Best Western Scores Hotel

76 The Scores, St Andrews, Fife, KY16 9BB, Scotland
based on 840 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA / VS

Best Western Scores Hotel

Best Western Scores Hotel.

The Best Western Scores Hotel is one of the best placed Hotels in St Andrew's, closest to the 1st tee of the world-famous Old Course of St Andrews. Even if golf is not your game, the hotel still proves idyllic as youre sure to be taken aback by panor show more

24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Lift to all floors, Restaurants
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00
76 The Scores, St Andrews, Fife, KY16 9BB, Scotland
What 3 Words: somewhere.funds.elections

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

  • Alexanders
  • Champions Grill
  • Chariots Bar
  • Scorecard Bar

Alexanders

Reflecting the Victorian style of our delightful hotel, this formal dining room boasts crisp white linen and gold-plated chandeliers. A picture window with sea views and a tempting menu both set the mood for seafood, whilst beautiful presentation and faultless taste are to be expected on your plate.
**Opening Soon!**

Opening hours
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Champions Grill

The Champions Grill has it all. A bright, spacious environment, 9 picture windows overlooking the West Sands and the Old Course, informal dining, coffee shop facilities, as well as traditional grills including steaks and local fish and chips. The best news is you can enjoy this all day long!

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00
Lunch: 11:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 17:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Chariots Bar

Take some time out on our gorgeous Victorian bench seating, as you admire our collection of memorabilia and enjoy a dram or two of whisky. We also serve light bites and bar snacks, if you're a craving something a little smaller, but equally enjoyable.

Opening hours
11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Scorecard Bar

Our themed bar boasts original scorecards from Open Champions and world famous golfers. You can enjoy the spectacular sea views and our collection of memorabilia with a dram or two of whisky!

Opening hours
10:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

We at Best Western understand your wedding is the most important day of your life, thus offer great value for money in a magnificent setting. With a range of fixed price and all-inclusive packages to choose from, you can have the day of your dreams without breaking the bank.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Honeymoon Suite
  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Events Team on 01334 472451

Wedding service and reception venue

Our secluded gardens and terraces are sheltered by high natural stone walls, making it the perfect place to take photos and meet your guests over a glass of Champagne. There is a wide choice of fixed and all-inclusive menus, and drink packages to suit all tastes at this seaside wedding venue. When it comes to the evening reception, although we don't provide in-house entertainment we'll gladly help you arrange anything from DJs to Ceilidh bands or Cabarets.

Catering

We'll be happy to discuss your needs, and you'll be happy to see our range of fixed price packages. If you prefer, use our menu selector to build the perfect, bespoke meal that matches your tastes or caters to your dietary requirements. We can cater up to 140 guests on banqueting tables, or 120 guests on round tables, for a sit down meal. Whatever you choose, you can be sure it will be thoroughly enjoyed at one of the most gorgeous wedding venues in St Andrews.

Honeymoon Suite

With our best compliments the bride and groom can enjoy the finest room in the house, with spectacular views over the West Sands beach enjoyed directly from their lounge and bedroom. The room provides the perfect romantic escape after celebrating with your nearest and dearest throughout the day. Special accommodation rates are also available for wedding guests.

Registrar

Registry office:
Fife Council
St Mary's Place, St Andrews, KY16 9UY
0845 155 077

Additional Information

3 Course Menu
Drinks Package
Evening Buffet
Menu Tasting for Bride and Groom
Red Carpet
Table Linen and Napkins
Ceremonial Sword and Cake Stand
Chair Covers and Sashes
Floral Decorations for Top Table
Stationary (Menus & Place Cards)
Private Bar
Bridal Suite for Bride and Groom
Preferential Room Rates for Attending Guests Onsite Wedding Co-ordinator

Golf Off Site

The Old Course is renowned as 'The Home of Golf', where golf was first played 600 years ago. With 11 course in the immediate area, the course stretches over 6721 yards with a par of 72. Panoramic views are to be expected, to create the perfect setting. Handicap certificate required.

  • Old Course
  • Jubilee and New Courses

Old Course

The first tee of this world famous course is 75 yards from the front door of the hotel - so only a short pitch away!

0.1 miles away in St Andrews

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72

Distance

6721 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

18 holes £155.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £30.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £35.00
Driving Range £1.80

Jubilee and New Courses

The first tee of both courses are for the Links Clubhouse at the West Sands which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

0.5 miles away in St Andrews

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72 and 71

Distance

6742 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

18 holes £75.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £30.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £35.00
Driving Range £1.80

Meetings & Events

Garden Suite
This suite can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and confe...

  • Garden Suite
  • Patio Room

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Garden Suite
This suite can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and conferences. With wonderfully large windows, the room is full of natural daylight and lovely views of the gardens and terraces.

Patio Room
The Patio room is the ideal venue for smaller meetings holding up to 20 people boardroom style and 30 people theatre style. Again, this room boasts plenty of natural light and gorgeous views of the hotel grounds.

Delegate packages
A variety of delegate packages are also available, dependent on your needs. We ensure value for money, and include everything - such as food, refreshments and technical equipment - to keep motivation and enjoyment high, and guarantee a successful day.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape

Garden Suite

Can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and conferences.

Patio Room

The Patio Room is the ideal venue for smaller meetings holding up to 20 people boardroom style and 30 people theatre style.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Garden Suite 180 60 60 40 160
Patio Room 0 12 0 20 20

Reviews of Best Western Scores Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 840 reviews
Excellent 44%
Very Good 33%
Average 12%
Poor 5%
Terrible 4%
Rating

C G, wrote review 11/09/2021

faded beauty

This BW is changing hands and being refurbished, and it really needs it! Doors that don't close properly, windows where the sash cord have been used to secure the said windows. Generally not feeling l... more

Rating

Alandu_Audlem, wrote review 01/09/2021

Great location and very friendly staff

Good place to stay when visiting the beautiful town of St Andrews. Fantastic views of the West Sands and located close to the town centre, castle, abbey and harbour. COVID related staffing issues me... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
From everyone at the Scores, thank you so much. St Andrews is a lovely small town and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will return to the hotel after it's refurbishment. many, many thanks Molly
Rating

irenewY993QC, wrote review 30/08/2021

Wedding meal/reception

We had our wedding meal and reception at The Scores Hotel and we cannot thank Molly and staff enough. Molly was fantastic helping us organise our day and went above and beyond to make sure everything ... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you so much! We really enjoyed your special day, it was fun seeing such a great group of people enjoying themselves, loved the Singing waiters, they really got everyone on their feet! Thank you for all your lovely comments and your lovely card, it's such a morale booster for the staff in this very difficult past two years. I know you will have a wonderful life together and thanks again for choosing the Scores kind regards Molly
Rating

farquarson72, wrote review 06/08/2021

Needs the refurb

A very tired and dark hotel in need of updating. The reception area was dark, our room was bleak with all pictures removed. Toilet and towels were dirty. Breakfast was OK, but lots of new staff learn... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to send your review. We are sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations . The hotel is closing in October to undergo a major refurbishment. We hope you will pay a return visit in 2023 when the hotel reopens.
Rating

Shauna M, wrote review 25/07/2021

Very clean hotel in an excellent locqtion although could use an update

I was concerned after reading recent reviews however need not have worried and listed the positives and negatives below: The hotel is in a fantastic location in the heart of st andrews. The view from... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your positive review. I have passed your comments on to our team who appreciate your support.. The hotel looks forward to welcoming you back after the refurbishment. Glad you enjoyed your stay, it's nice to be able to go somewhere different for change! kind regards Molly

Postcard

The best British travel stories to inspire your adventures.