Best Western Scores Hotel

76 The Scores, St Andrews, Fife, KY16 9BB, Scotland
based on 834 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA / VS

Best Western Scores Hotel

Best Western Scores Hotel.

The Best Western Scores Hotel is one of the best placed Hotels in St Andrew's, closest to the 1st tee of the world-famous Old Course of St Andrews. Even if golf is not your game, the hotel still proves idyllic as youre sure to be taken aback by panor show more

24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Lift to all floors, Restaurants
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out14:00 | 11:00
76 The Scores, St Andrews, Fife, KY16 9BB, Scotland
What 3 Words: somewhere.funds.elections

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

  • Alexanders
  • Champions Grill
  • Chariots Bar
  • Scorecard Bar

Alexanders

Reflecting the Victorian style of our delightful hotel, this formal dining room boasts crisp white linen and gold-plated chandeliers. A picture window with sea views and a tempting menu both set the mood for seafood, whilst beautiful presentation and faultless taste are to be expected on your plate.
**Opening Soon!**

Opening hours
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Champions Grill

The Champions Grill has it all. A bright, spacious environment, 9 picture windows overlooking the West Sands and the Old Course, informal dining, coffee shop facilities, as well as traditional grills including steaks and local fish and chips. The best news is you can enjoy this all day long!

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00
Lunch: 11:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 17:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Chariots Bar

Take some time out on our gorgeous Victorian bench seating, as you admire our collection of memorabilia and enjoy a dram or two of whisky. We also serve light bites and bar snacks, if you're a craving something a little smaller, but equally enjoyable.

Opening hours
11:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Scorecard Bar

Our themed bar boasts original scorecards from Open Champions and world famous golfers. You can enjoy the spectacular sea views and our collection of memorabilia with a dram or two of whisky!

Opening hours
10:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

We at Best Western understand your wedding is the most important day of your life, thus offer great value for money in a magnificent setting. With a range of fixed price and all-inclusive packages to choose from, you can have the day of your dreams without breaking the bank.

  • Wedding Service & Reception Venue
  • Catering
  • Honeymoon Suite
  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Events Team on 01334 472451

Wedding service and reception venue

Our secluded gardens and terraces are sheltered by high natural stone walls, making it the perfect place to take photos and meet your guests over a glass of Champagne. There is a wide choice of fixed and all-inclusive menus, and drink packages to suit all tastes at this seaside wedding venue. When it comes to the evening reception, although we don't provide in-house entertainment we'll gladly help you arrange anything from DJs to Ceilidh bands or Cabarets.

Catering

We'll be happy to discuss your needs, and you'll be happy to see our range of fixed price packages. If you prefer, use our menu selector to build the perfect, bespoke meal that matches your tastes or caters to your dietary requirements. We can cater up to 140 guests on banqueting tables, or 120 guests on round tables, for a sit down meal. Whatever you choose, you can be sure it will be thoroughly enjoyed at one of the most gorgeous wedding venues in St Andrews.

Honeymoon Suite

With our best compliments the bride and groom can enjoy the finest room in the house, with spectacular views over the West Sands beach enjoyed directly from their lounge and bedroom. The room provides the perfect romantic escape after celebrating with your nearest and dearest throughout the day. Special accommodation rates are also available for wedding guests.

Registrar

Registry office:
Fife Council
St Mary's Place, St Andrews, KY16 9UY
0845 155 077

Additional Information

3 Course Menu
Drinks Package
Evening Buffet
Menu Tasting for Bride and Groom
Red Carpet
Table Linen and Napkins
Ceremonial Sword and Cake Stand
Chair Covers and Sashes
Floral Decorations for Top Table
Stationary (Menus & Place Cards)
Private Bar
Bridal Suite for Bride and Groom
Preferential Room Rates for Attending Guests Onsite Wedding Co-ordinator

Golf

The Old Course is renowned as 'The Home of Golf', where golf was first played 600 years ago. With 11 course in the immediate area, the course stretches over 6721 yards with a par of 72. Panoramic views are to be expected, to create the perfect setting. Handicap certificate required.

  • Old Course
  • Jubilee and New Courses

Old Course

The Old Course is renowned as 'The Home of Golf', where golf was first played 600 years ago. With 11 course in the immediate area, the course stretches over 6721 yards with a par of 72. Panoramic views are to be expected, to create the perfect setting. Handicap certificate required.

0.1 miles away in St Andrews

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72

Distance

6721 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

18 holes £155.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £30.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £35.00
Driving Range £1.80

Jubilee and New Courses

Jubilee Course is 6742 yards with a par 72. It is another championship links course thats over 100 years old, and is a venue for both amateur and mid-amateur championships. New Course is 6625 yards and is a par 71. It was laid out by Old Tom Morris and opened in 1895.

0.5 miles away in St Andrews

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72 and 71

Distance

6742 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

18 holes £75.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £30.00
Buggy hire £25.00
Tuition £35.00
Driving Range £1.80

Meetings & Events

Garden Suite
This suite can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and confe...

  • Garden Suite
  • Patio Room

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Garden Suite
This suite can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and conferences. With wonderfully large windows, the room is full of natural daylight and lovely views of the gardens and terraces.

Patio Room
The Patio room is the ideal venue for smaller meetings holding up to 20 people boardroom style and 30 people theatre style. Again, this room boasts plenty of natural light and gorgeous views of the hotel grounds.

Delegate packages
A variety of delegate packages are also available, dependent on your needs. We ensure value for money, and include everything - such as food, refreshments and technical equipment - to keep motivation and enjoyment high, and guarantee a successful day.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape

Garden Suite

Can accommodate up to 180 delegates theatre style and can be partitioned off for smaller numbers and set ups. We can adapt the suite to suit all types of meeting and conferences.

Patio Room

The Patio Room is the ideal venue for smaller meetings holding up to 20 people boardroom style and 30 people theatre style.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Garden Suite 180 60 60 40 160
Patio Room 0 12 0 20 20

Reviews of Best Western Scores Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 834 reviews
Excellent 44%
Very Good 33%
Average 12%
Poor 5%
Terrible 4%
Rating

kevinwQ7944OG, wrote review 09/06/2021

Very disappointing stay at 5 star location

Unfortunately the hotel reception was low lighting and very faded, not welcoming at all. Room 311 - very small, Telephone didn't work, no towels or toiletries in bathroom, found empty water bottle do... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr Williams As i replied to you on another review site I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are always disappointed when our service has not reached it's usual standards and we will most certainly be taking your comments seriously with the aim of improving where we went wrong. regards Molly
Rating

Expedition487380, wrote review 31/05/2021

First weekend away

Our first post COVID weekend - hotel was excellent staff were very helpful friendly and cheerful room was very nice couldn’t fault the whole experience to be honest - previous comments about dated de... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
So glad you enjoyed your weekend, it has been really hard not being able to plan anything and it's great that we can now all enjoy a much needed break. Even better if we helped you both to enjoy that break!. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. take care kind regards Molly
Rating

cathm040, wrote review 24/05/2021

Beware, you will be stung

We have stayed in this hotel several times in the past and been satisfied. It is now NOT as advertised. The rooms and common areas have been plundered of decorative items such as pictures, ornaments... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay though puzzled by the criticism of being 'stung' The price was agreed at time of booking made by yourself and although we were unable to provide the free upgrade or free sea view you requested, something we would have tried to accommodate if the hotel had not been busy during your stay, you did know the rate prior to booking. There are also quite a few assumptions made, corporate bookings, understaffed, amenities below Covid 19 regulations, I don't know how you can assess whether our other guests were 'corporate' and without knowing the room occupancy levels cannot judge if an hotel was understaffed , we also follow the Quality Care guidelines strictly in all matters regarding Covid 19 regulations and make no apologies for this, we equip our rooms to their recommendations for the safety of all our guests. All items are still available and we are more than happy to provide them on request. if you had made your request for tissues known we would have been happy to provide them. . Our local suppliers will be disappointed to hear your opinions on their produce which is sourced locally for freshness and quality. However it still remains disappointing to all our team that you did not enjoy your stay. We always want our guests to have the best possible visit and are sorry this did not happen on this occasion. kind regards Molly
Rating

alancunningham2021, wrote review 08/05/2021

Out of date and over priced

The hotel hasn’t aged well, needs fully upgraded and brought back to life. It’s like jumping back into the 1980’s. Heating was on full blast 24/7. Such a shame as it’s prime location for St Andrew’s. ... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr Cunningham I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we want everyone who stays to enjoy their time at the Scores and are disappointed when our guests fail to do so. I have taken your comments on board and will take steps to ensure problems like the heating being on all night- it was very cold!- is checked by our plumbers Hopefully we will see you in the future, meantime please accept my apologies for the problems encountered during your stay kind regards Molly
Rating

Knockbawns, wrote review 05/04/2021

Outstanding service

We needed accommodation for our daughter’s wedding. Not quite the wedding that had been planned over a year ago. .. Molly and her team at Scores Hotel did everything they could within the guidelines ... more

Owner Response
Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel, responded to this review
Many, many thanks for your review. As I mentioned in a private e mail I sent to you, your family are a wonderful reminder of why we choose to work in the hospitality industry. You were lovely and we were so glad your daughter had a nice day, the weather was glorious which helped. Really looking forward to seeing you all again soon Take care and best wishes from everyone at The Scores Molly

Postcard

The best British travel stories to inspire your adventures.