Tired hotel, unfriendly inflexible staff
Booked by our company, a large group stayed at this hotel for 4 to 5 nights. Rooms are tired: creaking floorboards in my room disturbed my colleague in the next room, wardrobe wouldn’t close, large cr... more
Booked by our company, a large group stayed at this hotel for 4 to 5 nights. Rooms are tired: creaking floorboards in my room disturbed my colleague in the next room, wardrobe wouldn’t close, large cracks in the walls, mould in the bathroom.
Greeting at reception was usually blunt. I even tried initiating contact with a cheery hello, to get a curt “hi” back. At no point was I asked how my stay was.
Most of my colleagues eat elsewhere after the first night because of the poor service which was also blunt to the point of almost being rude. Food was OK in the restaurant and of reasonable value if food was a little slow to come out of the kitchen.
What sums up this hotel the best is the breakfast experience. On the first morning we were told on trying to order that there was a fault with equipment and an engineer was working on the problem. This should have been communicated to us sooner. The following morning I requested 2 poached eggs and 3 rashers of bacon to be told “no, you can have two rashers”, which is what arrived. The following morning I asked for “bacon and poached eggs please” and was told you can have eggs benedict, so I ordered that without the toast or hollandaise sauce. My colleague who was not having a cooked breakfast just ordered bacon which he shared among us.
Not the service expected in modern times. A little politeness and flexiblity would have gone a long way to making this a better visit rather than leaving us disappointed.
We have all requested that our company do not use Sure Inns again. less
LucyK1320, Front Office Manager at Sure Hotel by Best Western Birmingham South, responded to this review
Dear guest, on behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. We did unfortunately experience a problem with the gas supply to the kitchen that day which was resolved within 6 hours and service was back on in the evening. I do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.