06/01/2017 gary w, Leicester, United Kingdom
we stayed here on new years eve, upon entering the room it was way too hot, on our booking it said the room was air conditioned but in reality this meant turning the radiator down and opening a window... more
we stayed here on new years eve, upon entering the room it was way too hot, on our booking it said the room was air conditioned but in reality this meant turning the radiator down and opening a window, the room was nothing special for this price bracket and the tv is in the wrong place, also there was no lift which I thought unusual for a hotel of this size. Worse was to come as we were kept awake half the night by noisy neighbours arguing between 3am and almost 8am when they were finally asked to leave, this was made worse by the walls seeming to be made of cardboard, we complained by phone to reception during the night and when checking out the next morning to be told the manager wasn't in that day but would give us a call the following day which as expected this never happened. remind me in future to stick with staying at premier inn where a good nights sleep is guaranteed or your money back less
StuartHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review
I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I have looked into your booking and if you would like to forward a copy of your booking confirmation to me I will speak with the online booking agent you used as the booking we have for you was for a standard room which doesn't have air conditioning.
We ensure that all our literature states that the rooms are accessed by lift only, and I can assure you had you mentioned your concern at check in about the stairs the receptionist would have done everything possible to move you.
It was very unfortunate that the guests in the room near to you were particularly vocal and were asked to keep the noise down, they were eventually asked to leave the hotel. We cannot stop some instances from occurring but I can assure you the hotel will deal with them as soon as we are aware and in a way that is fair to all guests.
I am sorry that the manager never called you and can assure you the lack of contact was due to circumstances beyond their control, I do agree that in this instance a courtesy call should have been made on their behalf and I am sorry it wasn't.