Not what you’d expect from a 4*
The bedrooms were tiered, pealing wallpaper, stained tiles etc. The spa facilities were terrible. A tiny sauna and steam room, the jacuzzi was covered over and not open, due to covid restriction only ... more
The bedrooms were tiered, pealing wallpaper, stained tiles etc. The spa facilities were terrible. A tiny sauna and steam room, the jacuzzi was covered over and not open, due to covid restriction only one couple at a time could use the sauna/steam room which is fine but it was absolutely packed with people waiting to use it. After 40 minutes of bobbing around in a crowded pool waiting to get in to the only other things open we gave up and left. Spa reception were still letting more people in as we left so the situation was only getting worse. What is the point of making people book set arrival times if 1: there is no set leaving time and 2: walk ins can gain access. The main problem we had was with the breakfast service. It was terrible! So much so that we didn’t even go for breakfast for 2 out of the 4 mornings, despite having paid for bed and breakfast. The staff were honestly so so bad. Terrible service both mornings that we did come down for breakfast. After being seated we waited 45 minutes, being totally ignored my all staff, honestly they have mastered avoiding eye contact, it was impossible to get anyones attention. In the end we got up and went over to tell them we still hadn’t had our order taken, they apologised and said they’d come do it now (but instead the guy went and cleared another table). Once we eventually did have our order taken the food arrived quite promptly but the order was wrong! so it had to be sent back and we were left to wait even longer. Not one member of staff seemed to be in control, there’s no one organising anything and honestly it’s the worst service I’ve ever had in any hotel or restaurant, ever. The food itself is okay. We also ate on our first evening and would say the same for that. I was under the impression from the website that this would be a fine dining restaurant but it certainly is not. Which was really disappointing, we had anticipated that we would eat there most evenings but once was enough.
The front of house staff, bar staff and the cleaning staff were really friendly. The cleaning staff have done a fantastic job, the hotel was really clean but unfortunately it hasn’t been well maintained. They need to inject some money into it to bring it up to standard.
Not that it really matters but both myself and my partner work in hospitality, which usually makes us more forgiving/understanding if anything but in this case I would just steer you away from booking here. It was a real let down if what your expecting is 4* hotel & spa. less
James Anderson, General Manager at Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this review
Dear Helen M,
I am saddened to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on his occasion.
The same as all businesses across Scotland we are having to cope with reduced staffing levels due to staff having to isolate due to track and trace procedures. We are doing our best to ensure this has minimum affect on our guests with all of our teams working across departments to help out.
I am pleased to advise you we are in the process of finalising plans to upgrading our sauna and steam room. I have never seen our swimming pool crowded, we adhere very strictly to numbers poolside and any guests arriving late would have been included in the maximum capacity count.
I will pass on your kind words to our housekeeping and front of house teams and I do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Gleddoch in the future.