Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel


Sea and scenery in South Shields.

BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel enjoys a wonderful location in South Shields, at the mouth of the River Tyne and on one of Britains most scenic coastlines. Ideally placed for Sunderland and Newcastle, within easy reach of A1 and A19, BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel is a wonderful place to spend time.

From the warm North East welcome you'll receive at check-in to the friendly service you'll enjoy during your stay, the hotel is a true home away from home having been family run for 25 years. Located close to the beach, and a nearby fun fair, the hotel is ideal for families. The neighbouring Victorian park and boating lake are well worth a visit, with a miniature railway running in season.

View more


Sea Road
South Shields
Tyne & Wear
NE33 2LD


Bars, Free WIFI, Pets Allowed, Restaurants, Twenty Four Hour Service, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: Accepted
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Dining and Bars


Fregate Restaurant

Our contemporary restaurant boasts a wide variety of English, Continental and vegetarian alternatives. Enjoy!

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:00 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 14:00
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary


Whitburn Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: Parkland
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 70
Distance: 5899 Yards
Handicap required


5.00 miles away in Whitburn


9 holes Yes
18 holes £18.00

South Shields Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: 6,222 yds
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6263 Yards
No handicap required


2.00 miles away in South Shields


9 holes Yes
18 holes £24.00


We have over 75 years combined management experience when it comes to the planning and running of wedding receptions, so your big day will be in the safest possible hands!


Wedding service and reception venue

Whatever you want to dance the night away to, we'll make sure your evening reception is just as special as the daytime celebrations.


A wide choice of menus and inclusive packages mean you can pick and choose your perfect catering combination!


Registry office:

For any enquiries please call Alan Watson or June Royal on 0191 4270999

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type NE33 2LD

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: A1(M), J65, 12.00 miles
Nearest train station: Newcastle, 15.00 miles
Nearest airport: Newcastle, 17.00 miles
Free parking on site (66 spaces)
On site disabled parking (6 spaces)

Sea Road
South Shields
Tyne & Wear
NE33 2LD

What's nearby?


  • Sunderland FC (Stadium of Light) (10 miles)

  • Newcastle Utd FC (St James Park) (15 miles)

  • Gateshead Stadium (10 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • The Sage Music and Baltic Art center at Gateshead (15 miles)

  • Hadrian's Wall (World Heritage Site) (20 miles)

  • Beamish The Living Museum of The North (15 miles)

  • Durham Cathedral (World Heritage Site) (20 miles)

  • The Angel of The North (12 miles)


  • The Metrocentre (15 miles)

  • Dalton Park Outlet shopping centre (10 miles)

  • Newcastle City centre (10 miles)

  • The Barbour Factory Outlet Shop (4 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events


Our conference facilities offer great value for money, with the added bonus of a wonderful seaside setting!

Available room set ups

U shape

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Schooner 180 80 40 50 160
Fregate 140 36 36 36 120
Clipper 60 30 26 36 60
Conservatory 40 12 20 24 30
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 279 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 108
Rating: 4 73
Rating: 3 58
Rating: 2 27
Rating: 1 13

Tatty but great staff

02/10/2015 Nathaniel W, London, England, United Kingdom

The rooms and lodging common areas are reasonably comfortable, but dated and worn. Good location, bad value. An interesting old building in serious need of renovation. If it weren't for the exception... more



20/09/2015 D D, Norwich, United Kingdom

First impression was not a good one - The hotel is stuck in a time warp, needs a good lick of pain and some serious TLC Pregnant and with a 17 month old we had 5 flights of stairs to reach our room, ... more

Owner Response
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review
I am sorry you had not fully enjoyed your stay. The hotel has family rooms on ground, first and second floors, with many guests preferring higher floors for the views across the parks or out to sea. It is obvious by you review this was a major problem with your stay. I wish you had said upon checking into your room or during your three days, so we could have moved your room to a more suitable floor for your family. As you kindly comment about the breakfast staff we are here to help. I would like to assure you and other travellers that maintenance department maintain the hotel in good working order. Regular management checks are made, however some faults are identified through guest use of room facilities, when reported these are prioritised as immediate repair required. I have personally checked that the faults you have commented on after your stay have been repaired. Maintenance are checking all bathroom handles, hooks, toilet cisterns and showers for operation to ensure there is no other similar faults. I hope you will accept my apology for not being asked on departure about your stay, this is a question we ask, The duty receptionist has asked me to note her apology in my reply to you. We review all guest comments to make improvements, some comments are harder to address you write that the hotel is stuck in a time warp yet another TripAdvisor guest review wrote “Lovely period hotel, obviously this is subjective. We will continue to develop the hotel to keep up to date with technology and customer requirements. Thank you for telling us about your stay and the personal circumstances which made it awkward, I assure you we will learn from your experience. Alan Watson General Manager

Not too impressive

19/09/2015 michelle b, durham city

Spent a night, as was attending a wedding function. Function room lovely, food at function, lovely, breakfast nice too. Unfortunately, the whole place needs a revamp, scruffy inside! Worst best Wester... more

Owner Response
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Michelle Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I hope you will accept my apology for any discomfort you feel we have caused. we have 3 types of Z beds and it is quite obvious by your comment the wrong type has been put in your room. Room number 1 in the annex would have been a much better option for your family if it had been available, recently refurbished and full size single bed. Maintenance painting is a daily task at the hotel, however I will ensure the room you occupied is thoroughly checked today. Thank you for your positive comments about the function rooms, function food, restaurant and breakfast. Regards Alan

Great food stop

12/09/2015 flambatious,

Only came here for of the more expensive food places in South Shields but worth it. A bit of luxury in the restaurant :-) we had 2xburgers and a roast with drinks for under £40 We didn't ... more

Owner Response
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review
Really pleased you enjoyed your meals. The restaurant menu offers a wide variety of choice from traditional roasts through many fish, chicken, meat and vegetarian dishes to casual dining with pasta, burgers and sides. With main courses starting from £9.95 and steaks starting from £12.95. We hope you will return soon and enjoy another value meal. Regards Alan

Lovely period hotel right on seafront

31/08/2015 Peter S, Kirkwall, United Kingdom

I very nice little hotel situated in a great location. The staff were very friendly and put an extra bed in a family room to allow me to accommodate my 3 children. It was midsummer so it was a bit h... more

Owner Response
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review
Many thanks for your review and your kind comments about the friendly staff. Regards Alan Watson General Manager