Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, Sure Hotel Collection by Best...

The Promenade, Southport, Liverpool Coast, Merseyside, PR8 1RB, England
based on 2504 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA Silver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

A seaside retreat in Southport, Merseyside.

The Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa is a fabulous hotel in Southport that enjoys a central location on the main promenade. As well as the pleasant sea views, you'll also have the King's Gardens on your doorstep.

A traditional Victorian hotel,
show more

Parking charged at £5 per day
Hotel have closed their Spa and Leisure facilities until further notice.
Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Lift to all floors, Restaurants, Solarium, Spa Pool, Twenty Four Hour Service
There is charged parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

From private dining to majestic banquets, the Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa is a fantastic place to eat in Southport. We also offer a choice of formal or informal drinking and dining facilities to suit your mood.

Chef Tony Gornell
  • The Pavilion Restaurant
  • Conservatory Bar
  • Chatsworth Bar

The Pavilion Restaurant

The Pavilion restaurant's contemporary decor and stylish atmosphere make for a delightful place to spend quality time in. Our menus are regularly updated and offer some classic fine English dishes - all made from fresh, locally sourced ingredients. If you prefer, try one of our signature dishes or continental favourites. There'll always be a warm welcome waiting for you at theRoyal Clifton Hotel and Spa.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary

Conservatory Bar

Elegant decor and furnishings provide restful surroundings here in the Conservatory bar. Enjoy some peace and quiet in the afternoon, or relax with a cool drink whilst listening to music in the evenings. There's a wide selection of wines, beers and spirits as well as the famous Illy Coffees and a choice of afternoon teas. Its the perfect place to unwind by the seaside.

Opening hours
12:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Chatsworth Bar

This lovely space offers more informal dining and bar facilities. Try our tempting range of good food, from tasty sandwiches to traditional bar meals. We also offer entertainment at weekends, with a large sports screen showing major sporting events. You'll enjoy the warm, welcoming atmosphere as you mingle with fellow guests.

Opening hours
12:00-18:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Superbly located on the promenade, the beautiful Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa provides the perfect wedding venue in Southport, whether youre looking for a small intimate celebration or a large party.

  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Michelle Quinn/Niami McKeown on 01704 533771

Registrar

Registry office:
Sefton North
Southport Town Hall, Southport, PR8 1DA
0151 934 2012

Spa & Leisure facilities

The spa and leisure facilities of the Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa make this a fantastic place to stay in Southport, whether you want to keep fit or just relax.

  • Spa Facilities
  • Treatments
  • Leisure Details

Spa Facilities

Within the Leisure Club here at the Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa, our salon offers indulgent pamper packages. We also provide a range of beauty treatments to make your time more memorable. From head to toe, we'll take care of you in style and you'll leave feeling as great as you look.

  • No. of treatment rooms: 2
  • Minimum guests per booking: 1
  • Maximum guests per booking: 2
  • Children not alllowed in from 8pm monday - friday. Children under 16 years must be accompanied by an adult

Opening Times

Monday: -
Tuesday - Saturday: 09:00 - 05:00
Sunday: 09:00 - 17:00

Treatments

We offer a range of treatments to make your time more memorable. From head to toe, we'll take care of you in style:

Health & Beauty
From Free / Treatment
Massage
From £35.00 / Treatment
Mind & Body
From £20.00 / Treatment
Health & Beauty
From £0.00 / Treatment
Facial
0 mins
FromFree
Manicure
0 mins
FromFree
Pedicure
0 mins
FromFree
Tints and Lashes
0 mins
FromFree
Waxing
0 mins
FromFree
Massages
From £35.00 / Treatment
1 Hour Full Massage
55 mins
From£50.00
Aromatherapy Massage
55 mins
From£55.00
Back, Neck Shoulder Massage
25 mins
From£35.00
Dermalogical Facial
55 mins
From£50.00
Hot Stone Massage
55 mins
From£55.00
Mind & Body
From £20.00 / Treatment
Personal Fitness Consultation
60 mins
From£20.00

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Leisure Details

  • Poolside sauna and steam room
  • Heated indoor swimming pool
  • Bubbling jacuzzi opening onto private patio garden
  • Fully equipped gymnasium
  • spa

Meetings & Events

Ideally located on the promenade, The Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa makes a fantastic conference venue. We offer seven meeting spaces that can accommodate anything from 2 to 300 delegates. All our facil...

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Ideally located on the promenade, The Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa makes a fantastic conference venue. We offer seven meeting spaces that can accommodate anything from 2 to 300 delegates. All our facilities are furnished to a high standard and offer natural light. We also provide free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, as well as all the equipment you need for your meeting.

Suites
The Windsor suite is a multi-functional space that can accommodate up to 300 people.

The Balmoral suite is a versatile room with natural daylight, plus a large fixed dance floor and is accessible to a private bar and patio area.

The Osbourne suite is a highly functional room with natural daylight that can seat up to 100 people theatre-style.


Packages
We offer a number of conference packages that make it easy for you to organise any meeting. These cover everything you need - from all equipment to coffee breaks, lunch and dinner. Our comprehensive all-inclusive package starts from £75 per delegate. Our day delegate package is the ideal one-day package and starts from as little as £25. And if youre staying overnight with us, our 24-hour package provides your room, all meals and full use of hotel facilities.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Windsor Suite 300 85 40 50 260
Balmoral Suite 250 100 50 60 170
Osborne 2 100 40 50 40 80
Osborne 1 60 34 24 34 40
Belvedere Suite 30 18 18 20 24
Richmond Suite 20 4 10 10 10
Boardroom 0 0 0 12 10

Reviews of Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Traveller Overview:
3.5 Rating: 2504 reviews
Excellent 23%
Very Good 31%
Average 21%
Poor 12%
Terrible 11%
Rating

Uglybird3613, wrote review 11/04/2020

Spa needs closing

Have stayed a few times as theres something about the hotel we like even if it is a bit dated. Location is great. The evening meal was in the conservatory rather than dining room this time and eve... more

Owner Response
Alistair Risk, General Manager at Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Uglybird3613, Thank you for your review. I do appreciate the positive comments about the staff, the food and other areas. I am sorry about the situation with the lifts. Whilst I am unsure when you stayed, I can confirm we do have regular scheduled maintenance on our lifts, plus a 6 monthly audit carried out independently. Unfortunately there are occasional breakdowns, but we do respond quickly and can only imagine that the issue you described were two separate occasions. With reference to the Spa, we have endured some issues with our air circulation, and have invested heavily in there to correct this, however, the matter has been recurring despite our best efforts, and we therefore took the decision to section off some areas in the gym. This was some time ago. Again, I am unsure when you stayed with us. The Jacuzzi is another temperamental piece of equipment, which is serviced regularly. We have had an issue with the "Button" which switches on the bubbles. This has been replaced numerous times, however, the issue again seems to recur. The whole hotel is currently closed due to the COVID 19 Pandemic, however, all of these areas are under review prior to re opening. Thanks again for your feedback. With best regards, Alistair
Rating

commenda2re, wrote review 20/03/2020

Love this hotel

I’ve always liked this hotel. The staff have always been friendly from the reception staff to the bar and restaurant. Very enjoyable stay. One negative comment, the room was a little hot during the ni... more

Owner Response
Alistair Risk, General Manager at Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear commenda2re, Thank you for your kind review, which is greatly appreciated. I am blessed with a lovely team, and it is kind that you mentioned them. I am sorry the heating wasn't quite right for you, and have discussed with maintenance. Hopefully when we re open we will see an improvement ain the weather and there will be no need for the heating at all. Thanks again and stay safe. Best regards, Alistair
Rating

T8354AVjeanm, wrote review 19/03/2020

Stay with friend

stayed for one night with friend reception staff lovely changed room as we needed twin beds room was very nice evening meal was OK my friend had parsnip soup it was like baby dinner my soup was OK I ... more

Owner Response
Alistair Risk, General Manager at Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear T8354AVjeanm Thanks for your review. I am blessed with a lovely team and they do in many ways make up for some of the conditional elements. Rest assured we are looking at those longer term and hope, once we are at the other side of our temporary close, we will be in a better position to invest. Best regards, Alistair
Rating

Gwespyr, wrote review 17/03/2020

Lovely staff although the hotel was dated

We stayed one night so we could attend a Spa day elsewhere in the town (not at this hotel). We had stayed at this hotel previously and found it very convenient and totally suitable to our needs. I nee... more

Owner Response
Alistair Risk, General Manager at Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Gwespyr, Thank you for your very kind review. I am blessed with a wonderful team and it is evident from your comments that they made all the difference to your stay and overall experience. So pleased to hear you would return, and hope to see you on the other side of our temporary closure. Best regards, Alistair
Rating

Dave A, wrote review 15/03/2020

Money back

The first room was very small and dated decor had no working TV. Moved to a second room even worse with rock hard bed and no working TV again. Got a refund and went straight to the Premier Inn for a d... more

Owner Response
Alistair Risk, General Manager at Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Dave A, Thank you for your review and sorry we didn't hit the spot. I am pleased the team were accommodating with a refund at the time and trust you had a good nights sleep elsewhere. We do have a wide variety of room, and upgrade whenever possible. Perhaps next time book one of our superior rooms and you may see a different perspective on the hotel. Even with the superior supplement we are still highly competitive in the market. Thanks again, Alistair