The Queen at Chester Hotel, BW Premier Collection

City Road, Chester, Cheshire, CH1 3AH, England
based on 3461 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA

The Queen at Chester Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Landmark Chester hotel with a roll call of famous guests.

Built opposite Chester station to serve first-class rail passengers, The Queen at Chester Hotel, BW Premier Collection (formerly a Hallmark Hotel) has an illustrious past.
This magnificent brick and stucco Italianate building was said to be th
show more

Please note due to Government Guideline on Covid 19, some hotel services may be limited during your visit.
COVID-19 Update: Breakfast service is a 'Grab & Go' concept. Other Food and Beverage offerings will be based on Room Service with a limited menu.
24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Free WIFI, Lift to all floors, Pets Allowed, Restaurants
There is charged parking available onsite.
Pets accepted
pets allowed - £15.00 extra charge per day
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 11:00
City Road, Chester, Cheshire, CH1 3AH, England

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

Chef Simon Davies
  • King's Grill
  • Waiting Room Bar and Lounge

King's Grill

Tuck into wholesome grub in the light and airy contemporary surroundings of the King's Grill, open for breakfast and dinner.

Cooked with fresh, seasonal ingredients, dishes at The Queen at Chester, BW Premier Collection by Best Western include smoked haddock mornay, vegetarian curry and our legendary stacked burgers. We also serve super-healthy salads and gluten-sensitive options. And don't forget to leave room for dessert - sticky toffee pudding or chocolate brownie anyone?

Our delicious breakfast buffet is popular with guests and non-residents alike. Set yourself up for the day with our selection of fruit, cereals, pastries, juices and hot breakfast offerings.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 06:30 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary

Waiting Room Bar and Lounge

Enjoy lighter bites while sampling the finest cask ales or cool cocktails in our historic Waiting Room Bar and Lounge.

Our bar menu includes hot and cold sandwiches, Welsh rarebit, pies, bubble and squeak, and beer-battered fish and chips.

Afternoon tea is served in the Albert Lounge, against a backdrop of historic photographs and a large open fireplace. Sink into one of the comfy chairs as you indulge in finger sandwiches, homemade scones and of course, a glass of fizz.

Opening hours
10:00-00:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Our wonderful Grade II-listed Italianate building is a dreamy setting for your big day.

Inside, the theatrical four-storey staircase with ornate iron balustrade provides a show stopping setting for photographs, while outside there's an elegant Italian terrace garden with marble arches, classical sculptures and lush foliage.

With eight different event spaces, The Queen at Chester, BW Premier Collection by Best Western can cater for every type of reception, civil ceremony and partnership. We have two al fresco spaces and six banqueting suites that suit anything from an intimate gathering to a party of 300 in the Colonnades Ballroom. In this room, a spectacular chandelier gleams from the ceiling and there's mood lighting throughout.

The hotel has been hosting weddings for more than 150 years and, over that time, we've learned exactly how much careful planning it takes to put on a day to remember. You'll love our attention to detail.

At the end of a wonderful day, retire to the honeymoon suite with its stunning four-poster bed and feature bath.

Meetings & Events

In the heart of Chester, opposite the railway station, The Queen at Chester, BW Premier Collection by Best Western is in a prime location for corporate events.

Not only are we handy for ...

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

In the heart of Chester, opposite the railway station, The Queen at Chester, BW Premier Collection by Best Western is in a prime location for corporate events.

Not only are we handy for those travelling by train, we're also close to the M53 and M56 motorways, and there's ample parking onsite.

We have a fantastic reputation when it comes to hosting conferences, meetings and teambuilding days, and many blue-chip companies return to us time after time due to the professionalism of our event planners.

With 11 conference rooms to choose from, you're sure to find the perfect space for your event. While some suit small gatherings such as board meetings and training sessions, the magnificent Colonnades Ballroom can hold up to 400 delegates. Many of our rooms combine elegant Victorian features with hi-tech communications and presentation technology to give events a cutting edge while still maintaining bags of character.

We're also well-equipped to host prom nights, hen parties, baby showers and fundraising events.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Palazzo 120 24 26 24 80
Jubilee 120 24 0 24 100
Victoria 70 26 30 25 60
Edward 40 15 20 20 20
Prince Albert 30 8 16 16 0
Disraeli & Gladstone 25 8 0 12 0
Consort 0 0 0 4 0

Reviews of The Queen at Chester Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 3461 reviews
Excellent 52%
Very Good 28%
Average 9%
Poor 5%
Terrible 4%
Rating

stuartfX6006IO, wrote review 10/11/2020

Poor service

I stayed with my partner in September. The arrival was okay considering the covid restrictions. I have stayed there a few times on business and received good service hence taking my partner. There ... more

Owner Response
Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear stuartfX600610, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the housekeeping issues that you experienced whilst staying with us. Please rest assured that your feedback has had my personal attention and I have also shared with the team regarding acknowledgment of your feedback on check out. Thank you again for staying at The Queen at this challenging times and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future for a much improved experience. Kind Regards Nadine General Manager
Rating

J9329ZLjoycew, wrote review 05/11/2020

Wedding breakfast

I cannot praise the Queens hotel and in particular Louise Turner and her team, highly enough. My daughters wedding had to be cancelled for a second time at the weekend with the new Covid lockdown. The... more

Owner Response
Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear J9329ZLjoycew, Thank you so much for such a personal and wonderful review. I know Louise and the team were delighted to host the wedding, something that they used to do all the time and revel in. It was so lovely to have a small wedding within the hotel and the team able to really enjoy their duties to look after the bride and groom along with the family. Thank you once again for your review as it will mean so much to the team. Kind Regards Nadine
Rating

francoltas, wrote review 04/11/2020

Very poor customer service

We arrived at the hotel on Wednesday and when we entered the room we discovered that the bedside lamps didn't work, there was no creamer/milk on the tray,and there were cardboard cups. In the bathroom... more

Owner Response
Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear francoltas, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit. Please accept my apologies for the initial maintenance issues that were found on arrival. I agree that these issues should not have been there in the first place and I will be ensuring that our internal maintenance team complete a thorough check of the bedrooms whilst we are quieter due to the second lockdown. Whilst we are a small team due to the pandemic, our facilities and areas should be stocked and not something that a guest should notice. Again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you will give The Queen Hotel an opportunity to show you how great our service can be. Kind Regards Nadine General Manager
Rating

brianlP7358PF, wrote review 13/10/2020

Nice Communal Areas, However In Need Of Facelift

All in all a nice stay but suite we stayed in was tired, noisy water pipes above us and the exterior could use little facelift. The bathroom flooring was terribly marked also. Staff were very pleasant... more

Owner Response
Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear brianIP7358PF, Thank you so much for the four star review. We appreciate you sharing your views and I am delighted that the hotel was ear marked for investment within the next 12 months however, due to the pandemic, I do not have a date when this will commence. Thank you for highlighting our team as being pleasant during your stay. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Nadine Rees General Manager
Rating

jt w, wrote review 12/10/2020

Queen at Chester

Hotel was nice. The people facing were very noisy at times. It was also a shame we found the previous quests tights on the floor near the radiator. I also would of liked a brew in a proper cup not a p... more

Owner Response
Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear jt w, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that other guests noise impacted your stay. I hope you were still able to enjoy your break away. Being up North, there is nothing like a proper brew in a proper cup and we are trying hard to get back to our normal however, until the pandemic subsides, we will need to embrace the paper cup and look forward to these small things changing in the future. Delighted to hear that you found the hotel to be nice and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Nadine Rees General Manager