Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, Sure Hotel Collection by Best...

The Promenade, Southport, Liverpool Coast, Merseyside, PR8 1RB, England
based on 2423 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA Silver CSR award from Green Tourism.

Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

A seaside retreat in Southport, Merseyside.

The Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa is a fabulous hotel in Southport that enjoys a central location on the main promenade. As well as the pleasant sea views, you'll also have the King's Gardens on your doorstep.

A traditional Victorian hotel,
show more

For swimming pool availability see Spa & Leisure section.
Parking charged at £5 per day
Bars, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Lift to all floors, Restaurants, Solarium, Spa Pool/Jacuzzi, Twenty Four Hour Service
There is charged parking available onsite.
Pets not accepted
Guide and hearing dogs only
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

From private dining to majestic banquets, the Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa is a fantastic place to eat in Southport. We also offer a choice of formal or informal drinking and dining facilities to suit your mood.

Chef Tony Gornell
  • The Pavilion Restaurant
  • Conservatory Bar
  • Chatsworth Bar

The Pavilion Restaurant

The Pavilion restaurant's contemporary decor and stylish atmosphere make for a delightful place to spend quality time in. Our menus are regularly updated and offer some classic fine English dishes - all made from fresh, locally sourced ingredients. If you prefer, try one of our signature dishes or continental favourites. There'll always be a warm welcome waiting for you at theRoyal Clifton Hotel and Spa.

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 10:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary

Conservatory Bar

Elegant decor and furnishings provide restful surroundings here in the Conservatory bar. Enjoy some peace and quiet in the afternoon, or relax with a cool drink whilst listening to music in the evenings. There's a wide selection of wines, beers and spirits as well as the famous Illy Coffees and a choice of afternoon teas. Its the perfect place to unwind by the seaside.

Opening hours
12:00-23:00
Weekend times may vary

Chatsworth Bar

This lovely space offers more informal dining and bar facilities. Try our tempting range of good food, from tasty sandwiches to traditional bar meals. We also offer entertainment at weekends, with a large sports screen showing major sporting events. You'll enjoy the warm, welcoming atmosphere as you mingle with fellow guests.

Opening hours
12:00-18:00
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Superbly located on the promenade, the beautiful Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa provides the perfect wedding venue in Southport, whether youre looking for a small intimate celebration or a large party.

  • Registrar

For any enquiries please call Michelle Quinn/Niami McKeown on 01704 533771

Registrar

Registry office:
Sefton North
Southport Town Hall, Southport, PR8 1DA
0151 934 2012

Spa & Leisure facilities

The spa and leisure facilities of the Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa make this a fantastic place to stay in Southport, whether you want to keep fit or just relax.

  • Spa Facilities
  • Treatments
  • Leisure Details

Spa Facilities

Within the Leisure Club here at the Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa, our salon offers indulgent pamper packages. We also provide a range of beauty treatments to make your time more memorable. From head to toe, we'll take care of you in style and you'll leave feeling as great as you look.

  • No. of treatment rooms: 3
  • Minimum guests per booking: 1
  • Maximum guests per booking: 4
  • Children not alllowed in from 8pm monday - friday. Children under 16 years must be accompanied by an adult

Opening Times

Monday - Sunday: 10:00 - 18:00

Treatments

We offer a range of treatments to make your time more memorable. From head to toe, we'll take care of you in style:

Health & Beauty
From Free / Treatment
Massage
From £35.00 / Treatment
Mind & Body
From £20.00 / Treatment
Health & Beauty
From £0.00 / Treatment
Facial
0 mins
FromFree
Manicure
0 mins
FromFree
Pedicure
0 mins
FromFree
Tints and Lashes
0 mins
FromFree
Waxing
0 mins
FromFree
Massages
From £35.00 / Treatment
1 Hour Full Massage
55 mins
From£50.00
Aromatherapy Massage
55 mins
From£55.00
Back, Neck Shoulder Massage
25 mins
From£35.00
Dermalogical Facial
55 mins
From£50.00
Hot Stone Massage
55 mins
From£55.00
Mind & Body
From £20.00 / Treatment
Personal Fitness Consultation
60 mins
From£20.00

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Leisure Details

  • Poolside sauna and steam room
  • Heated indoor swimming pool
  • Bubbling jacuzzi opening onto private patio garden
  • Fully equipped gymnasium
  • spa

Meetings & Events

Ideally located on the promenade, The Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa makes a fantastic conference venue. We offer seven meeting spaces that can accommodate anything from 2 to 300 delegates. All our facil...

For any enquiries please contact events on 0844 387 62 40

Ideally located on the promenade, The Royal Clifton Hotel and Spa makes a fantastic conference venue. We offer seven meeting spaces that can accommodate anything from 2 to 300 delegates. All our facilities are furnished to a high standard and offer natural light. We also provide free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, as well as all the equipment you need for your meeting.

Suites
The Windsor suite is a multi-functional space that can accommodate up to 300 people.

The Balmoral suite is a versatile room with natural daylight, plus a large fixed dance floor and is accessible to a private bar and patio area.

The Osbourne suite is a highly functional room with natural daylight that can seat up to 100 people theatre-style.


Packages
We offer a number of conference packages that make it easy for you to organise any meeting. These cover everything you need - from all equipment to coffee breaks, lunch and dinner. Our comprehensive all-inclusive package starts from £75 per delegate. Our day delegate package is the ideal one-day package and starts from as little as £25. And if youre staying overnight with us, our 24-hour package provides your room, all meals and full use of hotel facilities.

Available Room Set Ups

  • Banquet
  • Boardroom
  • Classroom
  • Theatre
  • U shape
Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Windsor Suite 300 85 40 50 260
Balmoral Suite 250 100 50 60 170
Osborne 2 100 40 50 40 80
Osborne 1 60 34 24 34 40
Belvedere Suite 30 18 18 20 24
Richmond Suite 20 4 10 10 10
Boardroom 0 0 0 12 10

Reviews of Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western

Traveller Overview:
3.5 Rating: 2423 reviews
Excellent 22%
Very Good 32%
Average 21%
Poor 12%
Terrible 11%
Rating

Susan J, wrote review 09/12/2019

2 nigh stay in Southport with my daughter

I was a little worried about our visit to this hotel after reading some of the reviews. Yes it is an old hotel and needs some TLC in certain areas. We were upgraded to a superior twin room which was... more

Owner Response
gmroyalclifton, General Manager at Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Susan J, Thank you for your kind review and generous rating. I am pleased you has a positive stay overall and recognised the efforts of the team, who do make all the difference to the hotel. Its great to hear you had a very good meal in the restaurant and would recommend. We have recently launched a new menu, so Chef will be pleased to receive the feedback. Sorry to hear there were some heating issues but pleased it was resolved. We have had a TV engineer out this week to address some intermittent signal issues so hopefully the matter will be resolved now. Thanks again for your feedback. Really much appreciated.. Best regards, Alistair
Rating

The-Bikers, wrote review 09/12/2019

Excellent stay and very friendly staff

We stayed at the hotel on the 5th for 2 nights. We arrived too early to check in, but were able to park the car at the hotel. On returning back there were issues with our payment for the room, which w... more

Owner Response
gmroyalclifton, General Manager at Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear The-Bikers, Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased you has such a positive experience and would be keen to return to the hotel. Sorry to hear you didn't get parked at the hotel. Our website does stay limited parking, but I hope you managed to locate the adjacent NCP car park. Great to hear you received an upgrade and that Lee ( Resident guest care superstar!) worked hard to resolve the payment issue. Thanks again for the feedback and hope to see you back in Southport soon. Best regards, Alistair
Rating

B6311RFdavej, wrote review 08/12/2019

Pleasantly surprised

Myself and my wife stayed here on friday just gone to attend an event ran at the hotel. First impressions of the hotel from the outside was disappointment as the building looks a little tired. But whe... more

Owner Response
gmroyalclifton, General Manager at Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear B6311RFdavej, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that overall you had a very positive experience. We are somewhat blessed by an building with beautiful features and very friendly staff. I was sorry to not the issue with the smokers in the room. The hotel is fully non smoking, and as you allude to there are evident signs in the room. Unfortunately some guest do break the rules on occasions, and where possible we do impose a fine. The smoke detectors are not designed to go off with cigarette smoke, but I can assure you our fire alarm system is fully functional and tested weekly. Lee is something of a guest service "superstar", and we are lucky to have him. I am pleased, but not surprised, at how well he handled the room move and looked after you. One of our two lifts is currently out of order and we await parts. I am hoping engineers will be onsite today, having spent some time on it last week establishing the issue. We tried very hard to have it back by the weekend but were unable to as parts needed to be ordered. I'm a bit disappointed to read about breakfast only being warm and will follow up with Chef. Thanks again for your comments, for highlighting our friendly team, and I hope to see you back in Southport again soon, With very best regards, Alistair
Rating

JonesC94, wrote review 06/12/2019

Ok for £36

I mean this only cost us £36 for the night which is great and cheap. we are from Liverpool and literally only stayed because it was our first night baby free since the birth. We went to see a comedy s... more

Owner Response
gmroyalclifton, General Manager at Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear JonesC94, Thanks for your review. I am pleased you managed to get an extra special deal with us. £36.00 is an exceptionally low rate for us at any time of year. I am glad you found the staff at Reception and in the bar to be really nice and polite. They do make all the difference to the guest experience. Car parking is limited and chargeable, as stated on our website. We cant accommodate every vehicle when the hotel is full, and it can be quite narrow, however, there are two NCP car parks nearby, one immediately to the left of the hotel and another immediately behind. You may have noted from previous reviews that we had endured some previous water ingress and have carried out significant repairs to our roof. ( Damaged by high winds and heavy rain). These works are complete and the walls now dried out, Once apparent, none of the few affected rooms were let to guests. I am pleased you found the room and bathroom to be clean, and found the features of the hotel to be of interest. 80 of our 120 bedrooms were refurbished last year. To be fair it is likely that those on a reduced rate are less likely to be allocated the upgraded rooms. unless they were left unsold at a higher rate. Best regards, Alistair
Rating

todareistodo, wrote review 02/12/2019

As ever

Been coming here at this time of year for 5 years yes the place is olde worlde yes it is work in progress it is a huge job but we have never had a problem as such all the staff are friendly the food w... more

Owner Response
gmroyalclifton, General Manager at Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear todareistodo, Thank you for your very kind review and rating. Very well received indeed. We really appreciate your comments, specifically about the staff, who are very much at the heart of this hotel. The lift at the Royal end of the building has already had an engineers visit and repair is imminent. Fortunately we do have another lift available. I am pleased you found the hotel to be good Value for money and look forward to seeing you back in Southport soon. With very best regards, Alistair