Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

36 New Dover Road, Canterbury, Kent, CT1 3DU, England
based on 1595 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA

Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Comfort in Canterbury.

The Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel sits quietly in Canterbury, amongst 2 acres of beautiful, tranquil landscaped gardens. The hotel, as well as offering a delightful place to spend the day and night, is also the ideal base for visiting Canterbury c show more

Pets accepted in all rooms £15 per pet per night by prior arrangement.
Hotel staff wear PPE and face masks. Guests are asked to wear face masks on arrival and in public areas. NHS check in signage at hotel entrance. Additional information can be found on our website.
Due to COVID-19 we give guests the choice how frequently they would like their room to be serviced. This information should be provided at check in or pre-arrival.
A small cold buffet breakfast with reduced touchpoints is currently in operation, table service will be provided for hot breakfast. Pre-booking is required for Breakfast and Evening meals.
24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Free WIFI, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, No Lift
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets accepted
By prior arrangement at 15 GBP per pet, per night.
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

COVID Safety

We have taken extra steps to ensure your health and safety during your stay at our hotel. Click here for further details

36 New Dover Road, Canterbury, Kent, CT1 3DU, England
What 3 Words: ///woof.ends.skill

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

  • Fountain Restaurant
  • Westfield Bar

Available

Fountain Restaurant

The Fountain Restaurant enjoys a warm and welcoming atmosphere, with Gothic style decor, and delicious modern British fayre, seasonal menus, working with ethical produce sourced from local suppliers and farms. Sample from our a la carte or daily dinner menu.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Westfield Bar

Our hotel bar boasts many original features of the old house, with it's beautiful gothic windows and intimate corners creating the perfect mood for relaxation. Why not take the opportunity to sit back and enjoy our comfy sofas and sample our tasty bar food, fine wines and local ales.

Opening hours
11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

The Best Western Abbots Barton is a unique venue with rural charm and ambience set in beautiful surroundings. This country house hotel with landscaped lawns and ancient trees is conveniently situated in the heart of Canterbury, just 10 minutes walk from the city centre.

For any enquiries please call Events Co-ordinator on 01227 760341

Registrar

Registry office:
Kent County Council
Wellington House, St. Stephens Road, Canterbury
0845 8247400

Golf Off Site

The County of Kent is perhaps the most fortunate in Southern England with the variety and quality of it's Golf courses. Chestfield, with it's historic connections, attractive layout and it's reputation for a warm friendly welcome, is well worth a visit. It boasts a course that is an excellent test of golf, with it's undulating fairways and greens, extensive tree planting programme, coupled with magnificent views, all set in the Kent countryside.

  • Chestfield
  • Canterbury

Chestfield

From London direction leave the M2, continue straight on to the A299 towards Whitstable. As you approach the outskirts of Whitstable take the slip road signposted A2990. Go through 4 roundabouts until you reach Chestfield Railway Station on your left. Take the 3rd exit from this roundabout and drive along Chestfield Road towards Canterbury. The Club is situated approximately 1 mile along this road on the left hand side.

6.8 miles away in Whitstable

Course information

  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Parkland/Woodland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

6208 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

18 holes £30.00
Tuition Yes

Canterbury

Canterbury Golf Club is located just outside the City Centre on the A235 Littlebourne Road in the direction of Sandwich. You will pass a large Army Barracks on your left and about 200 metres past this, the Club is located on the left opposite the Bekesbourne junction.

1.5 miles away in Littlebourne Road

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Woodland/Parkland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

71

Distance

6272 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

18 holes £42.00
Tuition Yes
Driving Range £2.25

Meetings & Events

With a large meeting room and even more space outside in our 2 acre grounds we can accommodate events of all kinds and capacities. 1 on 1 interviews are just as at home here as larger events.

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

With a large meeting room and even more space outside in our 2 acre grounds we can accommodate events of all kinds and capacities. 1 on 1 interviews are just as at home here as larger events.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape

Beckett

This meeting room is half the section of the Cathedral suite and will accommodate smaller conferences. It has natural daylight and air conditioning, is ideal for private dining and networking events.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Marlowe 60 40 30 30 50
Beckett 60 40 30 30 50
Garden Room 30 20 18 20 50
Cathedral Room 150 70 60 70 100

Reviews of Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 1595 reviews
Excellent 44%
Very Good 36%
Average 11%
Poor 4%
Terrible 2%
Rating

149gemmao, wrote review 10/10/2021

Lovely but to quiet.

Friendly welcome by staff but we were the only ones in the whole dining area. Afternoon tea was lovely… and warm scones were so light & delicious! Very traditional hotel, clean & tidy. The sound of ... more

Owner Response
Mark Cotman, Other at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you had a lovely afternoon tea with us and thank you for your comments for the staff, they appreciate it. One correction we do not have refugees with us they are part of the ARAP Government programme which is very different, and they are British citizens. Disappointing of course to see a mark down because of being quiet, but to give a rationale we are winding down our offering as we approach December as we are having the lounges, reception and the bar totally refurbished, sorry if that decision affected your visit. Perhaps see you in busier times :)
Rating

Michelle H, wrote review 22/08/2021

Nice room

My husband and I initially booked this hotel for 3 nights with my 2 dogs. Unfortunately, 2 of the nights were cancelled at the last minute and we had to reduce our stay as we were visiting my grandch... more

Rating

Rayo_101x, wrote review 22/08/2021

Reservation cancelled due to Afghan Crisis. Terrible customer service

Cancelled our reservation due to the Afghan Crisis. Avoid if there is any worldwide crisis taking place. Terrible service from this hotel. We made this reservation in good faith. Cancelling it lik... more

Owner Response
Mark Cotman, Other at Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. You are 100% correct that we are assisting the Afghan Relocation Programme at present. Not planned of course as I am sure you can appreciate. Probably wise that we won't comment further at present (!)
Rating

410markd410, wrote review 22/08/2021

Comfortable stay

Had a two night stay in August. A nice hotel in a great location for visiting Canterbury, the cathedral is a 10 minute walk away. Car parking was plentiful and free. The room had everything we require... more

Rating

Ian S, wrote review 21/08/2021

Comfortable hotel in a fair location

The hotel had just heard that it was being taken over for Afghan refugees when I arrived and I was told that the 5 nights I had booked were now 4. When that was sorted out I quite liked staying there.... more

Postcard

The best British travel stories to inspire your adventures.