Marmadukes Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection by Best Western

4-5 St Peters Grove, York, North Yorkshire, YO30 6AQ, England
based on 1860 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA The AA rosette is your guarantee that a hotel takes extra special pride in its cuisine. The AA rosette is your guarantee that a hotel takes extra special pride in its cuisine. The AA rosette is your guarantee that a hotel takes extra special pride in its cuisine.

Marmadukes Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection by Best Western

A fine Victorian Hotel in the heart of historic York

Located in a tranquil residential street - and just minutes away from York's Roman walls -, Marmadukes Town House Hotel BW Premier Collection by Best Western, is perfectly placed for a city break in York, just a 10 minute walk away from York Minster. show more

The hotels Park Restaurant is now closed on a permanent basis.
Bars, Lift to some floors, Pets Allowed
There is charged parking available onsite.
Pets accepted
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 11:00

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From brekkies that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered. Tuck in.

  • Breakfast Room
  • Main Bar

Dining and bars

Breakfast Room

Continental Breakfast Buffet; Full English Breakfast

Main Bar

Guests can relax in the resident's lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property.

Opening hours
12:00-02:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Whether you’re dedicating your full getaway to the green or just want to sneak in a few holes in between sightseeing, we’ve got you covered. Just don’t forget to pack your lucky club…

  • Heworth Golf Club
  • Fulford Golf Club

Heworth Golf Club

2 miles miles away in York

Course type

Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

70

Distance

6105 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes £7.50
18 holes £15.00

Fulford Golf Club

3.7 miles miles away in York

Course type

Links

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

72

Distance

6363 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes £17.50
18 holes £35.00

Reviews of Marmadukes Town House Hotel, BW Premier Collection by Best Western

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 1860 reviews
Excellent 52%
Very Good 29%
Average 11%
Poor 4%
Terrible 2%
Rating

alanrycroft, wrote review 10/01/2020

Yet Another Happy Stay

Three nights this time. Many thanks again to Lucy and the Team for making our visit, as always, a most comfortable one. The room was spotless, warm and inviting. The bath was huge and the water sui... more

Owner Response
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your perfect 5* review of your recent stay with us here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel. All of the team work extremely hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us, our housekeeping team especially. We hope you both had a safe journey home and hope to see you again in the very near future. Best Wishes, Emily, Lucy & Team M
Rating

Kittkat401, wrote review 04/01/2020

Nice hotel

Booked a stay for my wife as a birthday gift. Checked in early, staff were friendly and helpful, took our bags to room when ready. Good size room, unfortunately bed wasn't comfortable for me, felt qu... more

Owner Response
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your scores and feedback. We are very lucky with our location, a short walk away from all of York's attractions but set back down a quiet street. Hopefully our hearty Yorkshire Breakfast set you up for your busy day in York. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team who all work extremely hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you appreciate our beautiful Victorian building. We are all looking forward to seeing the improvements with the refurbishment. I am sorry that you found the mattress uncomfortable on one side of the bed. All of our mattress are memory foam topped. We do appreciate that they are a very personal item. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards, Emily & Team M
Rating

Shaun F, wrote review 01/01/2020

My new favourite hotel in York

I have stayed in a couple of Best Western hotels in York (Lamb & Lion) & (Guy Fawkes Inn) but I now have a favourite, Marmadukes is superb firstly the staff a friendly and very helpful, the decor is p... more

Owner Response
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your wonderful 5* review of your recent stay with us here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel! We are very lucky with our location, a short walk away from all of York's attractions but set back down a quiet street. All of our team work extremely hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us, they will be grateful of you kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you love our beautiful Victorian Town House with all of her character and charm as much as we do. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards, Emily & Team M
Rating

geoffhouldridge, wrote review 31/12/2019

Perfect for the International tourist

Extremely high priced for the standard. Room adequate but decor dated. Furniture in keeping but not up to the job shower is unusable as taps cannot provide adequate mixing - potential to scalding tap ... more

Owner Response
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, we do appreciate all feedback so we can make continuous improvements. I am sorry that you found our pricing extremely high, all of our room rates are set via head office. Our room rates do vary on a daily basis and are competitive with other nearby properties. Our water temperatures are monitored by an external company and are within the guidelines. I do wish you had of made the team aware of your disappointment as we could of move you into an alternative room for the duration of your stay. Hopefully our hearty Yorkshire breakfast set you up for your busy day in York. In the coming months we are commencing our bedroom refurbishment. We hope to see you again in the near future to see our improvements. Kindest Regards, Emily Morgan
Rating

Dean R, wrote review 30/12/2019

Overnight stay in York

My partner and I have just returned from an overnight stay and what a great choice. Good price, great location, friendly and helpful reception staff, lovely room with a nice breakfast. Ideally located... more

Owner Response
Marmadukes Town... H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your perfect 5* review of your recent stay with us here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel. We are very lucky with our location, a short walk away from all of York's attractions but set back down a quiet street. Due to our central location we are situated on a permit holders only street. We do have a small onsite car park which is an additional £9 per night which does need to be pre booked. The information regarding this can be found in the terms and conditions of our booking. Thank you for mentioning our amazing team who are always on hand to help, they will appreciate your kind words. Hopefully our hearty Yorkshire breakfast set you up for your busy day ahead. I do wish you had of mentioned the towels to our reception team as there is a second set which are in the wardrobe. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards, Emily & Team M