Below is a complain we submitted to Best Western after unsuccessful attempts at resolving this at the local level. We are waiting to hear back from the parent company. We hope the review below is helpful to others.
"We have stayed at Best Western Hotel’s before and have enjoyed our previous stays. This particular stay, however, was truly a disorienting and disappointing experience.
On 03/07/19, we arrived at night and checked into our reserved room. Because we were so tired, we did not check if the heating unit was working properly. Unfortunately, the heater was blowing cold air throughout the night and negatively impacted all of our sleep (including our 3 year old’s sleep). We were essentially given a room with no heating when outside temperatures were approximately 32 to 37 °F, or 0 to 2 degrees °C. We had a terrible night’s rest.
The next day, we informed staff that our heating unit was broken. The hotel agreed to switch our rooms and the manager (i.e., Jeff) said he would not charge us anything for the first night’s rest. Because we made the reservation through Priceline, he said we would need to contact Priceline to make the adjustment work. This seemed like a reasonable proposal and verbally agreed to those terms.
On 03/09/19, I called Priceline at approximately 7am in the morning but was unsuccessful in resolving the matter. At approximately 10am, I called the front desk and spoke with Audrey Smith, the assistant manager, and explained to her terms the agreed with Jeff. She agreed to speak to Priceline and take care of the matter for us.
Later, I was shocked to find out, indirectly through Priceline, that she had only authorized a 50% refund. I expressed my disappointment that I was not consulted on this last-minute change in fee arrangements. On 03/11/19, I was told that Jeff was not willing to honor his initial agreement.
I am flabbergasted.
The management either thinks that it is fine to put up their hotel guests in a room with a broken heater for a discounted price or this appears to be a classic/textbook example of a bait-and-switch strategy.
I hope you all are aware of how terrible this experience was for us. We look forward to hearing a response from Best Western." less
Jeff M, Manager at Best Western Truman Inn, responded to this review
Dear Mr. Eu Gene C,
We were indeed sorry that the heating unit in your original room was not functioning properly the first night of your visit. Due to the inconvenience to you and your family I did agree to adjust off the first nights charges.
Unfortunately, as I explained when we spoke, making adjustments through a 3rd party provider is not always a seamless process as the 3rd party provider is who you paid for your accommodations. We authorized a refund of 50% of your stay, one night's charges, not 50% of the night in question. We have contacted Priceline again and confirmed that you have been credited for the entire first night of your stay.
My apologies that the resolution was not seamless. Your business and loyalty to Best Western is greatly appreciated. We strive to ensure a positive stay for all of our guests and I hope you will give us another opportunity. If I can be of any further assistance, I can be reached through the hotel at 816-254-0100.