Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Clayton Hotel Cardiff.

Comfort and convenience in Cardiff!

The Clayton Hotel Cardiff (formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff) is located in the heart of Cardiff City Centre. It offers convenience as well as guests arriving by train in the Central Station will testify!

If you're a sports fan, we're just a minute away from the Millennium Stadium. But whether you're returning from the rugby or coming back from the countryside, one of our 216 well appointed, air conditioned bedrooms will be a wonderful home from home.

View more


St Mary Street
CF10 1GD


Offsite secure parking on Wood Street (CF10 1EN) - 20% discount when staying at hotel.
Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, Lift to all floors
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 12:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Dining and Bars

Chef Vas Navanani


Stir Restaurant

This modern, casual restaurant serves local cuisine that makes our views of Cardiff city centre all the more tasty! With our menu designed by our award winning chef Vasanthan Navanani, we offer a range of cusine to suit every taste. Our menus reflect the seasonal changes to include chef's signature dishes of mouth watering Oriental style crispy pork belly or pan seared scallops with artichoke puree. Remember to leave room for dessert!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 06:30 - 10:00
Dinner: 11:00 - 22:00
Weekend times may vary

Stir Bar

Mix with a mixer or curl up with a cocktail! Stir Bar is contemporary & modern serving a wide range of food & drink to cater for all tastes, including freshly prepared cocktails hand made by our in house mixologist. Why not try our signature Maldron Spirit cocktail?

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


The Clayton Hotel Cardiff invites you to spend your special day in style and comfort! Our Courtyard Suite has access to the internal courtyard and offers private use of this on request. We can seat 50 people for your reception meal, which makes for a truly intimate wedding day.

How do we make your occasion so special?

This'll be music to your ears...we can cater for DJs or live bands to make your celebratory soundtrack unforgettable!


We offer a full platter of catering options. Whether you want an informal buffet or a traditional wedding breakfast with all the trimmings, we'll serve it all with a smile!


Registry office:
Cardiff Registry Office
City Hall, NW Entrance, Cathays Park, CF0 3ND

For any enquiries please call Stephaine O'Toole on 02920 668866

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CF10 1GD

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M4, J29, 3.00 miles
Nearest train station: Cardiff Central Station, 0.40 miles
Nearest airport: Cardiff, 14.00 miles

St Mary Street
CF10 1GD

What's nearby?


  • Cardiff Arms Park (0.1 miles)

  • Motorpoint Arena (0.1 miles)

  • Millennium Stadium (0.1 miles)

  • Millennium Stadium (0.1 miles)

  • Cardiff City Stadium (1.5 miles)

  • SWELC Stadium (1 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Cardiff Castle (0.4 miles)

  • Wales Millennium Centre (0.4 miles)

  • National Museum Wales (1 miles)

  • Millennium Stadium (0.1 miles)

  • Cardiff Central Train Station (0.1 miles)


  • St David's Shopping Center (0.1 miles)

  • The Hayes (0.1 miles)

  • McArthur Glen Designer Outlet (15 miles)

  • John Lewis Department Store (0.1 miles)

  • Queen Street & Queens Arcade (0 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events


The Clayton Hotel Cardiff offers 7 state of the art meeting rooms, with capacity from 2 to 100 delegates! A combination of professional service, first class facilities and the latest business technology will provide the ideal venue for doing business, while relaxing surroundings make this an ideal venue for overnight stays and residential retreats!

Available room set ups

U shape

Meeting Room 7

A unique shape & design where 50% of walls are windows. Direct access to the outdoor terrace area from the room. Two access doors to the main room from the corridor. Sky sports available in the room.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Meeting room 1 50 14 18 20 0
Meeting room 2 90 40 32 36 60
Meeting room 3 55 22 18 20 0
Meeting room 4 40 14 12 14 0
Meeting room 5 40 14 12 14 0
Meeting room 6 10 0 0 6 0
Meeting Room 7 100 48 30 34 74
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 1324 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 596
Rating: 4 547
Rating: 3 143
Rating: 2 19
Rating: 1 20

Very good central hotel

02/10/2015 Wibs42, Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom

We stayed here for a Rugby World Cup pool game and found the hotel spot on. It's in a great location very close to the stadium and a short walk up the road to the castle. Whilst it is a large hotel th... more



27/09/2015 Kayleigh B,

I have read through the reviews of this hotel before booking and I wasn't sure weather or not to choose this hotel. I decided to book it and go ahead for 3 nights. I have to say this is one of the nic... more


Well catered for civilised stag do

27/09/2015 Jake D, Cardiff, United Kingdom

Came here on a stag do. 26 of us, so a large group. The welcome was great, beds were comfy, everything worked, free wifi, loads of choice for breakfast. Can't pick a fault. Definitely worthy of the ... more

Owner Response
ClaytonHotelCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review
Dear Jake D, Thank you for your fantastic five star review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that fully enjoyed your stay. I do hope we can welcome you back in the not to distant future, Warm Regards, Linda Folan, Guest Relations Manager.

Reviews are so incorrect

26/09/2015 Dodi1960, Brisbane, Australia

Stayed at the Clayton Hotel in Cardiff for the Rugby World Cup. What makes it so difficult nowadays is that people are so disgruntled in their expectations. After reading most of the reviews I had to... more

Owner Response
ClaytonHotelCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review
Dear Dodi1960, Thank you for your fantastic five star review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay , Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future, Warm Regards, Linda Folan, Guest Relations Manager.

Plenty of hotels in Cardiff, don't bother with his one.

25/09/2015 Janice V, Redhill, United Kingdom

Sold us a kingsize room, got a double,smallest double bed ever!! (£288 per night)terrible view, over looking the railway and a nightclub, awful, on complaining the reception staff were at best rude. ... more

Owner Response
ClaytonHotelCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review
Dear Janice V, Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed that you feel you did not have an enjoyable experience at the Clayton Hotel Cardiff. I feel like there is some confusion in regards to the situation. Firstly as discussed on your departure, you were not charged for King bedrooms, you were provided with complimentary executive packages including chocolates and a bottle of champagne per room as a gesture of goodwill due to the King rooms not being available. In regards to the issues mentioned if you had made the team aware of any problems during your stay we would have been delighted to assist in any way possible, to ensure your stay was improved, sadly these issues were not brought to our attention until check out therefore making it difficult for us to assist. We feel that we did everything we could based on the information provided to us at the time of checkout to compensate for your discomfort. As mentioned above the complimentary executive packages were given as gesture due to the king rooms not being available, I must advise that the champagne and chocolates do not come as standard within the package and were given as an apology, which we did inform of you of and you confirmed you were happy with this offering. Once we were made aware of your issues in relation to the points in your review, we provided a further compensation in the form of a substantial cash refund which you accepted on departure. You have also spoken to our General Manager regarding the above who also advised that we did everything in our power to compensate you for your stay. I understand that the issues highlighted in your review may have dampened your expectations of the hotel but be assured that is was not our intention for this to happen. Kind Regards, Linda Folan, Guest Relations Manager.