20/09/2015 D D, Norwich, United Kingdom
First impression was not a good one - The hotel is stuck in a time warp, needs a good lick of pain and some serious TLC Pregnant and with a 17 month old we had 5 flights of stairs to reach our room, ... more
First impression was not a good one - The hotel is stuck in a time warp, needs a good lick of pain and some serious TLC Pregnant and with a 17 month old we had 5 flights of stairs to reach our room, threadbare carpet in places,the bathroom was filthy and look tired, door did not shut securely with the handle hanging off and could only be secured by a bolt on the inside (not helpful with a toddler). No cot bed in room despite requesting one when booking. Air lock in bathroom making it impossible to flush loo or use the taps without waking entire hotel at night. Water pressure so poor a watering can would have been our best option when showering. Upon checkout wasn't even asked how our stay had been, receptionist more interested in her phone call, was very dismissive. Cannot fault breakfast staff though, what lovely people. less
TheSeaHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel, responded to this review
I am sorry you had not fully enjoyed your stay. The hotel has family rooms on ground, first and second floors, with many guests preferring higher floors for the views across the parks or out to sea. It is obvious by you review this was a major problem with your stay. I wish you had said upon checking into your room or during your three days, so we could have moved your room to a more suitable floor for your family. As you kindly comment about the breakfast staff we are here to help.
I would like to assure you and other travellers that maintenance department maintain the hotel in good working order. Regular management checks are made, however some faults are identified through guest use of room facilities, when reported these are prioritised as immediate repair required. I have personally checked that the faults you have commented on after your stay have been repaired. Maintenance are checking all bathroom handles, hooks, toilet cisterns and showers for operation to ensure there is no other similar faults.
I hope you will accept my apology for not being asked on departure about your stay, this is a question we ask, The duty receptionist has asked me to note her apology in my reply to you.
We review all guest comments to make improvements, some comments are harder to address you write that the hotel is stuck in a time warp yet another TripAdvisor guest review wrote “Lovely period hotel, obviously this is subjective. We will continue to develop the hotel to keep up to date with technology and customer requirements.
Thank you for telling us about your stay and the personal circumstances which made it awkward, I assure you we will learn from your experience.