luxurious country house !!!!!!!!
30/08/2015 loubuddy, London, United Kingdom
wow, just spent 4 nights at this hotel and sadly, I wouldn't rush back. it is actually privately owned but uses the Best Western name !!! when we arrived, it had been raining non-stop and as the photo... more
wow, just spent 4 nights at this hotel and sadly, I wouldn't rush back. it is actually privately owned but uses the Best Western name !!! when we arrived, it had been raining non-stop and as the photos show, I was expecting to be able to park outside the hotel. WRONG. you do actually have to drive up past the hotel and park in a small gravel car-park and then struggle with your case and gently walk down the slippery manure covered steep road to the hotel entrance. because this day was particularly wet, mon 24th aug, we did tread manure into our bedroom as it was stuck to our shoes. it was that bad that 2 days later, the hotel management had some poor young girl hosing down the lane in the pouring rain. you cant access the rooms until 3pm so we enquired about some lunch only to be told they could only rustle up some sandwiches because the chef had gone home because the restaurant was empty. not great when it took us nearly 4 hours to get here. also, i did read in one of the reviews that somebody had mentioned that all the staff were English here, no foreigners but unfortunately, the waitress couldn't understand what we were trying to say so had to get somebody else to take our order. we decided to go elsewhere instead, too much bother. breakfast, interesting. sat round the corner by myself and nobody noticed me and when a young waitress, scruffy looking, did see me, not good morning can i get you tea or coffee but oh, you have got sugar !! finally ordered breakfast asking the waitress for my egg to be flipped over but not hard, out came a rock hard egg. she just smiled when i asked for another to be cooked because she didn't speak great English. came back ok. now, the website states that the food is freshly cooked so you may have to wait. i beg to differ because the bacon had been reheated too long that it was hard and unable to cut. the sausage had been re-heated, left it and i had literally 2 spoonfuls of beans. not enjoyable at all. must mention the rock hard bed with the most uncomfortable hard pillows plus a non working tv remote which i took down in the end plus the disgusting smelly cushions that sit on the bed. apparently the covers never get washed although they are on the bed every single day. this hotel claims a transformation to a luxury country house but they obviously didn't invest in new bedroom furniture. the annoying thing was constantly being asked if we wanted to make reservations for dinner. we did eat the following night and literally as soon as the starters are cleared, the main dish is brought out. no time to sit and let the starter go down. we sat down at 7.30pm and were finished by 8.30. incl tea/coffee. and the staff do start clearing empty side plates from your table while you are still eating. also. you go down for breakfast and your room is cleaned by the time you get back which is great if they removed dirty towels and replaced them i of leaving the dirty towels on the table. had to call reception for this. next morning, breakfast was just as interesting. rock hard egg with crispy edges and hard bacon. ooooh. didn't look forward to breakfast at all and the last day well, sat at my table for nearly 8 mins before even being asked if i wanted tea/coffee. got the impression that most of the young ladies working here although pleasant, couldn't be bothered and the dress code was to be honest scruffy. i think the owners have over rated this hotel and unfortunately it isn't as luxurious as the website states. on speaking to 4 other people during breakfast times, they weren't impressed at all with the food and also found the hotel to be over rated. i think it would probably suit the more mature person but definitely not a single person and the free Wi-Fi just never worked and forget a mobile phone. i couldn't get any reception from this hotel all the time i stayed here. it also appears to be the only hotel in this tiny village and on mentioning to some of the locals at the pub where we were staying, we had a few sniggers and the comment at least it has new owners now. i was actually glad to be leaving here because i couldn't stomach another breakfast or night in the extremely uncomfortable bed. the only reason i booked this hotel was because the location was near to where i wanted to be. sorry oborne, big thumbs down for me less
TheGrangeatOborne, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Grange at Oborne, responded to this review
Firstly, may I thank you for taking the trouble to write your review of our hotel. I am very sorry that there were so many aspects of your stay about which you were unhappy. I will try to address the issues you have raised one by one.
1. Yes, the hotel is privately owned - and we are a Best Western hotel. Best Western is a marketing organisation; it does not own any hotels. There are more than 4,500 Best Western hotels worldwide - all of them are privately owned.
2. There is a notice at the front of the hotel advising guests that it is a drop off point. Our staff will always offer to assist guests with their luggage.
3. We have a gravelled car park and an overflow car park the capacity of which are approved by Dorset County Council Highways Department; these car parks are on hotel land, past the main hotel building. There are some parking spaces at the front of the hotel which we reserve for disabled guests.
4. Monday the 24th was a particularly wet day. Mud had been washed down by the rain (we were unaware that there was any manure) and made the lane slippery. One of our staff members volunteered to use a hose to clean the road surface. This was done three days in a row. I am not sure why hotel staff cleaning the road was bad?
5. The chef had not gone early, we had finished serving lunch. We serve sandwiches all afternoon and that is what you were offered.
6. I believe the review you are referring to said that there were no ‘sulky non-English speaking East Europeans here’, not that the hotel does not employ foreigners. We employ English staff and staff from other countries. That review went on to say that ‘it is made obvious that ALL staff have been well trained and have wide experience of the hospitality industry’.
7. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast. Although we have received awards for our breakfast, the Head Chef has been made aware of your comments.
8. The waitresses have recently been provided with new uniforms. In view of your comment that the waitress was scruffy, the Assistant Manager will ensure that the uniforms are being worn correctly.
9. The degree of firmness of mattresses is a problem for hotels as some guests want them to be firm and others prefer them to be soft. Our room folders inform guests that other types of pillows are available on request as are mattress toppers.
10. When you complained about the pillows, they were changed straight away. All of the bed clothes were changed the following day. None of our members of staff were able to detect any odour, except for the washing powder.
11. As you have not specified which items of bedroom furniture you thought were sub-standard it is difficult to respond to your note. The furnishings are regularly inspected and approved by the AA and Best Western inspectors.
12. Your remote control needed new batteries. You informed reception about this on the day that you checked in and they were immediately changed.
13. I am pleased to say that the restaurant is very popular. Residents are asked if they would like to eat in the restaurant as we do not want them to be disappointed if there is no table available.
14. Diners are welcome to occupy their table for the whole evening. I am sorry if you felt you were being rushed by our staff who have been trained to be efficient. We will review this procedure.
15. On a similar note, our room cleaning staff endeavours to clean the rooms for guests as quickly and efficiently as possible. I regret that some towels had not been removed; however we do have a sign in the bathroom asking guests to place the towels in the bath if they would like them to be changed.
16. I do not know which aspects of their behaviour gave you the impression that our ''young ladies ...couldn't be bothered''. All of our staff members have been fully trained and the majority of the reviews we receive endorse this.
17. We have received no comments from other guests suggesting that ''they weren't impressed at all with the food and also found the hotel to be over rated''. We can only respond if such comments are made directly to the hotel.
18. The hotel Wi-Fi is working. We would certainly have endeavoured to help if the problem you experienced had been brought to our attention.
19. Unfortunately our situation in the country hills of North Dorset does give us poor mobile phone reception on some networks. We would appreciate it if you would bring this to the attention of your mobile phone network provider as it is they that provide the signal, not the hotel.
20. There is no pub in the village. We have owned The Grange at Oborne for twelve years.
Once again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Wherever possible we will certainly address the issues you have raised.