• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel

Look inside this hotel

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel.

Stay in a deer park, near Durham.

The Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel lies just 8 miles from Durham city centre, set in the middle of a deer park! The hotels rural setting means you can enjoy peace, quiet and quality without staying too far away from the North Easts many points of interest.

A Grade II listed country house, the hotel oozes warmth and character. With modern conveniences combining with the traditional charm of the hotel, were able to offer real relaxation during your stay. Our formal garden and ornamental lake only add to the hotels appeal.

View more


Whitworth Hall Country Park

County Durham
DL16 7QX
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6201*


Bars, Fishing, Free WIFI, Golf Nearby, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 10:30


Dining and Bars


Library Restaurant

The Library Restaurant is the oldest part of the house and is ideal for that special occasion. We serve an extensive a la carte menu, so come and take a seat

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Lounge Bar

A warm and welcoming atmosphere sets the Lounge Bar apart, making it the perfect place to enjoy good company with your favourite drink.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Brancepeth Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Championship
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 6400 Yards
No handicap required


2.00 miles away in Brancepeth


Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes Yes
18 holes £25.00
Trolley hire Yes

Bishop Auckland Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6504 Yards
No handicap required


5.00 miles away in Bishop Auckland


Putting green golf facilites
Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes Yes
18 holes £20.00
Buggy hire Yes


Whether you need a venue for a winter wedding or a summer celebration, our delightful setting provides the perfect backdrop all year round.


Wedding service and reception venue

The gorgeous grounds and garden features form a beautiful backdrop for wedding photographs, and while the group shots are being taken, guests can hand-feed the parks herds of deer.


A comprehensive range of menus, drinks packages and wine lists makes catering for your big day a piece of cake!


Registry office:
Bishop Auckland Registry Office

01388 607277

Please contact David Abbott-Coyle


For any enquiries please call David Addott-Coyle on 01388 811772

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DL16 7QX

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J61, 5.00 miles
Nearest train station: Durham, 9.00 miles
Nearest airport: Newcastle, 22.00 miles
Free parking on site (150 spaces)
On site disabled parking (4 spaces)

Whitworth Hall Country Park
County Durham
DL16 7QX

What's nearby?


  • Riverside - Durham County Cricket Club (13 miles)

  • Stadium of Light - Sunderland FC (20 miles)

  • St James Park - Newcastle Utd FC (25 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Beamish open air museum (17 miles)

  • Durham Cathederal & Castle (8 miles)

  • Bowes Museum (19 miles)

  • Metro Centre (22 miles)

  • Killhope Lead Mining Centre (23 miles)


  • Durham City Centre (8 miles)

  • Newcastle (26 miles)

  • Metro Centre (22 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events


Our recently refurbished conference rooms alongside our Garden Marquee and exceptional grounds provide the ideal setting for any business event. Well make a lasting impression on you, so imagine how impressed your delegates will be!

Available room set ups

U shape

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Whitworth 100 40 30 30 120
Duncombe 60 30 24 24 60
Library 60 40 30 30 60
Garden room 25 12 10 10 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 800 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 456
Rating: 4 221
Rating: 3 78
Rating: 2 27
Rating: 1 18


14/03/2018 Craig S,

Visited here for work. Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. The staff are very friendly and really helpful. The restaurant food is simply delicious. Cooked incredibly well by a great chef who seems... more



11/03/2018 panthers1965, South Shields, United Kingdom

Arrived at Whitworth Hall On our Wedding Anniversary wasn't given the Bedroom we booked BUT nothing was a problem to the Wonderful Staff ... They couldn't apologise enough Quickly offered us another r... more



03/03/2018 Difromyorkshire, Bradford, United Kingdom

The reception was great with a roaring fire but the bedroom was cold. Single glazed window dripping with condensation. The heavy curtains covered the small radiator. Evening meal was a joke, given d... more


Afternoon Tea....highly disappointing

26/02/2018 Angela J, Durham, United Kingdom

We visited for afternoon tea for my daughters birthday and unfortunately I was really disappointed. The setting is beautiful however when they bought the afternoon tea out everything was stale especi... more

Owner Response
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Hello Firstly thank you for taking the time in posting your review here on Trip Advisor following your visit to us for afternoon tea, and of course I was saddened to read how we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion, I have of course passed on all your comments to the hard working team, we do use all feedback in a constructive way to improve our product and service we offer here at Whitworth Hall. Once again thank you for your review and please except my sincere apologise for the short fall in service and food. Yours sincerely Christopher Ashby


24/02/2018 scunny1, Scunthorpe, United Kingdom

Second visit in a year and not quite as good as previously. Reception on arrival was cold ,like just going through the motions. No cream tea on arrival was offered. Room was smaller and facing car p... more

Owner Response
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Hello First of all thank you for returning to Whitworth Hall, it was great to see you return so soon, and please except my apologise for not quit hitting the make on this occasion, in some areas of the service. I have of course passed on all your comments to the hard working team to discus and lean from. We do hope you will return again in the near future. yours sincerely Christopher Ashby


The best British travel stories to inspire your adventures. Great stories cannot be untold. They burst out. We love hearing them, reading them and sharing them. Click below to be inspired by our most recent stories near this hotel.