16/09/2018 Scott C,
This was a truly nightmarish experience for me. I woke up at 5:00 in the morning to find my room completely flooded. My clothes computer bag and suitcase were completely saturated. I quickly went t... more
This was a truly nightmarish experience for me. I woke up at 5:00 in the morning to find my room completely flooded. My clothes computer bag and suitcase were completely saturated. I quickly went to the front desk where they were able to move my room. I was told they couldn’t do anything else to help me right now because there was no manager in at this time, but that they would be alerted. I voiced my concern over not having dry clothes and they said there was nothing they could do other than give me quarters to use the hotel dryer. The suggestion was also given to use my in room hair dryer to dry my clothes. I went back to my room and was able to find dry clothes except for my socks. I took the quarters to dry the socks, but unfortunately, someone else who apparently needed dry clothes more than me took my socks out to put their clothes in so I had to work without socks for the day. I never did get an explanation on the flooding, but I’m assuming a pipe burst somewhere as a hallway in the hotel was completely soaked as well. By lunch I hadn’t heard back so I called. I spoke to an assistant manager who said that they could not go into my room to get my soaking wet clothes, which were not laying all around the floor of my second hotel room. I asked to speak to the manager, but was told that he was not available. I also explained that I had a backpack that was ruined, a carry-on that was ruined and had no clothes for the next day. The assistant manager could do nothing more than say, “I understand” and that he would speak to the manager before I returned. When I returned to the hotel in the late afternoon, the assistant manager met with me. I asked to speak to the manager and he said that he was not available and authorized him to work with me. I said that was not ok and that I needed to speak the manager. The assistant said that he was across the street at a sister property and that he would not meet with me. I explained that I had soaking wet clothes and ruined items in my room. They offered to refund me for a dry cleaners. I explained that I could not do this because I had to work in the evening and that a dry cleaner would not be able to take care of my clothes that quickly. I then called the company that owned the property (Friendwell Management). They told me that they would look into it and get back to me within 24 hours. I never received a call back from the company. Additionally, I was told that I would have 2 of the 4 nights refunded. This never happened. So I now have several hundred dollars of damaged items that need replaced as well as clothes I had to buy as well as clothes that were ruined by mold because the hotel would not offer to dry my clothes from the flooded hotel room. The treatment I received was unprofessional and inappropriate. Do not stay at this property and I would suggest avoiding Friendwell owned properties. The manager of this establishment should be ashamed of himself for the way he treats guests. less
AnthonyV2078, General Manager at Garden Executive Hotel, responded to this review
Greeting Scott C.,
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review of your stay at the Garden Executive Hotel. I would like to take this time to address the review you left and also explain what exactly occurred.
We do admit that you experienced a flooding condition in your room while you stayed with us. When you check in, you did not experience any problems with flooding in your room. Unfortunately, due to the hurricane which was hitting the east coast of the US, it just rained 4 days straight and the ground could not take too much more absorption. I do apologize for this, and we were unaware that your were going to encounter any issues until you made us aware of the water in your room.
When you first discovered that your room flooded and you contacted the front desk at 5am, we offered to change your room which you accepted and also offered you money to dry any wet clothing. At that point, you refused the money to dry your clothes but were mad that we would dry them for you. For liability reasons, we are unable to do so.
Later that morning, you talked to our Assistant General Manager, Tihga. Tihga offered to give you additional money to wash and dry your clothes or to send them to local dry cleaners at our expense, but you refused. Tihga also again asked you to change rooms, but, you declined.
Even later in the day, you contacted our Corporate Office and left a message with our property management team which was relayed to me immediately. I attempted to call the phone number you gave them, but, you did not answer.
After that you call Tihga, and demanded that we go into your room and have you clothes laundered at our expense. While we had no problem paying for you laundry, we were unable to accommodate this for two reasons. One reason is that you called us at 4pm in the afternoon and no dry cleaner would be able to do a cleaning in that quick of closing time and the other reason is that we are not professional dry cleaners so we are not sure what can be cleaned.
For your inconvenience, we did refund you both nights stay. Your stay will booked through a 3rd party website, such as Expedia and that is why there is a delay in your refund hitting your account. Due there being a 3rd party involved, please allow 7 to 10 business days to see a credit posted to your account.
While I think we did everything possible to rectify the situation you experienced (from comp-ing your room, offering to change your room, and offering to pay for your dry cleaning, we were unfortunately not able to assist you and make the situation correct. For that, we apologize.
Should you like to discuss this more detail, please feel free to contact me directly at 908.753.5500, extension 612.