Best Western The Westerly Hotel

1590 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, British Columbia, V9N 2K4, Canada
based on 804 reviews Trip Advisor Logo
View Photos
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 250+ hotels in GB

Room & Rates

Secure the best rate with Best Western Rewards.
Exclusive discounts always available to Rewards members. Joining is free and easy.

Best Western The Westerly Hotel

Located in the heart of Comox Valley, this full-service Courtenay, British Columbia hotel offers premier event facilities near world-class skiing and golf. Guests at the Best Western The Westerly Hotel enjoy exceptional customer service, renovated gu show more

Pets not accepted
Check-in & Check out15:00:00 | 11:00:00
1590 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, British Columbia, V9N 2K4, Canada

Reviews of Best Western The Westerly Hotel

Traveller Overview:
4.0 Rating: 804 reviews
Excellent 39%
Very Good 34%
Average 15%
Poor 6%
Terrible 3%
Rating

sleepytimebear, wrote review 20/09/2021

A great place to stay at.

The place was clean, and comfortable, and the staff went beyond their means to make me happy as a customer. I also appreciated that it was a sit-down restaurant and had food service, not just a conti... more

Rating

Arthur H, wrote review 08/09/2021

Great location and a clean hotel

Great service, clean hotel. They are dog friendly and have a seperate building for people staying there with their dogs. There is a pub in the complex which makes it easy to have a bite and a beer, an... more

Rating

pamantonovs, wrote review 01/09/2021

Room let out to another guest while I am asleep in the room.

Paid for 2 nights. The first night my room was let to another person. They used the key given to them at the front desk to enter my room while I’m sleeping. I had put the secondary lock on luckily so ... more

Owner Response
Jamie Lewis, General Manager at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Pamantonovs, Thank you for your review and again I apologize for the incident that happened with your stay with us, It was 100% our fault. One of our new in training front desk team had inadvertently checked your room out of the property management system (PMS) so it showed in our system that the room was available to rent, then later that day as we had a walk in guest check in the next front desk agent checked them into your room not realizing that you were still in the room. This is not an excuse just an explanation. As you know we spoke on the day you were checking out and I apologized and took responsibility for our mistake and explained that someone was not trying to break into your room they were simply trying to go into a room that we assigned them. I gave you a full refund for that night no questions ask as I knew it was our fault. We have since made a protocol change to hopefully make sure this does not happen again as we do understand how upsetting and frightening this can be. Sincerely, Jamie Lewis General Manager Best Western The Westerly Hotel
Rating

Marker001, wrote review 31/08/2021

Expensive

This is a nice hotel. Probably worth the money if staff and managers ran it better. Housekeeping didn’t go into room during my 3 day stay( which would be fine but wasn’t told this at check in). Staff ... more

Owner Response
Jamie Lewis, General Manager at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Marker001, Thank you for sharing your experience and I do apologize that you were no informed about our Covid-19 room cleaning protocol as set out by Best Western you should have been informed at check in. We do still go into rooms for cleaning but for the guest and staff comfort and safety we only do it when the guest requests it at the front desk and we are sure that there is no one in the room. All any guest staying with us has to do is contact the front desk before 2pm the day of and request a cleaning when our housekeeping staff are on duty which is between 8am to 4pm everyday. The guest can request the level of cleaning they would like from just a top-up of towels and amenities to a full turn over of the room. As for the front desk checking someone else into your room on your last night with us I take full responsibility for that we had a new front desk agent in training that had checked out two rooms that were not supposed to be checked out and you were not the only room that was disrupted by this mistake. We have since added a new step in our check-in protocol and training to try and make sure this does not happen again. I have also passed on your comments to the Food and Beverage Manager about your breakfast experience and we are looking into what we can do to assure that the breakfast team no matter what the situation is they have to be upbeat and positive. These are trying times for the hospitality industry as a whole with the lack of qualified employees wanting to work. We are all felling the pressure of finding staff and our hopes are that as we get out of the Covid-19 situation and the Government subsides that are keeping many good employees at home either out of fear of Covid-19 or subsidies so they have no need to go back to work has made it difficult in our and many other industries to operate at their full potential. Again thank you for your comments we do take them seriously and learn from our mistakes and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to earn your business again in the future. Sincerely, Jamie Lewis General Manager
Rating

catdally, wrote review 16/08/2021

Terrible stay

The front desk staff were very lovely and accommodating. However it went downhill from that point onwards, the bar staff was rude, the maintenance man who delivered a coat the previous night and the ... more

Owner Response
Paige Front Desk Supervisor, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I will discuss your feedback with management. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Paige Front Desk Supervisor Best Western The Westerly Hotel