Best Western Scores Hotel

76 The Scores, St Andrews, Fife, KY16 9BB, Scotland
based on 799 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA / VS

Best Western Scores Hotel

Best Western Scores Hotel.

The Best Western Scores Hotel is one of the best placed Hotels in St Andrew's, closest to the 1st tee of the world-famous Old Course of St Andrews. Even if golf is not your game, the hotel still proves idyllic as youre sure to be taken aback by panor show more

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Lift to all floors, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

  • Alexanders
  • Champions Grill
  • Chariots Bar
  • Scorecard Bar

Available

Alexanders

Reflecting the Victorian style of our delightful hotel, this formal dining room boasts crisp white linen and gold-plated chandeliers. A picture window with sea views and a tempting menu both set the mood for seafood, whilst beautiful presentation and faultless taste are to be expected on your plate.
**Opening Soon!**

Opening hours
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Champions Grill

The Champions Grill has it all. A bright, spacious environment, 9 picture windows overlooking the West Sands and the Old Course, informal dining, coffee shop facilities, as well as traditional grills including steaks and local fish and chips. The best news is you can enjoy this all day long!

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00
Lunch: 11:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 17:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Chariots Bar

Take some time out on our gorgeous Victorian bench seating, as you admire our collection of memorabilia and enjoy a dram or two of whisky. We also serve light bites and bar snacks, if you're a craving something a little smaller, but equally enjoyable.

Opening hours
11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Scorecard Bar

Our themed bar boasts original scorecards from Open Champions and world famous golfers. You can enjoy the spectacular sea views and our collection of memorabilia with a dram or two of whisky!

Opening hours
10:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

We at Best Western understand your wedding is the most important day of your life, thus offer great value for money in a magnificent setting. With a range of fixed price and all-inclusive packages to choose from, you can have the day of your dreams without breaking the bank.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Honeymoon Suite
  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Events Team on 01334 472451

Wedding service and reception venue

Our secluded gardens and terraces are sheltered by high natural stone walls, making it the perfect place to take photos and meet your guests over a glass of Champagne. There is a wide choice of fixed and all-inclusive menus, and drink packages to suit all tastes at this seaside wedding venue. When it comes to the evening reception, although we don't provide in-house entertainment we'll gladly help you arrange anything from DJs to Ceilidh bands or Cabarets.

Catering

We'll be happy to discuss your needs, and you'll be happy to see our range of fixed price packages. If you prefer, use our menu selector to build the perfect, bespoke meal that matches your tastes or caters to your dietary requirements. We can cater up to 140 guests on banqueting tables, or 120 guests on round tables, for a sit down meal. Whatever you choose, you can be sure it will be thoroughly enjoyed at one of the most gorgeous wedding venues in St Andrews.

Honeymoon Suite

With our best compliments the bride and groom can enjoy the finest room in the house, with spectacular views over the West Sands beach enjoyed directly from their lounge and bedroom. The room provides the perfect romantic escape after celebrating with your nearest and dearest throughout the day. Special accommodation rates are also available for wedding guests.

Registrar

Registry office:
Fife Council
St Mary's Place, St Andrews, KY16 9UY
0845 155 077

Additional Information

3 Course Menu
Drinks Package
Evening Buffet
Menu Tasting for Bride and Groom
Red Carpet
Table Linen and Napkins
Ceremonial Sword and Cake Stand
Chair Covers and Sashes
Floral Decorations for Top Table
Stationary (Menus & Place Cards)
Private Bar
Bridal Suite for Bride and Groom
Preferential Room Rates for Attending Guests Onsite Wedding Co-ordinator

Golf

The Old Course is renowned as 'The Home of Golf', where golf was first played 600 years ago. With 11 course in the immediate area, the course stretches over 6721 yards with a par of 72. Panoramic views are to be expected, to create the perfect setting. Handicap certificate required.

  • Old Course
  • Jubilee and New Courses

Old Course

The Old Course is renowned as 'The Home of Golf', where golf was first played 600 years ago. With 11 course in the immediate area, the course stretches over 6721 yards with a par of 72. Panoramic views are to be expected, to create the perfect setting. Handicap certificate required.

0.1 miles away in St Andrews

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72

Distance

6721 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £155.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £30.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £35.00
Driving Range £1.80

Jubilee and New Courses

Jubilee Course is 6742 yards with a par 72. It is another championship links course thats over 100 years old, and is a venue for both amateur and mid-amateur championships. New Course is 6625 yards and is a par 71. It was laid out by Old Tom Morris and opened in 1895.

0.5 miles away in St Andrews

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72 and 71

Distance

6742 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £75.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £30.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £35.00
Driving Range £1.80

Meetings & Events

Garden Suite
This suite can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and confe...

  • Garden Suite
  • Patio Room

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Garden Suite
This suite can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and conferences. With wonderfully large windows, the room is full of natural daylight and lovely views of the gardens and terraces.

Patio Room
The Patio room is the ideal venue for smaller meetings holding up to 20 people boardroom style and 30 people theatre style. Again, this room boasts plenty of natural light and gorgeous views of the hotel grounds.

Delegate packages
A variety of delegate packages are also available, dependent on your needs. We ensure value for money, and include everything - such as food, refreshments and technical equipment - to keep motivation and enjoyment high, and guarantee a successful day.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape

Garden Suite

Can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and conferences.

Patio Room

The Patio Room is the ideal venue for smaller meetings holding up to 20 people boardroom style and 30 people theatre style.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Garden Suite 180 60 60 40 160
Patio Room 0 12 0 20 20

Reviews of Best Western Scores Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 799 reviews
Excellent 44%
Very Good 33%
Average 12%
Poor 5%
Terrible 4%
Rating

Smade67, wrote review 27/01/2020

Old school charm and hospitality

Love this hotel. So warm and cosy and the staff are fantastic. Great rooms, though some bathrooms a little dated. It’s become our new favourite after trying a few of the others and is now our first ch... more

Rating

xxfoodguruxx, wrote review 11/11/2019

Lovely food and staff

I cam here with my friend just for a meal with a lovely view which was spectacular, we were greeted by a lovely chap named Harry. He took our order very quickly. The food arrived and it was spectacula... more

Owner Response
bwscoresstandrews, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you so much for the kind review. We have passed your comments to Harry and our kitchen team. Please come back again soon! regards Molly
Rating

DavidNJ27, wrote review 05/11/2019

Very convenient to golf courses

Very comfortable, well-managed hotel. Reception personnel, food servers, bartenders, all gave top notch service. Easy walk across the street to Old and New Courses. Convenient club storage on ground f... more

Owner Response
bwscoresstandrews, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Many thanks for your lovely review - it's now pinned on our staff notice board , we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon regards Molly
Rating

graynivram, wrote review 02/11/2019

Poor service

Rooms were lovely, friendly staff..: It was the breakfast service which needs a lot of attention. I previously asked for soya milk as my daughter can’t have dairy, wouldn’t be a problem!!! Came down ... more

Owner Response
bwscoresstandrews, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Many thanks for your review. I am disappointed that we did not get your breakfast service right, especially because you mention that you were otherwise pleased with your stay. None of the problems you encountered should have happened, avoidable mistakes are always disappointing because they are just that - avoidable! Our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered , hopefully you will consider a return visit and we look forward to seeing you again regards Molly
Rating

tully425, wrote review 28/10/2019

Great location and value hotel

You cannot best the views and the location for this lovely hotel. It’s less than 10 minutes walk to the heart of the town and if you are a golfer, it overlooks the 18th hole. rooms are large with high... more

Owner Response
bwscoresstandrews, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
thank you so much for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon ! kind regards Molly