Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

Stay overnight in Oborne!

BEST WESTERN The Grange Hotel Oborne offers beautiful, 3-star country house accommodation, set within the rolling hills of West Dorset, just one mile from the charming town of Sherborne and seven miles from Yeovil.

Formerly a manor house, BEST WESTERN The Grange Hotel has undergone a transformation to a luxury family owned and run country house hotel with 18 bedrooms and a delightful restaurant overlooking floodlit gardens. Our quiet rural setting at the edge of the village is the reason why many of our guests return year after year to enjoy the peace and tranquility! The hotel is in the perfect position to explore Dorset, Somerset and historic Wessex, with plenty of things to do: Stonehenge, Longleat Estate and Safari Park, Stourhead House and Gardens, shopping in Sherborne or Bath, horse riding, shooting and hot air ballooning to name but a few.

It would be hard to find a more peaceful spot than the village of Oborne. The Yeo stream meanders through the village and ducks waddle about in the street! The hotel itself is the sum of the people who work here, we aim to exceed expectations and create a unique place in which all guests can feel relaxed and at home.

It all adds up to a wonderful location for business or pleasure, for that special family occasion or for the perfect wedding!

View more




Twin bedrooms available on request, please call reservations for more infomation
Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
15:00 | 11:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Dining and Bars

Originally from Kent, Simon settled in the South West in 1997 and was Head Chef at the 2 Rosette Bridge House at Beaminster and later at The Farthings at Hatch Beauchamp before joining The Grange this year.
Simon believes in taking advantage of the fantastic array of local produce we have available in the South West and prepares food full of taste and flavour.

Chef Simon Clewlow


The Grange Restaurant

Relax in the lounge over an aperitif whilst you look at the menu. Once the chefs have prepared your dinner you will be led through to the restaurant to dine by candlelight. Dinner is contemporary English cuisine, served in a relaxed atmosphere by friendly, smiling staff. Back to the lounge after dinner to enjoy coffee and petits fours sitting by the log fire. We have been awarded 2 Rosettes from the AA.

Opening hours

Breakfast: 07:30 - 09:30
Lunch: 12:00 - 13:30
Dinner: 19:00 - 21:00
Weekend times may vary

The Rose and Crown

This small, intimate bar offers light meals and fuss-free flavours. Enjoy!

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary



Course information

Course Type: 18-Hole
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 72
Distance: 6415 Yards
Handicap required


1 miles away in Sherborne


Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes Yes
18 holes £20.00
Trolley hire £3.00
Club hire £7.50
Buggy hire £17.50
Tuition Yes

Yeovil Golf Club

Course information

Course Type: 18-Hole
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Par: 71
Distance: 6087 Yards
Handicap required


6 miles away in Yeovil


Driving range
Pro shop golf facilities


9 holes £25.00
18 holes £40.00
Trolley hire £5.00
Club hire £5.00
Buggy hire £35.00
Tuition £15.00
Driving Range £13.00


BEST WESTERN The Grange is situated in the sleepy village of Oborne just outside Sherborne. It is a small country house hotel that is full of character and charm with a beautiful garden perfect for those special photographs whilst your guests enjoy some delicious canapes and a glass of something sparkling. With eighteen bedrooms we can accommodate smaller, intimate weddings and grand celebrations for up to 120 guests.


Weddings at BEST WESTERN The Grange at Oborne

We will meet with you as often as you wish in the run-up to your wedding. We will be there along the way to offer our advice and expertise and together, we will create a day uniquely designed for you. We will be in attendance on the day and, with the information you have given us, we will organise and manage your wedding and reception, creating a seamless flow of events. You will be left to enjoy every moment with your family and friends.


Our small team of chefs use local produce to a selection of menus that can be tailored to meet your individual requirements but why not start with home-cured salmon gravadlax with dill creme fraiche, followed by Creedy Carver confit duck leg and rich cherry sauce, finished up with a tasty lemon tart.

Honeymoon Suite

Our honeymoon room has a magnificent mahogany four-poster bed with golden drapes and a beautifully appointed bathroom. And if the weather is kind, the couple can sit out on their own large, private balcony that overlooks the floodlit gardens!


Registry office:

County Hall, Colliton Park, Dorchester, DT1 1XJ
01305 224179

We able to offer a choice of three rooms for your civil wedding or partnership ceremony; The Wessex Room perfect for a more intimate ceremony with rich wood panelling and sparkling chandeliers, the quirky restaurant full of character overlooking the gardens or the light and airy Regent Room with large sky lights and conservatory.
We have owned The Grange for ten years now and love hosting weddings. We work with the bride and groom to create a special day full of individual touches and special moments. Our expertise lies in ensuring the bride and groom are completely relaxed and able to truly enjoy every moment

For any enquiries please call Jon and Jenny Fletcher on 01935 813463

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type DT9 4LA

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M5, J25, 34.00 miles
Nearest train station: Sherborne, 1.00 miles
Nearest airport: Bristol, 40.00 miles
Free parking on site (45 spaces)
On site disabled parking (2 spaces)


What's nearby?


  • Yeovil Town Football Club (6 miles)

  • Bath Rugby Football Club (48 miles)

  • Wincanton Race Course (7 miles)

  • Somerset County Cricket Club, Taunton (34 miles)

  • Weymouth & Portland National Sailing Academy (27 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Stourhead (28 miles)

  • Stonehenge (38 miles)

  • Haynes Motor Museum (11 miles)

  • Fleet Air Arm Museum (10 miles)

  • Longleat House & Safari Park (25 miles)


  • Sherborne (1.5 miles)

  • Bath (39 miles)

  • Taunton (35 miles)

  • Clarks Village Street (21 miles)

  • Bristol (45 miles)


BEST WESTERN The Grange is the perfect venue for business meetings and seminars, providing a secluded and peaceful setting with friendly and discrete staff who will cater for your every need.
Our meeting menus provide a selection of options, from light dishes to a more substantial meal. All items are freshly prepared and cooked, wherever possible using local, seasonal produce. Our venue is ideal for both smaller meetings and larger conferences.

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 370 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 274
Rating: 4 73
Rating: 3 20
Rating: 2 3
Rating: 1 0

luxurious country house !!!!!!!!

30/08/2015 loubuddy, London, United Kingdom

wow, just spent 4 nights at this hotel and sadly, I wouldn't rush back. it is actually privately owned but uses the Best Western name !!! when we arrived, it had been raining non-stop and as the photo... more

Owner Response
TheGrangeatOborne, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Grange at Oborne, responded to this review
Firstly, may I thank you for taking the trouble to write your review of our hotel. I am very sorry that there were so many aspects of your stay about which you were unhappy. I will try to address the issues you have raised one by one. 1. Yes, the hotel is privately owned - and we are a Best Western hotel. Best Western is a marketing organisation; it does not own any hotels. There are more than 4,500 Best Western hotels worldwide - all of them are privately owned. 2. There is a notice at the front of the hotel advising guests that it is a drop off point. Our staff will always offer to assist guests with their luggage. 3. We have a gravelled car park and an overflow car park the capacity of which are approved by Dorset County Council Highways Department; these car parks are on hotel land, past the main hotel building. There are some parking spaces at the front of the hotel which we reserve for disabled guests. 4. Monday the 24th was a particularly wet day. Mud had been washed down by the rain (we were unaware that there was any manure) and made the lane slippery. One of our staff members volunteered to use a hose to clean the road surface. This was done three days in a row. I am not sure why hotel staff cleaning the road was bad? 5. The chef had not gone early, we had finished serving lunch. We serve sandwiches all afternoon and that is what you were offered. 6. I believe the review you are referring to said that there were no ‘sulky non-English speaking East Europeans here’, not that the hotel does not employ foreigners. We employ English staff and staff from other countries. That review went on to say that ‘it is made obvious that ALL staff have been well trained and have wide experience of the hospitality industry’. 7. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast. Although we have received awards for our breakfast, the Head Chef has been made aware of your comments. 8. The waitresses have recently been provided with new uniforms. In view of your comment that the waitress was scruffy, the Assistant Manager will ensure that the uniforms are being worn correctly. 9. The degree of firmness of mattresses is a problem for hotels as some guests want them to be firm and others prefer them to be soft. Our room folders inform guests that other types of pillows are available on request as are mattress toppers. 10. When you complained about the pillows, they were changed straight away. All of the bed clothes were changed the following day. None of our members of staff were able to detect any odour, except for the washing powder. 11. As you have not specified which items of bedroom furniture you thought were sub-standard it is difficult to respond to your note. The furnishings are regularly inspected and approved by the AA and Best Western inspectors. 12. Your remote control needed new batteries. You informed reception about this on the day that you checked in and they were immediately changed. 13. I am pleased to say that the restaurant is very popular. Residents are asked if they would like to eat in the restaurant as we do not want them to be disappointed if there is no table available. 14. Diners are welcome to occupy their table for the whole evening. I am sorry if you felt you were being rushed by our staff who have been trained to be efficient. We will review this procedure. 15. On a similar note, our room cleaning staff endeavours to clean the rooms for guests as quickly and efficiently as possible. I regret that some towels had not been removed; however we do have a sign in the bathroom asking guests to place the towels in the bath if they would like them to be changed. 16. I do not know which aspects of their behaviour gave you the impression that our ''young ladies ...couldn't be bothered''. All of our staff members have been fully trained and the majority of the reviews we receive endorse this. 17. We have received no comments from other guests suggesting that ''they weren't impressed at all with the food and also found the hotel to be over rated''. We can only respond if such comments are made directly to the hotel. 18. The hotel Wi-Fi is working. We would certainly have endeavoured to help if the problem you experienced had been brought to our attention. 19. Unfortunately our situation in the country hills of North Dorset does give us poor mobile phone reception on some networks. We would appreciate it if you would bring this to the attention of your mobile phone network provider as it is they that provide the signal, not the hotel. 20. There is no pub in the village. We have owned The Grange at Oborne for twelve years. Once again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Wherever possible we will certainly address the issues you have raised. Jon Fletcher

Serene Stay at The Grange

28/08/2015 sndy2015, Bengaluru (Bangalore), India

Had a great warm stay at the hotel, rooms were very comfortable, nicely maintained, clean, had a nice view of the garden, though through a window :) Was very impressed with the fact that the part of t... more


Peaceful country hide away

23/08/2015 Gaby186338, London, United Kingdom

We stopped here to break our journey to Devon and what a find and such good value. The hotel is set in a small hamlet on a narrow country road. The common rooms and bedrooms are tastefully and cosily ... more


Something to sing about

17/08/2015 judith_cutler, Cirencester, United Kingdom

Imagine being invited to a country house in a quiet hamlet to enjoy good food and wine and go to the opera on your first evening: that was our experience of the Grange. Nothing was too much trouble a... more



16/08/2015 K W, stamford, United Kingdom

a very clean and well run hotel with excellent staff and very good food will definitely be visiting again and will recommend this hotel to our friends and family our only criticism is that our room wa... more