Best Western Scores Hotel

76 The Scores, St Andrews, Fife, KY16 9BB, Scotland
based on 815 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA / VS

Best Western Scores Hotel

Best Western Scores Hotel.

The Best Western Scores Hotel is one of the best placed Hotels in St Andrew's, closest to the 1st tee of the world-famous Old Course of St Andrews. Even if golf is not your game, the hotel still proves idyllic as youre sure to be taken aback by panor show more

24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Lift to all floors, Restaurants
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

  • Alexanders
  • Champions Grill
  • Chariots Bar
  • Scorecard Bar

Available

Alexanders

Reflecting the Victorian style of our delightful hotel, this formal dining room boasts crisp white linen and gold-plated chandeliers. A picture window with sea views and a tempting menu both set the mood for seafood, whilst beautiful presentation and faultless taste are to be expected on your plate.
**Opening Soon!**

Opening hours
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Champions Grill

The Champions Grill has it all. A bright, spacious environment, 9 picture windows overlooking the West Sands and the Old Course, informal dining, coffee shop facilities, as well as traditional grills including steaks and local fish and chips. The best news is you can enjoy this all day long!

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00
Lunch: 11:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 17:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Chariots Bar

Take some time out on our gorgeous Victorian bench seating, as you admire our collection of memorabilia and enjoy a dram or two of whisky. We also serve light bites and bar snacks, if you're a craving something a little smaller, but equally enjoyable.

Opening hours
11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Scorecard Bar

Our themed bar boasts original scorecards from Open Champions and world famous golfers. You can enjoy the spectacular sea views and our collection of memorabilia with a dram or two of whisky!

Opening hours
10:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

We at Best Western understand your wedding is the most important day of your life, thus offer great value for money in a magnificent setting. With a range of fixed price and all-inclusive packages to choose from, you can have the day of your dreams without breaking the bank.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Honeymoon Suite
  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Events Team on 01334 472451

Wedding service and reception venue

Our secluded gardens and terraces are sheltered by high natural stone walls, making it the perfect place to take photos and meet your guests over a glass of Champagne. There is a wide choice of fixed and all-inclusive menus, and drink packages to suit all tastes at this seaside wedding venue. When it comes to the evening reception, although we don't provide in-house entertainment we'll gladly help you arrange anything from DJs to Ceilidh bands or Cabarets.

Catering

We'll be happy to discuss your needs, and you'll be happy to see our range of fixed price packages. If you prefer, use our menu selector to build the perfect, bespoke meal that matches your tastes or caters to your dietary requirements. We can cater up to 140 guests on banqueting tables, or 120 guests on round tables, for a sit down meal. Whatever you choose, you can be sure it will be thoroughly enjoyed at one of the most gorgeous wedding venues in St Andrews.

Honeymoon Suite

With our best compliments the bride and groom can enjoy the finest room in the house, with spectacular views over the West Sands beach enjoyed directly from their lounge and bedroom. The room provides the perfect romantic escape after celebrating with your nearest and dearest throughout the day. Special accommodation rates are also available for wedding guests.

Registrar

Registry office:
Fife Council
St Mary's Place, St Andrews, KY16 9UY
0845 155 077

Additional Information

3 Course Menu
Drinks Package
Evening Buffet
Menu Tasting for Bride and Groom
Red Carpet
Table Linen and Napkins
Ceremonial Sword and Cake Stand
Chair Covers and Sashes
Floral Decorations for Top Table
Stationary (Menus & Place Cards)
Private Bar
Bridal Suite for Bride and Groom
Preferential Room Rates for Attending Guests Onsite Wedding Co-ordinator

Golf

The Old Course is renowned as 'The Home of Golf', where golf was first played 600 years ago. With 11 course in the immediate area, the course stretches over 6721 yards with a par of 72. Panoramic views are to be expected, to create the perfect setting. Handicap certificate required.

  • Old Course
  • Jubilee and New Courses

Old Course

The Old Course is renowned as 'The Home of Golf', where golf was first played 600 years ago. With 11 course in the immediate area, the course stretches over 6721 yards with a par of 72. Panoramic views are to be expected, to create the perfect setting. Handicap certificate required.

0.1 miles away in St Andrews

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72

Distance

6721 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £155.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £30.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £35.00
Driving Range £1.80

Jubilee and New Courses

Jubilee Course is 6742 yards with a par 72. It is another championship links course thats over 100 years old, and is a venue for both amateur and mid-amateur championships. New Course is 6625 yards and is a par 71. It was laid out by Old Tom Morris and opened in 1895.

0.5 miles away in St Andrews

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72 and 71

Distance

6742 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £75.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £30.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £35.00
Driving Range £1.80

Meetings & Events

Garden Suite
This suite can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and confe...

  • Garden Suite
  • Patio Room

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Garden Suite
This suite can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and conferences. With wonderfully large windows, the room is full of natural daylight and lovely views of the gardens and terraces.

Patio Room
The Patio room is the ideal venue for smaller meetings holding up to 20 people boardroom style and 30 people theatre style. Again, this room boasts plenty of natural light and gorgeous views of the hotel grounds.

Delegate packages
A variety of delegate packages are also available, dependent on your needs. We ensure value for money, and include everything - such as food, refreshments and technical equipment - to keep motivation and enjoyment high, and guarantee a successful day.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape

Garden Suite

Can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and conferences.

Patio Room

The Patio Room is the ideal venue for smaller meetings holding up to 20 people boardroom style and 30 people theatre style.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Garden Suite 180 60 60 40 160
Patio Room 0 12 0 20 20

Reviews of Best Western Scores Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 815 reviews
Excellent 44%
Very Good 33%
Average 12%
Poor 5%
Terrible 4%
Rating

lindaM1911RZ, wrote review 03/08/2020

Short Anniversary Break Away

This hotel is lovely. It is very clean and welcoming. All measures are in place to deal with COVID-19, which is essential at this difficult time. It is ideally situated for exploring anywhere in St An... more

Rating

P8210UWLC, wrote review 02/08/2020

Very Disappointed

We arrived for a one night stay at around 12pm, a little early for check in, we were told that check in would be available at 2pm, we were happy to wait, we had some drinks in the scores bar where we ... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
We certainly got your check in wrong and for that I sincerely apologise. To the defence of our management team on duty that day there were serious staff shortages with a few members of staff calling in sick hours before their shift. Ideally that is not a problem that should impact on our guests but it did have a big factor on staffing levels and the team perhaps didn't organise things properly which is something we will review. Our normal service would be to prioritise rooms where we know we have guests waiting for check in and to also double check the cleaning standard because when rushed it is human nature to miss things that would otherwise be perfect. This would have avoided you having to watch other guests checking into their rooms without a hold up which must have been infuriating. I have the advantage of hindsight however and I know the team will have done their very best, I will ensure that everyone is aware of how to try and avoid these issues in the future. My sincere apologies again that we did not meet our usual standards and for the impact it had on your stay kind regards Molly
Rating

zoltar01, wrote review 29/07/2020

Short Break in St Andrews

Hotel is a great location beside the old course, adequate for a 2 night stay with an excellent breakfast. Free parking available outside the front of the hotel and a few minutes walk from shops, bars ... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It great to hear you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast. It is challenging times for everyone and we are working hard to try and get things right for our guests which is why a positive review like yours is worth its weight in gold!! Hope to see you again soon kind regards Molly
Rating

181diannel, wrote review 18/07/2020

Disappointed

Well, after lockdown, really looking forward to meeting up with friends. I was significantly disappointed! Extremely badly organised, not asked for any information for for trace and track even though ... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
If you compare your review to the previous one it would be hard to think we were talking about the same hotel. I am sure we did not get everything right and I apologise for anything we got wrong. The pandemic has caught everyone unawares and I can assure you that we are working extremely hard in what has been a very difficult time for hotels everywhere. With regard to training we have been awarded the Quality in Tourism Safe, Clean and Legal award, Visit Scotland's Good to Go award and also have met Best Western's own Covid 19 standards. Deliveries are also not as regular as previous but are improving and we are correcting any shortages as quickly as we can. I am always amazed that Trip advisor is used to make comments about people and situations that a guest buying a bar meal cannot possibly know but feels confident enough to pass a derogatory comment. I can deal with personal comments about myself, it sadly sometimes comes with the territory , luckily we receive more compliments than personal slurs, but to say that we should not have reopened and put all our hard working employees out of work is totally uncalled for. As I mentioned I apologise for any shortcomings, it is always our intention to provide the best service possible and it is always disappointing when that does not happen. As the UK Hospitality advice to customers says - we kindly ask customers to be patient just now , everything is new to us all and we have not had customers for over 15 weeks so might be a bit rusty. We have served hundreds of people in the past two weeks with only this one negative comment and I have asked my staff to focus on that. kind regards Molly
Rating

rachelmU5863GK, wrote review 08/07/2020

Post Lockdown Pub Lunch

Had a day trip to St. Andrews and had saw that this hotel had a beer garden open for food & welcomes children so we thought we’d give it a try — very impressed. The staff were so welcoming, walking ... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your lovely review. the garden is just the ideal setting for a bar lunch and we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed it. That was our first week reopening since March and the precautions for Covid 19 were all new, as indeed they still are so I am pleased that you felt our staff were welcoming and friendly in what has been a difficult time for everyone. Hope to see you all again soon kind regards Molly