• 9.0 /10 Fantastic
  • From
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Look inside this hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Hardwick Hall Hotel.

A delightful haven near Durham.

Hardwick Hall Hotel is just 8 miles away from Durham, just off the A1(M). Country comfort awaits, so whether you need the perfect business base or a relaxing retreat, this is the place for you!

The hotels bedrooms are stylishly furnished and spacious, while its banqueting suites are well-laid out and well-equipped. Wherever you are in the hotel though, you'll never be far from excellent views of the gardens and open parkland.

View more


County Durham
TS21 2EH
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6228*


Please note that payment is taken upon arrival for all flexible bookings
Bars, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to some floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00


Dining and Bars

Chef Mark Bennett


Rib-Room Steakhouse & Grill

Our award winning Chef creates seasonal menus that are chopped and changed to include the freshest local produce. The service is professional, friendly and unobtrusive, while the substantial wine list includes Champagnes, dessert wines, Port, Armagnac and liqueurs for a complete dining experience.

Opening hours

Dinner: 18:00 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary

Hardwick Residents Bar

Polished wood floors, rich rugs, leather armchairs and potted palms make this a snug, relaxing haven to meet with friends or eat with business colleagues. Whoever you share the good times with, enjoy a light snack with a cold beer or glass of wine, and lose yourself in the delightful atmosphere of the Hardwick Bar.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Hardwick Hall Hotel is the North East's ultimate wedding venue. It sounds like a bold claim doesn't it, but we can more than back it up with beautiful suites, a licence to hold civil ceremonies and first-class service!

Wedding service and Reception Venue

During the summer months, the Paddock Marquee (with its own private garden and lovely views) makes a wonderful venue-within-a-venue. Our function suites in the hotel are equally impressive, so you'll definitely find your perfect match!


A wonderful selection of menus and food items are available here and you can even create your own menu from the self-selection choices! We also have carvery menus, fork buffets, evening buffets, canaps, children's menus and drinks packages. Here's to an unforgettable party!


Registry office:

Bishop Auckland Registrar, Bishop Auckland, Co Dur
01388 607277

Get in touch with our wedding team on 01740 620253

For any enquiries please call Lyndsey Barnes on 01740 620253

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type TS21 2EH

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J60, 1.00 miles
Nearest train station: Darlington, 14.00 miles
Nearest airport: Durham Tees Valley, 15.00 miles
Free parking on site (300 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)

County Durham
TS21 2EH

What's nearby?


  • Stadium of Light (26 miles)

  • Riverside Stadium (18 miles)

  • St James Park (45 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Beamish Open Air Museum (20 miles)

  • Angel of the North (30 miles)

  • Penshaw Monument (25 miles)


  • Newcastle City (40 miles)

  • Metro Centre (33 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Looking for the perfect conference, banquet or meeting venue? Look no further than the elegant and stylish Hardwick Hall Hotel. It'll impress and inspire!

Available room set ups

U shape

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Coleman suite 1 section 150 90 50 50 100
Coleman suite 2 sections 300 180 50 50 250
Coleman suite 3 sections 600 280 0 0 350
Boyne suite 1 section 50 30 28 30 56
Boyne suite 2 sections 80 40 28 30 130
Boyne suite 3 sections 100 0 0 0 130
John Burdon Suite 60 30 30 20 130
Boardroom 1 0 0 0 20 0
Boardroom 2 20 15 15 15 15
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 966 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 431
Rating: 4 299
Rating: 3 122
Rating: 2 70
Rating: 1 44

We will be back

15/03/2018 Sandra H, Wakefield, United Kingdom

We have never stayed here before and what a lovely hotel plus the grounds are magnificent. The welcome was warming and friendly. We had a drink in the bar as we arrived early and the room wasn’t qui... more


A very successful evening for our first company ball

14/03/2018 Lucillep529, England, United Kingdom

I'd like to start with a thank you to all the staff at Hardwick Hall who assisted me in delivering a wonderful company ball on Friday 9th March 2018. The staff on the evening, overall were polite, hap... more

Owner Response
, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Lucillep529, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. I am delighted with your comments and this feedback is much appreciated by me and the Team. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon, please remember to keep an eye on our website for seasonal offers. Kind Regards Robert Warren

Very poor service but good food

13/03/2018 Parissa A,

We went for Mother’s Day on Sunday and what a shame. The food and set up was lovely however the staff were not very good. We had to ask people to the table several times to make drinks orders, to clea... more

Owner Response
, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Parissa A, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service to all of guests, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the food but really disappointed to read that the service was not at the same level. Thank you for your feedback this really does help me in trying to move the business forward. Kindest Regards Robert Warren

Hit and miss

11/03/2018 Yolande L, UK

This hotel could be fantastic but it is the details that let it down. There is a problem with the hot water and one morning I couldn’t have a shower as there was no water pressure. Sometimes room serv... more

Owner Response
, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Yolande L, We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities and service to all of guests, please accept my apologies for the issues with the hot water, we are currently having a new hot water boiler installed which will mean on busy mornings we have enough hot water. The hotel is under new management and all the points you have raised I have found very useful as I will use them to improve the standards moving forward. Thank you for your feedback. Kindest Regards Robert Warren

Afternoon Tea

11/03/2018 Martin P,

From the exterior the hotel looks nice , it overlooks parkland with a lake, we had booked in advance and had high expectations for a pleasant afternoon. Sadly this was not to be. When we arrived we we... more

Owner Response
, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Martin P, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. I am sorry that the afternoon tea experience did not match your expectations. I was pleased to read that Martin was pleasant & attentive. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards Robert Warren