I arrived with my daughter for a birthday treat as we were going to see the Lights at Bicester Village. We had decided on an overnight stop, to save the 3 hour ish drive home. Well, we didn't stay and... more
I arrived with my daughter for a birthday treat as we were going to see the Lights at Bicester Village. We had decided on an overnight stop, to save the 3 hour ish drive home. Well, we didn't stay and I had to make the long journey home after a cut short shopping trip( due to the drive time it would add to our long day).
We attempted to check in at 14:43, to be told check in is at 3, very rudely and almost disbelief that we had shown up early. The plan was for us to check in then get off shopping, to return to use the hotel restaurant later. We said we didn't mind waiting, but the young man then looked at us ,went off and then we noticed he was outside at the annexe, we had just been left standing, in a dark area near reception. We decided we then just wanted to be at home, so left as we could not stay anywhere we were not made to feel welcome. It's just we cannot believe this is a hospitality venue ,with absolutely no hospitality.
I did call Best Western to complain, I had used my hard earned rewards to stay , and hopefully they will be reimbursed. I will add that we did not meet any management, and hope they would have acted differently to their guests. Clearly staff need training to realise without guests, no hotel and no job?
Also the car park is across a very busy road, and it took some time to cross as traffic was especially busy at the time we were there,.we considered it very dangerous.
I would not stay or advise anybody I know to stay here. less
DCMusgrove, General Manager at Jersey Arms, responded to this review
Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay. I also appreciate the email you sent me directly which was more in-depth regarding your brief and poor experience.
Once again i would like to apologize for this terrible birthday treat you had planned for your daughter.