08/01/2017 bucketlistman2014, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
We made a special trip to assess this hotel for either a meal alone or even to stay there. As when we entered the main entrance door the smell in the air was most unpleasant and frankly smelt of decay... more
We made a special trip to assess this hotel for either a meal alone or even to stay there. As when we entered the main entrance door the smell in the air was most unpleasant and frankly smelt of decaying dirt or even food: we decided only to chance a coffee. So we asked to see the menus and the very enthusiastic young lady gave us many menus covering various aspects and she for example informed us that the Indian offerings came from a separate Indian chef/kitchen and as such was very authentic.
So in fairness we cannot comment on the hotel accommodation or food as we only settled for a coffee but we can comment on all of the following:
1) The reception and side bar areas looked rather tatty and the bar carpet was incredibly stained with droppings of food all around - disgusting actually.
2) We had two latte coffees. My wife managed to drink hers. I could not - I had a few sips and it tasted really bad. Hardly a taste of coffee at all - so I left three quarters of it. Cost for two coffees was around £5 and mine was undrinkable.
3) The awful smell throughout where we walked was the worst thing.
4) There was one kind of side room that looked much better but was sectioned-off and I would guess was a group sitting area (maybe for special events like maybe birthday or wedding parties).
In conclusion - just because of the smell and the general look of run-downness and dirty carpets etc. I would never wish to eat or stay there.
It was a Friday afternoon in January 2017 and only one couple could be seen anywhere dining and I assume that they were residents and found it convenient but the lack of other clients suggested this was a very unpopular venue! less
bestwesternv, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel, responded to this review
We welcome all comments from our customers both positive and negative, without these we cannot begin to improve and exceed our customer expectations.
However after reading your comments, I cannot do anything but feel these are quite unnecessary and untrue. After reading other reviews posted by yourself I can see you are obviously a very seasoned, professional reviewer!!
I read that you made a special trip to assess our hotel, (I am sure one of the reasons you came to assess was because of the numerous positive reviews about our hotel, our food and our service)
You may or may not be aware that we, like many other popular establishments have been exceptionally busy over the December period.
After some investigating I am now led to believe that you arrived at the Hotel after our lunchtime service had finished on Friday Afternoon. Just so you are aware when we finish serving food most of our customers go home or back to work, hence the lack of customers at that particular time.
We had just finished a busy lunch shift and lo and behold people spill food bits etc on the floor. Our hard working staff clean up all this in the afternoon then prepare for another busy evening shift.
The smell of food you say you smelt would be either remnants of the Lunchtime Service or preparation of some of our many delightful choices on our evening menu. To walk into an eating establishment and not smell food cooking, would indicate to me that a microwave was used for cooking and defrosting their food!! (Not our style, whatsoever!!!)
You also comment that the reception and side bar looked tatty can I ask the question were you actually at The Vine Hotel in Skegness? The reception area underwent a major refurbishment last year and is under no circumstance tatty. Even during extreme busy periods no area of our hotel looks tatty!!..I would also like to ask (side bar?) can you be a little more specific please. We have two Bar Areas which are by no means on the side, they face onto the Front of the Hotel, do you mean these? If so then as previously stated after a busy lunch service then there may be some mess, which I can assure you is cleaned up as soon as convenient.
On the day in question we had in fact had some of our carpets cleaned which is standard procedure after a busy December. In fact all of our carpets are cleaned on a regular basis just for the record and there would have been a smell of damp in the air.
In conclusion – because of your derogatory and distorted review of our establishment we would not want you to eat or stay here. From a brief encounter into the hotel on a Friday afternoon in January I feel you are in no position to make such comments.
I can assure you that we are by no means “a very unpopular venue”, quite the contrary we are very popular venue with loyal, regular customers which we appreciate fully
With regard to the coffee, you are the first people to comment that it is undrinkable, we use the finest coffee beans and our speciality coffees are very popular. I will have to taste this for myself again as I and many of the management drink quality coffee on a regular basis!!!