• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Scores Hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Scores Hotel.

The Best Western Scores Hotel is one of the best placed Hotels in St Andrew's, closest to the 1st tee of the world-famous Old Course of St Andrews. Even if golf is not your game, the hotel still proves idyllic as youre sure to be taken aback by panoramic views of the West Sands and St Andrews Bay. Just a 5-minute walk will take you into St Andrews city centre where you'll be greeted by many of its famous, historic sites. These include St Salvator's Church, a 12th century cathedral, a 13th century castle and many of the stunning St Andrews University buildings (the oldest University in Scotland).

Much in line with the historic elegance found in the city centre, the hotel itself boasts its own gorgeous Victorian architecture, so there's plenty of the past to take in. The hotel was originally an 1880's townhouse, whilst most of the former drawing rooms are now used as Junior suites. The hotel has 36 comfortable bedrooms, many of which promise breath-taking views of the West Sands, or overlook the hotels spacious gardens and terraces. With such elegance inside and out, the hotel guarantees a charming and comfortable stay.

When dining at the Best Western Scores hotel you can expect the same impeccable standards seen in the grounds and interior. There are three possible locations to eat at, including a formal and exquisite restaurant and two relaxed and inviting bar areas. No matter where you chose to dine, we guarantee you'll be greeted by first-class staff. (If you appreciate a recommendation, we'd have to say the lobster served in our restaurant, as its the best around.)

View more

Location

76 The Scores
St Andrews
Fife
KY16 9BB
Scotland
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6071*
AA/VS

Summary

Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to all floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

scores-hotel-dining-32-83405

Alexanders

Reflecting the Victorian style of our delightful hotel, this formal dining room boasts crisp white linen and gold-plated chandeliers. A picture window with sea views and a tempting menu both set the mood for seafood, whilst beautiful presentation and faultless taste are to be expected on your plate.
**Opening Soon!**

Opening hours

Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
scores-hotel-dining-37-83405

Champions Grill

The Champions Grill has it all. A bright, spacious environment, 9 picture windows overlooking the West Sands and the Old Course, informal dining, coffee shop facilities, as well as traditional grills including steaks and local fish and chips. The best news is you can enjoy this all day long!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00
Lunch: 11:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 17:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary
blank image

Chariots Bar

Take some time out on our gorgeous Victorian bench seating, as you admire our collection of memorabilia and enjoy a dram or two of whisky. We also serve light bites and bar snacks, if you're a craving something a little smaller, but equally enjoyable.

Opening hours

11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary
scores-hotel-leisure-04-83405

Scorecard Bar

Our themed bar boasts original scorecards from Open Champions and world famous golfers. You can enjoy the spectacular sea views and our collection of memorabilia with a dram or two of whisky!

Opening hours

10:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Old Course

The Old Course is renowned as 'The Home of Golf', where golf was first played 600 years ago. With 11 course in the immediate area, the course stretches over 6721 yards with a par of 72. Panoramic views are to be expected, to create the perfect setting. Handicap certificate required.

Course information

Course Type: Links
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6721 Yards
Handicap required

Location

0.1 miles away in St Andrews

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £155.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £30.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £35.00
Driving Range £1.80

Jubilee and New Courses

Jubilee Course is 6742 yards with a par 72. It is another championship links course thats over 100 years old, and is a venue for both amateur and mid-amateur championships. New Course is 6625 yards and is a par 71. It was laid out by Old Tom Morris and opened in 1895.

Course information

Course Type: Links
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72 and 71
Distance: 6742 Yards
No handicap required

Location

0.5 miles away in St Andrews

Facilities

Driving range
Practice ground golf facilities
Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £75.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £30.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £35.00
Driving Range £1.80

Weddings

We at Best Western understand your wedding is the most important day of your life, thus offer great value for money in a magnificent setting. With a range of fixed price and all-inclusive packages to choose from, you can have the day of your dreams without breaking the bank.

scores-hotel-wedding-events-10-83405scores-hotel-wedding-events-22-83405scores-hotel-wedding-events-12-83405scores-hotel-wedding-events-02-83405scores-hotel-wedding-events-05-83405scores-hotel-dining-06-83405scores-hotel-wedding-events-19-83405scores-hotel-wedding-events-20-83405

Wedding service and reception venue

Our secluded gardens and terraces are sheltered by high natural stone walls, making it the perfect place to take photos and meet your guests over a glass of Champagne. There is a wide choice of fixed and all-inclusive menus, and drink packages to suit all tastes at this seaside wedding venue. When it comes to the evening reception, although we don't provide in-house entertainment we'll gladly help you arrange anything from DJs to Ceilidh bands or Cabarets.

Catering

We'll be happy to discuss your needs, and you'll be happy to see our range of fixed price packages. If you prefer, use our menu selector to build the perfect, bespoke meal that matches your tastes or caters to your dietary requirements. We can cater up to 140 guests on banqueting tables, or 120 guests on round tables, for a sit down meal. Whatever you choose, you can be sure it will be thoroughly enjoyed at one of the most gorgeous wedding venues in St Andrews.

Honeymoon Suite

With our best compliments the bride and groom can enjoy the finest room in the house, with spectacular views over the West Sands beach enjoyed directly from their lounge and bedroom. The room provides the perfect romantic escape after celebrating with your nearest and dearest throughout the day. Special accommodation rates are also available for wedding guests.

Registrar

Registry office:
Fife Council
St Mary's Place, St Andrews, KY16 9UY
0845 155 077




3 Course Menu
Drinks Package
Evening Buffet
Menu Tasting for Bride and Groom
Red Carpet
Table Linen and Napkins
Ceremonial Sword and Cake Stand
Chair Covers and Sashes
Floral Decorations for Top Table
Stationary (Menus & Place Cards)
Private Bar
Bridal Suite for Bride and Groom
Preferential Room Rates for Attending Guests Onsite Wedding Co-ordinator

Your Wedding Day will be one of the biggest days of your life and the team at the Best Western Scores Hotel are committed to

For any enquiries please call Events Team on 01334 472451

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type KY16 9BB

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M90, J2A, 20.00 miles
Nearest train station: Leuchars, 5.00 miles
Nearest airport: Edinburgh, 50.00 miles
Free parking on site (12 spaces)

Address
76 The Scores
St Andrews
Fife
KY16 9BB
Scotland


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Dundee United Football Club (12 miles)

  • Dundee Football Club (12 miles)

  • Dunfermline Football Club (28 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Castle and Cathedral (0.8 miles)

  • Cambo House and Estate (7 miles)

  • Crail Harbour and fishing villages (10 miles)

  • Falkland Palace (National Trust) (22 miles)

  • Glamis Castle (25 miles)

Shopping

  • St Andrews Town Centre (0.5 miles)

  • Dundee (12 miles)

  • Perth (34 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

scores-hotel-meeting-space-10-83405

Garden Suite
This suite can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and conferences. With wonderfully large windows, the room is full of natural daylight and lovely views of the gardens and terraces.

Patio Room
The Patio room is the ideal venue for smaller meetings holding up to 20 people boardroom style and 30 people theatre style. Again, this room boasts plenty of natural light and gorgeous views of the hotel grounds.

Delegate packages
A variety of delegate packages are also available, dependent on your needs. We ensure value for money, and include everything - such as food, refreshments and technical equipment - to keep motivation and enjoyment high, and guarantee a successful day.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape

Garden Suite

Can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and conferences.

Patio Room

The Patio Room is the ideal venue for smaller meetings holding up to 20 people boardroom style and 30 people theatre style.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Garden Suite 180 60 60 40 160
Patio Room 0 12 0 20 20
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 692 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 319
Rating: 4 238
Rating: 3 77
Rating: 2 35
Rating: 1 23
Rating

Lovely Long Weekend Away

14/11/2017 LyallScott, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

We stayed in a junior suite with amazing views overlooking the beach and sea. Excellenty location , literally at the 1st tee of the Old Course though never managed to get a game. Suite was lovely and ... more

Owner Response
bwscoresstandrews, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
We appreciate your lovely review and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I would love to hear your thoughts on how we could do better re encouraging people to dine and drink with us and would be grateful if you could contact me at the hotel when you get a chance. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon kind regards Molly
Rating

Room for improvement

08/11/2017 marcmW9868RY, Berlin, Deutschland

The room was a little wet and cold. The radiators did not work. The staff during the check out was extremely unfriendly and not helpful. Generally, the hotel is great looking and has a good location w... more

Owner Response
bwscoresstandrews, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
We are so sorry that your visit didn't come up to your expectations. I am surprised with regard to your comment about unfriendly staff as that is not the standard of service we normally provide, I cannot trace your stay date and would be grateful if you could perhaps e mail me with your room number and check in date so I can look into this further. Again our apologies for not attaining our usual level of service during your visit, I do hope you visit us again so we can show you this stay was the exception rather than the norm. kind regards Molly on behalf of the Scoires Hotel team
Rating

Lovely hotel

06/11/2017 pn_davies, Chepstow, United Kingdom

Stayed in a junior suite on the first floor which was just lovely. Room was large, airy and spotlessly clean with a super king size bed. Bathroom was basic, nothing special although had nice range o... more

Owner Response
bwscoresstandrews, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Many thanks for your lovely positive review. The trees you mention are on council owned land but we have been given permission to trim them back this winter so hopefully that will enhance the view. Re the parking I am disappointed that no one on our front desk made you aware of our small private car park to the rear of the hotel. It is limited in the number of spaces but at this time of year you should normally find a free space. When you return, and we sincerely hope you do, please phone beforehand and ask reception for directions on how to access the car park before you arrive to hopefully avoid driving round the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon kind regards Molly on behalf of The Scores Hotel Ltd team
Rating

Great hotel for a golf break

27/10/2017 Alan F, Camberley, United Kingdom

We had 4 nights here during a golf break. Fantastic location. You can walk ready to play to Old (and maybe New/ Jubilee). Great views from front rooms and restaurant. Full breakfasts tasty and fillin... more

Owner Response
bwscoresstandrews, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Many thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your golfing break and hope you return next year . The Winter Golf offer from the Links is worth taking advantage of and as you mention we are ideally placed for most of the courses, especially the Old Course. kind regards Molly
Rating

Room with a view. I dont think so.

21/10/2017 9Soosieh, Almancil, Portugal

Trip planned for St Andrews and wanted somewhere central. Stay was Wednesday and Thursday night last week. Booked through Expedia at a rate of £378 for 2 nights bed and breakfast we thought. For th... more

Owner Response
bwscoresstandrews, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I apologise for any issues you had at breakfast, the length of time you say you waited is unacceptable and should not have happened. With regard to your rate with Expedia that is a matter between yourself and Expedia. As you said yourself there was nothing on your paperwork which stated breakfast was included so we were correct in assuming that the rate you paid was room only. The majority of our rooms have views over West Sands and the gardens at the rear. We can guarantee a sea view, subject to availability for a small surcharge and it was a pity that you did not want to take up our offer of a move to a room with a sea view. We hope you choose to visit us again and would recommend that perhaps you book directly with the hotel and allow our reception desk to describe the rooms offered in greater detail to avoid future confusion. kind regards Molly