Room with a view. I dont think so.
21/10/2017 9Soosieh, Almancil, Portugal
Trip planned for St Andrews and wanted somewhere central. Stay was Wednesday and Thursday night last week. Booked through Expedia at a rate of £378 for 2 nights bed and breakfast we thought. For th... more
Trip planned for St Andrews and wanted somewhere central. Stay was Wednesday and Thursday night last week. Booked through Expedia at a rate of £378 for 2 nights bed and breakfast we thought. For that price thought we were getting 4 star. Looking at ratings now it seems only as much as 3 star some say 2 star. Booked a junior suite with King size bed. Got there hotel looked OK, the best thing I can say about it is location, just off the first tee. Checked in and was advised that breakfast was not included and unfortunately my paperwork didn't mention breakfast. Have done a search through Expedia for next week and that price included breakfast. Our room was 223 in the Seaton House. To get to it we had to go back down to entrance level to what was the basement. and through what was basically the storage areas for the cleaning materials. There was a 'nice' little sitting area at the entrance to the 3 rooms on this level but cant imagine anyone wanting to sit here as there were no windows or natural light. The room itself was a good size with nice sitting area although 2 chairs and a settee was a little over the top a coffee table would have been more use for putting coffee cups etc on. Went to look at our view. Website say 'There are 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning overs over the West Sands whilst others enjoy an outlook over the landscaped garden and terraces.' Our room looked out onto the back of the hotel at a enclosed yard with a large waste bin and some pipes with a staircase from the ground level. Received a phone call asking of the room was OK and I advised that when we paid for a Junior Suite we didn't expect to be in the dungeon. See photos posted of the view. Reception apologised and said would see if there was another room. By this time I had unpacked and hubby had settled. Reception came back that there was another room available with a seaview but I advised we would make the best of it, as only there 2 nights and would be out playing golf most of the next day. If the other room was available why were we not given that in the first place?? Hubby wanted a nap and tried to sort out the lighting but seemed that you could only have the 2 chandeliers on together and the downlights in the middle of the room didn't work at all. Reported this to reception on our way out for the evening but looks like someone went in the room while we were out but nothing done. Breakfast on both days was not good. Had to make requests for orange juice to be filled, sugar for the table, more butter, and when we made these requests felt like we were out of order. Breakfast on the 2nd morning took an hour, from the responses it sounded like there was only one chef on but the breakfast room was not particularly busy. Would have liked to have had a drink in the hotel but the only bar open on both nights was the bar in the dining room. The Chariots bar was not open at all during our stay although we were advised it would be open on the Thursday evening. The room 223 has the worst view in the hotel. The other 2 rooms in the seaton house are still below ground level but have good bay windows and you can look out and see some view. I did make our observations at checkout but the response was 'I can only apologise' Sorry but it felt like my feedback was ignored. I don't usually write such long reviews but just felt we were ripped off a little with the price, the room and the fact that our rate paid to expedia included breakfast. less
bwscoresstandrews, Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. I apologise for any issues you had at breakfast, the length of time you say you waited is unacceptable and should not have happened. With regard to your rate with Expedia that is a matter between yourself and Expedia. As you said yourself there was nothing on your paperwork which stated breakfast was included so we were correct in assuming that the rate you paid was room only.
The majority of our rooms have views over West Sands and the gardens at the rear. We can guarantee a sea view, subject to availability for a small surcharge and it was a pity that you did not want to take up our offer of a move to a room with a sea view.
We hope you choose to visit us again and would recommend that perhaps you book directly with the hotel and allow our reception desk to describe the rooms offered in greater detail to avoid future confusion.