Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Allensford, Consett, County Durham, DH8 9BB, England
based on 675 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
/
  • derwent-manor-hotel-grounds-and-hotel-07-83826
  • Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Hotel Grounds
  • Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Hotel Grounds
  • Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Bedrooms
  • Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Bedrooms
  • Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Leisure
  • Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Leisure
  • Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Meeting Space
  • Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Meeting Space
  • Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Dining
  • Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel Dining
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.
AA

Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Countryside comfort near Durham.

The Derwent Manor Hotel BW Premier Collection by Best Western, is a delightful hotel near Durham that enjoys a rural location on the outskirts of Consett, nestled amongst 20 acres of Northumberland countryside. It's right on the edge of an area of ou show more

24 Hour Room Service, Bars, Electric Car Charge, Free WIFI, Gym, Indoor Pool, Lift to all floors, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Spa Pool
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets accepted
£30/night, max 1 dog.
Free WIFI available throughout the hotel
Check-in & Check out15:00 | 11:00
Allensford, Consett, County Durham, DH8 9BB, England
What 3 Words: ///shackles.jolly.tomato

Restaurants & Bars

Good food and drink are essential ingredients for any getaway and our hotel restaurants and bars don’t disappoint. From breakfasts that leave you raring to go, to evening meals with the wow factor we’ve got all your culinary needs covered.

  • Prego Restaurant
  • Grouse and Claret
  • Guinevere's Bar
derwent-manor-hotel-dining-11-83826.jpg

Prego Restaurant

Prego offers a modern feel in a country location, with traditional English cuisine alongside a variety of steaks, pastas and wood fired pizzas. The stylish restaurant offers a meal for every occasion. Early Evening Menu served from 5.30pm to 7.30pm Al a Carte Menu served from 6.30pm to 9pm Sunday Carvery served from 12noon to 3.30pm

Opening hours
Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:15
Weekend times may vary
Dining and bars

Grouse and Claret

Enjoy good food and great company all day or treat yourself to a nightcap before bed in our cosy, friendly bar. Afternoon tea by the open fire is a real treat. While you're here, feel free to take advantage of our sports area, complete with pool table, TV and quiz machine. The Grouse and Claret bar offers the warmth and hospitality of a country pub and (weather permitting) you can also enjoy an al fresco light meal on our patio seating area.

Opening hours
11:30-23:00
Weekend times may vary
derwent-manor-hotel-dining-08-83826.jpg

Guinevere's Bar

The Guinevere's Bar offers the warmth and hospitality of a country pub and has areas for eating or enjoying a cosy drink in front of the fire or weather permitting a chilled drink and a meal "al fresco" on our patio seating area.

Opening hours
19:00-21:30
Weekend times may vary

Weddings

Our grounds will provide the beautiful 20-acre backdrop to your big day, while we provide the exceptional service and high quality food. Whether large or small, formal or intimate, summer or winter, we offer the perfect venue - along with an experienced and professional team to guide you through your planning and help make it your dream day.

For any enquiries please call Irene on 01207 592000

Registrar

Registry office:
Northumberland
27 Fenkle Street, Alnwick, NE66 1HN
01665 602870

Golf Off Site

There are two golf courses near to the Derwent Manor Hotel - both set in beautiful Northumberland parkland. Consett Gold Club is 4 miles away and offers an 18-hole course with the option of a 9-hole course too.

  • Consett Golf Club
  • Slaley Hall Hunting course

Consett Golf Club

4.00 miles away in Consett

Course information

  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

Parkland

Location

Off Site

Holes

18

Par

74

Distance

6041 Yards

Handicap

No handicap required

Prices

9 holes £15.00
18 holes £20.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes

Slaley Hall Hunting course

7 miles away in

Course information

  • Driving range
  • Practice ground golf facilities
  • Putting green golf facilites
  • Pro shop golf facilities
Course type

parkland

Location

Off Site

Holes

0

Par

72

Distance

7000 Yards

Handicap

Handicap required

Prices

9 holes £25.00
18 holes £40.00
Trolley hire Yes
Club hire Yes
Buggy hire Yes
Tuition Yes
Driving Range Yes

Spa & Leisure facilities

Hands up who needs a pamper? We’ll provide the top-notch facilities and relaxing atmosphere, and you just turn up and enjoy. Deal?

Spa Facilities

  • Children under 16 years must be accompanied by adults. Children are required to vacate pool area by 6pm, thereafter adults only.

Opening Times

Monday - Sunday: 07:00 - 21:00

Make the most of our leisure facilities and enjoy some down time

Gym and Swimming Pool Leisure Facilities

Meetings & Events

The Derwent Manor Hotel is the perfect conference hotel near Newcastle. We offer six suites of varying sizes that can accommodate meetings large or small. Each room blends traditional style with modern convenience, so you'll have everything you need.

Grand Hall The Grand Hall provides the most impressive setting for the larger conference or exhibition and can accommodate up to 300 delegates. It enjoys natural daylight and also provides all essential facilities. Upstairs is the Minstrel's Gallery which can be employed as a separate break-out area. Allensford Suite Situated on the first floor, the Allensford suite provides a spacious setting for the larger event or exhibition. Featuring timber beamed ceilings and a panoramic view over the Derwent Valle, this attractive suite cannot fail to impress and caters for events with up to 250 delegates. Garden Room The Garden room offers a traditional country house setting for your event and can cater for up to 100 delegates. It features an open fire, plus a conservatory that can be used as a separate refreshment area. It benefits from natural daylight and comes with all essential facilities. Tower Lounge Located in the tower at the front of the hotel, the Tower lounge is perfect for small meetings, interviews or private dining. Featuring an open fireplace, the suite benefits from natural daylight and can be supplied with a full range of audio-visual equipment.

Available Room Set Ups

The below information shows the capcity of each meeting room based on the room setup type.

Room Name Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Grand Hall 300 200 50 60 250
Allensford Suite 250 180 70 80 200
Garden Room 100 50 35 40 65
Murray Suite 70 30 25 30 50
Tower Lounge 50 20 18 20 35
Boardroom 0 0 14 14 0

Reviews of Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Traveller Overview:
4.5 Rating: 675 reviews
Excellent 67%
Very Good 20%
Average 5%
Poor 3%
Terrible 3%
Rating

110amanda, wrote review 30/06/2022

Beautiful Hotel

An amazing luxurious hotel in stunning setting. Food very tasty and beds very comfortable. Customer service could have been better from some staff but most staff were helpful and friendly. Gym was ... more

Rating

glencurtis100, wrote review 17/06/2022

Northumberland stay

First visit to this part of England, lovely break , plenty of places to visit and this was a Great base to do it from, lovely hotel set in large grounds, very genuine staff who went above and beyo... more

Owner Response
KEITH DONKIN, Other at Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us. We are thrilled that you had a lovely break and enjoyed visting this part of England. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Rating

Steve_Ellwood_13, wrote review 13/06/2022

Poor Show

We were booked in for a 2 day stay 29 - 31 May 2022 but due to Covid had to cancel a week before. Hotel refused to move the booking to a future date. Bad show especially when doing our best to avoid p... more

Owner Response
KEITH DONKIN, Other at Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review
Dear Guest, I am sorry that you could not stay with us. As a hotel we offer many rates to appeal to a wide range of guests. The rate you had booked was a pre paid rate that was non refundable or cancellable, which a discount of upto 25% is applied to our normal flexible rate. This is clearly stated in the terms and conditions of your booking.
Rating

Mandyth03, wrote review 11/06/2022

Relaxing break - NOT

My partner and I had booked this hotel back in March for a 2 night midweek break. After a long drive we were looking forwarding to unwinding. As we reached the top of the drive there was a massive mar... more

Owner Response
KEITH DONKIN, Other at Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review
Dear Guest I am sorry for the experience you encountered. As you had booked via a third party they should have informed you of the event taking place. The hotel offers a wide range of facilities and as discussed with yourself at the time, the function guests had no access to the main area for our hotel guests. I personally dealt with the outbooking to Slaley Hall along with our Deputy General Manager and I apologise that you felt we were not interested. As soon as we learnt of your disattisfaction we offered you a speddy resolution to move to another hotel so you could enjoy your break. I apologise that you felt the alternative was also not satisfactory. Once again my sincerest of apologies.
Rating

junelang1961, wrote review 06/06/2022

Lovely Relaxing Stay at Derwent Manor

Great accommodation & excellent food at the Derwent Manor. I was there to celebrate a special occasion which was made even more special by hotel staff. Also enjoyed the leisure facilities. We would ... more

Owner Response
KEITH DONKIN, Other at Derwent Manor Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Derwent Manor Boutique Hotel and for leaving us your feedback. we are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Postcard

The best British travel stories to inspire your adventures.

Loading