mention, Your kind comments have been passed onto them. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards.
Rating

Invasion of privacy

05/05/2018 samuelkeyes95, Canterbury, United Kingdom

I stayed at this hotel last night on the 4th of May. I went back to the hotel after my night out in Canterbury. Both myself and my friend were unaware of our level of noise when talking and laughing.... more

Owner Response
abbotsgm, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and for the avoidance of doubt by readers and from our perspective. As I am sure you can appreciate when we receive a complaint about other guests making too much noise we must act upon it. In this particular case the complaint received from your neighbours was a bedroom with good separation and sound control ie: beds are not back to back etc, so the noise was ‘substantial’. Complaints were received in the early hours about the levels of noise that were coming from your room, indeed my night staff when investigating initially could hear you from the main stair case. Therefore, a call was made to your room to politely ask that the noise levels be reduced, a call which resulted in my night staff being hung up on. My night team will always monitor the situation once complaints have been received as to make sure it does not continue, which in this instance it did. Therefore, he knocked repeatedly on your door for a good 5 minutes without any answer although you could be heard inside, obviously with the amount of noise being made you were unable to hear him knocking at the door. As he was not able to get your attention whilst knocking he was left with no option but to gain entry. A decision that was not taken lightly, but the welfare of our other guests must also be taken into consideration as I am sure you can appreciate. You did speak with myself the following morning regarding the issue you encountered, to say I was not fussed is highly inaccurate and unfair. As was discussed with yourselves I would need to investigate what was being bought to my attention, I never said I couldn’t say what type of noise was being produced, I said the noise was being produced by yourselves, so to say the jets on the jacuzzi bath was the possible cause is not accurate. The ‘noise’ was not ‘mechanical’, let’s put it that way. I apologised continually for the things you were raising, I even offered yourselves a discounted stay on your next visit to Canterbury and would also include breakfast into the rate as you were staying on room only. A gesture I did not have to offer when it was yourselves causing the disturbances to other guests in the hotel. It is with respect for your ‘neighbours’ and no different from respecting your neighbours where you live, a hotel is no different and we will always enforce unsociable behaviour action for the benefit of the majority without being disrespecting, if you choose to ignore this we will always reserve the right to terminate your residence with us, which we chose not to do with yourselves.
Rating

A very traditional hotel

30/04/2018 Bon444, Dorchester, United Kingdom

The location is good with sufficient car parking when we visited and only a ten minute walk into the city centre so you have no need to take the car if that’s where you’re heading.. Set in large grou... more

Owner Response
abbotsgm, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are currently undergoing a major refurbishment programme, we hope to have our new bedrooms online by the end of the year, with our existing bedroom stock due to be fully refurbished once these new rooms come online. I am however please you found your room comfortable and spacious. The clock is built into the televisions and can be found at the bottom of the set. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast offerings and pleased you enjoyed what we have to offer, apologies though that the coffee was not to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Canterbury. Kind Regards
Rating

Lovely Hotel

30/04/2018 Anna A,

Stayed here for a weekend break, and was not disappointed. Such a lovely, clean hotel with very friendly staff. Just about a 5 minute walk from the town centre, so its very convenient. Comfortable bed... more

Owner Response
abbotsgm, Manager at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was convenient for your needs. I am pleased you found all my team friendly and our beds comfortable. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards