Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Best Western The Sea Hotel.

Sea and scenery in South Shields.

Best Western The Sea Hotel enjoys a wonderful location in South Shields, at the mouth of the River Tyne and on one of Britains most scenic coastlines. Ideally placed for Sunderland and Newcastle, within easy reach of A1 and A19, Best Western The Sea Hotel is a wonderful place to spend time.

From the warm North East welcome you'll receive at check-in to the friendly service you'll enjoy during your stay, the hotel is a true home away from home having been family run for 25 years. Located close to the beach, and a nearby fun fair, the hotel is ideal for families. The neighbouring Victorian park and boating lake are well worth a visit, with a miniature railway running in season.

View more

Location

Sea Road
South Shields
Tyne & Wear
NE33 2LD
England
For enquiries or to make a reservation please call 0844 387 6191*
AA/VB

Summary

2016 dinner inclusive rates offer a £20 per person à la carte allowance
Bars, Free WIFI, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates

Facilities

Dining and Bars

sea-hotel-dining-02-83751

Fregate Restaurant

Our contemporary restaurant boasts a wide variety of English, Continental and vegetarian alternatives. Enjoy!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary

Golf

Whitburn Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 5899 Yards
Handicap required

Location

5.00 miles away in Whitburn

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £18.00

South Shields Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: 6,222 yds
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6263 Yards
No handicap required

Location

2.00 miles away in South Shields

Prices

9 holes Yes
18 holes £24.00

Weddings

We have over 75 years combined management experience when it comes to the planning and running of wedding receptions, so your big day will be in the safest possible hands!

sea-hotel-wedding-events-01-83751sea-hotel-wedding-events-02-83751sea-hotel-wedding-events-05-83751sea-hotel-wedding-events-06-83751sea-hotel-bedrooms-06-83751

Wedding service and reception venue

Whatever you want to dance the night away to, we'll make sure your evening reception is just as special as the daytime celebrations.

Catering

A wide choice of menus and inclusive packages mean you can pick and choose your perfect catering combination!

Registrar

Registry office:





For any enquiries please call Alan Watson or June Royal on 0191 4270999

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type NE33 2LD

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J65, 12.00 miles
Nearest train station: Newcastle, 15.00 miles
Nearest airport: Newcastle, 17.00 miles
Free parking on site (66 spaces)
On site disabled parking (6 spaces)

Address
Sea Road
South Shields
Tyne & Wear
NE33 2LD
England


What's nearby?

Sports

  • Sunderland FC (Stadium of Light) (10 miles)

  • Newcastle Utd FC (St James Park) (15 miles)

  • Gateshead Stadium (10 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • The Sage Music and Baltic Art center at Gateshead (15 miles)

  • Hadrian's Wall (World Heritage Site) (20 miles)

  • Beamish The Living Museum of The North (15 miles)

  • Durham Cathedral (World Heritage Site) (20 miles)

  • The Angel of The North (12 miles)

Shopping

  • The Metrocentre (15 miles)

  • Dalton Park Outlet shopping centre (10 miles)

  • Newcastle City centre (10 miles)

  • The Barbour Factory Outlet Shop (4 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

sea-hotel-meeting-space-03-83751

Our conference facilities offer great value for money, with the added bonus of a wonderful seaside setting!

Available room set ups

Banquet
Boardroom
Classroom
Theatre
U shape




Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Schooner 180 80 40 50 160
Fregate 140 36 36 36 120
Clipper 60 30 26 36 60
Conservatory 40 12 20 24 30
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506

Reviews

  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 303 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 117
Rating: 4 78
Rating: 3 62
Rating: 2 31
Rating: 1 15
Rating

Lunch at the Sea Hotel

29/01/2016 James W, Sunderland, United Kingdom

My Wife and I hosted a Sunday lunch for our family members to celebrate a special birthday, although we have enjoyed many other birthdays at this venue, and it was superb. A major wedding anniversary ... more

Owner Response
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your kind comments. Regards Alan
Rating

What more could you want/expect?

17/01/2016 LOuise F, Gateshead, United Kingdom

Stayed a weekend here despite having read some pretty damning write ups on here beforehand. Upon arrival found hotel to be very clean and the room itself warm and comfortable with plenty space. Ate ou... more

Owner Response
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel over your stay and for your kind comments about the staff in general. I have spoken to Leanne and thanked her for the service standards she is delivering to customers. We will continue to develop the hotels facilities along with planned redecoration and refurbishment of public areas and bedrooms. I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon. Regards Alan
Rating

Good wholesome food and service

17/01/2016 Susanbearsandco, South Shields, United Kingdom

As a large group of school governors we have been having our annual Christmas night out at The Sea Hotel for many years. The menu range is suitable for all tastes and excellent value for money. The w... more

Owner Response
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your kind review Regards Alan
Rating

Never fails to provide me with exceptional service

17/01/2016 Patricia F, South Shields, United Kingdom

I am very disappointed in some of the recent reviews I have read as they certainly do not reflect my feelings for the hotel and its staff. I have been a regularly customer for more than 25 years . I... more

Owner Response
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review
Many thanks for your kind comments. We listen to all comments good or bad and improve from them. Some can be a little misleading, the previous reviewer commented on the garlic mushrooms thinking they would be dry with salad, we described it on the menu as “Served in a cream, wine and brandy sauce served with bread to dip. They have probably just looked at the dish title and assumed so not really the hotels fault. The comments by both suggesting that we may not have a chef on duty again is misleading as we served over 160 people with 3 course meals across the Restaurant and function rooms on the evening they dined, not possible without the kitchen brigade. You are correct about some staff moving on after university. Alongside the established staff we recruit around 6 service staff a year, It’s great to see new staff working through training especially young people starting work for the first time. Thanks again regards Alan
Rating

Has gone down hill

16/01/2016 ES97,

Myself and my family came for a meal and usually have great service/food. We have come to the restaurant for years and have never experienced anything bad but last night we all thought was disappointi... more

Owner Response
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review
Really sorry to read that you had not enjoyed your meal and service, I hope you will accept my apologies. This is the third year we have offered a winter warmer menu, with a 3 course for lunch at £10.00 and 3 course dinner from £12.95. I have to say they have proved very popular with customers, who have complimented the food and value. The chicken valdastana you comment on was the dish that was chosen by the unannounced AA hotel inspector this week, who wrote "Flavour worked well with the rich tomato sauce standing up to the other flavours on the plate without dominating the natural flavour of the chicken itself". I will of course take your comments on board and act on them, I hope you will return soon to experience the usual great food and service that you write about receiving for many years. We will continue to develop menus in line with customer comments and market trends as you would expect. once again please accept my apologies for any disappointment on your last visit and thank you for your positive comments on visits over many years .