Best Western University Inn

3801 McFarland Boulevard E, Tuscaloosa, Alabama, 35405-2403, United States
based on 562 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
rating TBC

Best Western University Inn

Guest at the Best Western University Inn is conveniently located to key area attractions in Tuscaloosa Alabama that are rich in history and traditions. Including The University of Alabama, Bryant Denny Stadium, Denny Chimes, Alabama Museum of Natural show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out15:00:00 | 11:00:00

Reviews of Best Western University Inn

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 562 reviews
Excellent 45%
Very Good 30%
Average 12%
Poor 5%
Terrible 5%
Rating

Stephanie N, wrote review 28/12/2019

Clean and friendly

I had read some bad reviews online regarding this hotel's cleanliness and almost didn't stop here. Being tired from driving, we did stop and found it to be very clean. So don't always believe what you... more

Rating

fidlstrings, wrote review 20/12/2019

Convenient, close to activity without all the traffic, Great breakfast

Very pleased to find the BW on the weekend of graduation.. It was a perfect fit. We were only a few minutes away from the University and close to Food and Gas. The staff was very helpful, the rooms ... more

Rating

liveinwny, wrote review 28/10/2019

This used to be our go to hotel in Tuscaloosa.

My son has been at UA for 4 years. We have stayed here MANY times over the years and really thought it was nice and clean with a very friendly staff. I just cannot figure out what happened. I reser... more

Owner Response
AngieC2727, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to give our guests superior customer service. i am actually shocked to hear your issues because we do not have complaints of this nature. If a guest has a DND sign on their door housekeeping cannot enter, so if you needed extra towels etc that was the only thing you could do was to ask front desk. As far as another guest smoking outside, we have no control over that. We have smoking stations all around the property for our guests who smoke. Again, I apologize that you were not pleased with this stay, as it sounds like you have always been pleased in the past because you continue to choose us, and we thank you for that...We hope that you will choose us again seeing as how you know that these issues are not normal for our property. Again thank you for staying with us.
Rating

MaryKDonoh, wrote review 27/10/2019

Terrible Hotel

We booked this hotel for a 3-night stay. Room cost $299/night. Smelled moldy when we checked in. Room did not get made up for 2 days, and despite complaining, they said “there is nothing we can do ... more

Owner Response
AngieC2727, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us. If there is a DND sign on a guests room housekeeping will not enter. Our staff goes out of their way to accommodate all of our guests especially on high demand days. Again I apologize that you did not enjoy your visit with us. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you for choosing us.
Rating

roni826, wrote review 23/10/2019

The Worst!

Sorry for the long rant but you should know how horrible this place is! This was the absolute worst! I’ve never encountered such poor customer service in my life!! I wouldn’t stay here for free!!... more

Owner Response
AngieC2727, General Manager at Best Western University Inn, responded to this review
I would like to say first of all thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit as we always go out of our way to insure our guests have a wonderful visit with us. I would like to say that the issues you have listed are shocking as we always get raving reviews on our staff, breakfast and cleanliness of our property. Your initial reservation was for a double smoking room made through a third party for Friday-Sunday and the second reservation was for a double nonsmoking for Thursday night at our front desk. Upon your arrival Thursday we explained to you that if we had a double nonsmoking become available we would be more than happy to move you. I sent our maintenance to the room you had to move to and oxidized it. You actually thanked my staff for all they did to help and accommodate you. The smoke alarm issue, if you called front desk this night, it was high demand and they were busy checking in other guests. My front desk agent was looking for a battery because all she was told initially was that the alarm was beeping. When she came to the room there was no evidence of fire, that is why all involved said it was dust. Our rooms are equipped with sensors that would have notified the front desk and the local fire department if there had been fire present. We are sorry that you had to move but Seeing as how this was around midnight the only logical resolution was to move you, maintenance does not live on property. Upon your departure, we heard my front desk manager apologize multiple times for the inconveniences of your stay. To say that no one care, no one apologized is a bit harsh as i think our staff went beyond the call of duty to accommodate and to help you. If you have any other questions please feel free to call the hotel directly