Searching for the 4 stars.
08/01/2019 Trampstruffles, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
We picked The Bull as we had received a Peel Hotel Gold voucher as a present. We had stayed at another Peel Hotel two years ago in Carlisle and had a great stay, so we were looking forward to this tri... more
We picked The Bull as we had received a Peel Hotel Gold voucher as a present. We had stayed at another Peel Hotel two years ago in Carlisle and had a great stay, so we were looking forward to this trip.
Things didn't start well at reception when, despite being presented with the Gold voucher and a letter detailing the booking confirmation, the receptionist looked at her screen for a while, muttered 'oh' and offered an excuse me as she headed for a room behind her. She re-appeared and printed out the room details with no explanation offered regarding the earlier problem.
The room was in the original building overlooking the street below. Initially there was an unpleasant odour in the room (which we subsequently picked up on in parts of the bar below), but this was solved by shutting the window. Our booking was for an executive room, but was on the small side although equipped with robes, slippers and a safe. The bed was comfortable and the shower powerful and easily adjusted. However, apart from the last morning we were there, we had luke warm water out of the basin tap when set at cold.
We ate in the hotel brasserie on both nights as we were staying on a dinner b&b deal and booked a table for 7.30pm each night.
On the first night the table we were seated at only had one knife and fork each and these disappeared along with the finished starter plates. The main course was served, followed by another knife and fork, similarly with the sweet. The food was delicious and the service prompt, but at no point were we offered a bread roll as other tables were.
On the second night the slick service we had experienced the previous night hit the buffers. An nearby table was occupied 15 minutes after we had ordered yet were served their starter before us (from us being seated to being served the starters took 40 minutes). We were asked if we wanted bread rolls to which we said yes. None arrived. Some time later another waiter asked us if we would like some bread rolls!! We explained we had already been asked some time ago and were waiting for them.
Mains were served in a timely way and we subsequently ordered sweet. Then we waited and waited and waited....... A female waitress eventually asked us if we were OK and we explained we had ordered sweet over 20 minutes ago. After a further 10 minutes it was finally served. When we stayed at the Peel hotel in Carlisle we were offered a table d'hote menu together with the a la carte for which there was an allowance on the dinner b&b deal. Only a table d'hote menu was offered at The Bull.
On the first night my wife asked for a Remy Martin brandy and was told they only had Corvassier. On the second night while at the bar she noticed a bottle of Hennessey and a bottle of Martel. Maybe they push the Corvassier because it's on an optic. On both occassions she was asked if she wanted ice - in a brandy! Note to hotel - brandy should be served at room temperature with the recommendation that you warm the glass in your hands for a few minutes before drinking. If you're lucky, someone who knows what they are doing pre-warms the glass (take a bow Hillthwaite Hall Windermere 3 star hotel!!).
The cooked breakfast on both mornings was a disappointment in that the items are displayed buffet style in dishes under lamps and served by a waitress. Unfortunately elements were either luke warm or stone cold, not helped by being served on cold plates. We were seated at breakfast at 8.05am on the second morning, 5 minutes after the start time, so you have to wonder how long the various items were sitting in the dishes.
The issues above are easy fixes and not what I expected from a 4 star hotel. The stay was a catalogue of inconsistences, and an investment in staff training would be beneficial.
I have to say we struggled to understand what warranted 4 stars.
BullHotelPeterboro, General Manager at The Bull Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, may I say that considering you say that you have had so many issues during the course of your stay, t it is very surprising to me that you did not consider it necessary to report any of these at any point during the course of your stay, which would have enabled us to take positive action while you were in our care.
In response to your comment, "searching for the 4 stars", let me assure you that we worked very hard to achieve this recommendation, and continue to work extremely hard to maintain the standards necessary to be recognized.
We are all hard working and genuinely care about looking after our very many guests that use our facilities each year.
I will share your comments with all members of the team and assure you that we are committed to improving our performance at all times.