• Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Best Western Wessex Royale Hotel & Restaurant Dorchester

Rooms & Rates

Please select
Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Explore Hotel

Sweet Dreams in Dorchester.

Centrally located in the heart of delightful Dorchester, Best Western Wessex Royale Hotel & Restaurant offers Georgian gorgeousness aplenty close to the Jurassic Coast - standing proudly as an old coaching inn that was built in 1756 and effortlessly transformed into modern-day accommodation. Our classically designed rooms and excellent central location make the hotel ideal for a relaxing break or business trip, with our bedrooms oozing unique charm and traditional character...not to mention supremely comfortable furnishings to help you feel wonderfully rested in Wessex.

Did you know, Dorchester is Thomas Hardy's birthplace and the inspiration for Casterbridge in his novels?

View more

Location

32 High West Street
Dorchester
Dorset
DT1 1UP
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 3876127*
AA

Summary

Limited free parking available The Restaurant is currently closed for dinner
Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
There is parking available nearby.
Pets: No Pets accepted Pets are not accepted.
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00

Facilities

Dining and Bars

Head Chef James Tipping boasts some fine credentials, working with some of the UK's top chefs to award winning standards. Supported by an ambitious young team serving the very best in modern European cuisine.

Chef James Tipping

wessex-royale-hotel-dining-07-84211

Room to...

Best Western Wessex Royale Hotel & Restaurant boasts an AA Rosette, offering a fine dining experience on site. Whether you're romancing at a table for two or celebrating with a crowd, our restaurant is the perfect place to indulge in fabulous food and great wines. We use locally sourced and seasonal produce, showcasing the very best of what Dorset has to offer - just as our hotel building does.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:30 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 18:00
Dinner: 18:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary
wessex-royale-hotel-dining-05-84211

Hardys Bar

Our popular bar and lounge at Best Western Wessex Royale Hotel & Restaurant is the ideal place to take lunch, relax with a coffee or treat yourself to a glass of your favourite beer or wine. The bar menu features competitively priced dishes including sandwiches, salads, pizzas and the signature Wessex Burger.

Opening hours

12:00-22:00
Weekend times may vary

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DT1 1UP

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest train station: Dorchester West, 0.40 miles
Nearest tube station: N/A, 0.00 mins
Nearest airport: Exeter, 51.00 miles
Free parking on site (12 spaces)

Address
32 High West Street
Dorchester
Dorset
DT1 1UP
England


What's nearby?

Cities & Attractions

  • Dorset County Museum (0.1 miles)

  • Hardy's Cottage (2.8 miles)

  • Abbotsbury (10.6 miles)

  • Monkey World (11.3 miles)

  • Lulworth Cove (13.5 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Best Western Wessex Royale Hotel & Restaurant is a charming business proposition, thanks to two wonderful venues within a venue.

Our conference rates include screen, digital AV projector, flip chart & pens, wireless internet hotspot and chilled water and cordials. Everything you need to wow a crowd or give the perfect pitch.

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Theatre
U shape

Williams Barns Room

The Williams Barnes Room seats up to 100 theatre style, 40 u-shaped or 40 boardroom style.

Regency Room

The Regency Room seats up to 36 theatre style, 18 u-shaped or 18 boardroom style.




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Williams Barns Room 80 0 40 40 85
Regency Room 20 0 15 15 20
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 441 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 162
Rating: 4 159
Rating: 3 80
Rating: 2 21
Rating: 1 19
Rating

Amazing hospitality and wonderful food for a large group! 80th Birthday party family celebration.

12/09/2018 Jane C,

The staff were amazing. The chef at this hotel cooked beautiful food. Portion sizes were excellent and each course was beautifully presented! A varied and appealing menu. The staff looked after the g... more

Owner Response
Manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Jane C Thank you for your lovely comments and recommendation. Great to see the birthday celebrations went well. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your next visit.
Rating

Stop off

27/08/2018 christine p,

Excellent hotel. Room very clean and well equipped ie blinds and curtains, desk fan, bottled water, hot chocolate, box truffles. Location good, near to places to eat. Breakfast really good, best yoghu... more

Owner Response
Manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this review
Dear christine p Thank you for your lovely comments, high rating and recommendation. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your return view.
Rating

Rip off and very rude

25/08/2018 malcbongo, Twickenham, United Kingdom

My partner and I booked in for 2 nights bed and breakfast in a double room. We were looking forward to our break until we got to the reception to book in .A Receptionist with a very annoying atitude t... more

Owner Response
Manager W, Receptionist at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this review
Dear malcbongo Thank you for taking the time to rate the Wessex Royale Hotel. Sorry your stay at the hotel didn't reach your expectations. I'm the receptionist who checked you in. Many apologies that you felt I was very rude to you. On check- in I always state to guests exactly what they've booked, which in your case was a twin room on a room only basis. I could see you were disappointed and annoyed so I checked your booking on the booking.com site to make doubly sure. I didn't say that that was the only room available (there's is no way I would know that information) you admitted that you had done the booking and at that time a twin room was the only room available. At this point I said that if you wish we may be able to move you to a double room for your second night. When I had to inform you that unfortunately we could not serve evening meals at the weekend, as you state in your review above, you were very vociferous and told me that was disgusting. I showed you and your partner to your room, all seemed good. You returned to reception and angrily said that one of you wouldn't be able to sleep at night as one of the single beds was uncomfortable and demanded a refund. I asked what would you like me to do, I offered to get another mattress but that didn't help. My priority at that moment was to get you and your partner into a different room that you would be happy with. I was able to do that and later when I asked your partner how was your room she answered 'it was lovely thank you.' I finished my shift late on the Saturday night and early on the Sunday morning rang from home to inform reception that you may want to move to a double room. Apologies again that you weren't happy with your stay. Linda
Rating

Excellent hotel/staff

23/08/2018 jayne_silvester, Stoke Row, United Kingdom

I stayed here Fri-Monday. Room was excellent, staff were exceptional so much so I asked to speak to the CEO. I was actually given his mobile number which he answered immediately when I rang him from ... more

Owner Response
Manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Jayne Thank you for your lovely comments. So good to see that you enjoyed all our home-from-home comforts and you found the staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your next visit.
Rating

A gem in Dorchester

23/08/2018 50552, Bedfordshire, United Kingdom

Excellent hotel and service, panicked a bit when realised there was no lift but the wonderful man at check in took our two cases and carried them up stairs for us. Lovely room (Superior) very oldy wor... more

Owner Response
Manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 50552 Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again.