Treated with Such Disrespect
08/08/2018 reetee50, Aurora, CO
When we reserved rooms for us and our friends, we requested two rooms on the second floor with mountain views, as we do every time we stay here, which is as much as once a month at times. When we arri... more
When we reserved rooms for us and our friends, we requested two rooms on the second floor with mountain views, as we do every time we stay here, which is as much as once a month at times. When we arrived (about 2:00 pm), we had been assigned to the first floor. One of the staff noticed that we had made a special request so they pulled other reservations and moved us to the second floor, mountain view, but refused to put our friends on the same side. I called and asked that this be remedied since I am a member and come there often. The person I spoke to said they could not be moved as the floor was full. We, however, were one of about four cars there at the time. I then asked for them to make it right and he said he would try to make that happen. We never heard anything further, however, our friends received their bill at full price. I went to the front desk the next morning to discuss the situation and found two different people at the desk. I tried repeatedly to explain but the older woman kept interrupting me. I asked her several times to stop so I could finish a sentence but it was to no avail. My friend followed me in and attempted to explain as well, but again the older woman would not listen to anything we had to say. She just continued to talk over us. The other person there commented that we were rude and began rolling her eyes and looking into the office to her right and smirking, making fun of us. First of all, I fail to understand why at the reservation time, we are asked for special requests if it is just going to be an argument and an unfulfilled promise. Secondly, the customer service was absolutely appalling. The "discussion" became quite volatile and I left never to set foot on this property again. My career was in customer service and if I had ever treated anyone with this kind of contempt and rudeness, I would have lost my job. I intend to cancel my membership with Best Western and the four of us will never stay at one again. There are lots of other options. As well, I intend to write reviews in every nook and cranny that I can find so no one else ever has to contend with such actions as we had to. Shame on you Best Western Vista, Buena Vista, CO. less
BrentJewellGM, General Manager at Best Western Vista Inn, responded to this review
I am truly sorry that you feel that you did not receive the service that you felt was appropriate. In reading your review, I am sorry, but I will have to address several issue that you brought up and correct you with the facts as they truly occurred. These facts can be supported by our front office video that captured not only your behavior, but that of your friend.
Fact 1. While you did arrive at 2:00 pm to check-in, our check-in time is 4:00 pm and we made every accommodation to get you into your room 2 hours prior to guaranteed check-in time.
Fact 2. While you feel the fact that there were only 4 cars in our parking lot should indicate that we had an abundance of rooms available to choose from and to honor your “request”. The fact of the matter is is that we are an outdoor tourist destination in which 95% of our guests leave immediately after breakfast and do not return until late afternoon as they are enjoying all that the area has to offer. When you arrived we were in fact full to capacity. Cars in a parking lot have no bearing on the occupancy of a hotel.
Fact 3. You made your reservation 24 hours prior to arrival with our Central Reservations and that is where you put in a “request” for an upper floor west facing room. As this reservation agent is not at our property she can only make a request and cannot guarantee any room location. Requests are granted based on the order in which a reservation is made, not upon guest arrival. When your reservation came through all upper floor west facing rooms were either occupied or previously assigned to other reservations. As you started to immediately complain that your ‘request”, was not granted, the front desk agent made the decision to bump another guest out of their requested room in the hope that they were more understanding than you. This was the only upper floor west facing room that we had the ability to move, therefore, we could not accommodate your friend. As a request is simply that, a “request” and not a guaranteed room location, compensation is not something that would be offered if a request cannot be full-filled.
Fact 4. Regarding your statements that our front desk clerks were rude and were not allowing you to speak, this is also the complete opposite as is shown on our front desk video. The fact of the matter is is that you would not let our front desk agent speak and explain why your request was not honored, as well as why your friend was not being compensated. She knew the facts of the situation and she was trying to explain them to you, but you would not listen. Your friend then proceeded to use vulgarity, call the desk clerks names and threw and hit one of the desk clerks with his room keys. In reviewing the video, our desk clerk was not making faces at you, she simply had a look of shock on her face as to how you both were behaving. Did she giggle? Perhaps, but that was out of nervousness as this was only her second day training in this position and your friend towered over her by at least 2 feet. She was completely intimidated as he leaned over the counter and raised his voice. The video also shows that neither of them yelled that you should never return.
Message to future guests: While we do everything in our power to accommodate requests, requests are granted on a first come first basis. During this busy season, reservations and requests are made months in advance and therefore, day of requests at times cannot be honored. If you do have a special request or special needs, it is best to always call the property directly to make your reservation and ask if your request can be honored. Also, based on all reviews 92% of our customers love us and return time and time again!