Best Western Premier Collection

Explore Hotel

BEST WESTERN The Bell Hotel Epping.

BEST WESTERN The Bell Hotel Epping was originally a 16th Century Coaching Inn, and is set in lovely, lush green grounds. The hotel is ideal for visiting the Capital, but lets you escape the hustle and bustle after a hard days sightseeing! The hotel is a popular place to stay for those enjoying the towns nightlife. Epping tube station makes life even easier if you're here for a few days!

For business guests, or families stopping over before a foreign holiday, Stansted Airport is within a short drive to the North via the M11. The newly built Olympic Stadium in East London is just 30 minutes drive from us too!

View more


High Road
Bell Common
CM16 4DG


Restaurant / hotel exterior currently under refurbishment. Disruption minimal and full restaurant service available.
Bars, Free WIFI, Restaurants, No Lift
Free internet available throughout the hotel
There is free parking available onsite.
Pets: No Pets accepted Guide and hearing dogs only
Check-in & Check-out
14:00 | 12:00
  • Low rate guarantee
  • Free WIFI
  • 270+ hotels in GB

Rooms & Rates


Dining and Bars


Nirvana Indian Restaurant

Our Restaurant caters for individual dinners, as well as larger business gatherings. The quality food reflects traditional British cooking trends and modern European cuisine. A selection of quality wines from all around the world is available to complement your mealso heres to a memorable evening or two!
Please note: Indian restaurant not open on Sundays

Opening hours

Breakfast: 06:30 - 09:30
Dinner: 18:30 - 21:30
Weekend times may vary

Lounge Bar

The Bar and Lounge area at this wonderful hotel combines a relaxed atmosphere with your favourite drinks. You can also while watch sports on big screen televisions or surf the internet.

Opening hours

Weekend times may vary


Epping Golf Club

Course information

Course Type:
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Distance: 5405 Yards
No handicap required


1.00 miles away in Epping


9 holes Yes
18 holes £21.00

West Essex Golf Club

Course information

Course Type:
Location: Off Site
Holes: 18
Distance: 6289 Yards
No handicap required


6.00 miles away in Chingford


9 holes Yes
18 holes £25.00


BEST WESTERN The Bell Hotel Epping is a licensed Wedding Venue, and we can cater for both large and small celebrations (to a maximum of 60 seated and 100 guests for buffet). If you want to wed in the great outdoors, we can welcome up to 250 guests with Marquees in our gardens.

Wedding service and reception venue

Outside, our garden is perfect for pictures. Inside, we can arrange a DJ or live entertainment for an unforgettable reception. There's a children play area to keep the little ones entertained too!


We're all about choice when it comes to planning your big dayso take your pick from our wide choice of buffet and sit-down menus. There's something to suit every taste!


Registry office:
Epping Registry Office
St Johns Road, Epping, CM16 5DN
01992 572788

For any enquiries please call Rita Smith on 01992 573138

Location and Attractions

Getting there.

Sat nav users: type CM16 4DG

Send to Tom Tom

Nearest motorway: M11, J7, 2.00 miles
Nearest train station: Epping, 1.00 miles
Nearest tube station: Epping Tube Station, 20.00 mins
Nearest airport: London Stansted, 17.00 miles
Free parking on site (100 spaces)
On site disabled parking (4 spaces)

High Road
Bell Common
CM16 4DG

What's nearby?


  • Loughton Golf Club (1 miles)

  • High Beech Golf Course (2 miles)

  • West Essex Golf Club (2 miles)

Cities & Attractions

  • Epping Forest (0.5 miles)

  • Excel London (10 miles)

  • Olympic Stadium (12 miles)

  • River Lee Country Park (3 miles)

  • Paradise Wildlife Park (8 miles)

Meetings, Conferences and Events

Our comfortable uncluttered meeting rooms are the ideal environment for meetings, conferences, exhibitions and training sessions. Our fully equipped meeting rooms can accommodate from 10 to 85 guests, and we provide free car parking on site for up to 100 cars.

Available room set ups

U shape

Churchill Suite 1 & 2

With natural daylight and air-conditioning, our main suite also has its own bar and a buffet area. The room can be divided into two for smaller functions and can also accommodate a dance floor!

Room Theatre Classroom U-Shape Boardroom Banquet
Churchill Suite 1 & 2 90 30 40 32 80
Churchill Suite 1 40 12 20 16 40
Churchill Suite 2 40 12 20 15 40
Epping Green 25 12 10 16 0
Hoddesdon 25 12 10 16 0
Thaxted 14 0 0 10 0
Have an enquiry?
Contact events on 0845 620 0506


  • TripAdvisor
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating: Rating: Based on 278 traveller reviews
Rating: 5 32
Rating: 4 44
Rating: 3 88
Rating: 2 62
Rating: 1 53

You get what you pay for, staffing is the main issue.

08/10/2015 lcollins7, Wishaw, United Kingdom

I stayed at this hotel for one night at the beginning of October 2015 my arrival time was around 11pm at night, upon arrival the the entrance of the hotel and reception were very clean. The male membe... more


Tea For Two

03/10/2015 LondonForesters, London

We enjoyed an excellent Tea For Two on Tuesday 29th September. There was a good selection of sandwiches, 2 scones each with jam and cream served separately and a generous assortment of small cakes. Mo... more



28/09/2015 Griefy, Kabul, Afghanistan

My experience was ruined due to the man in reception. The booking process did not go to plan and the man in reception then made me wait as he called He informed me I would be ok as he ha... more

Owner Response
Vijay S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review
Thank you for taking time to review us. It is rather unfortunate that you have failed to mention what exactly did happen with regards to your booking. ( It did not go as per the plan ?). It would have helped us to investigate what y had gone wrong with your booking. My sincere apologies if you felt that the gentleman who was explaining things to you cam across as rude. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

average hotel, average room, short staffed

23/09/2015 Klangers41, Wakefield, United Kingdom

Very average hotel but fine for a short stay. Very under-staffed and therefore a long wait for food in the restaurant. Food was OK although Salad wasn't washed and the veg was overcooked. I would ... more


Nice place

19/09/2015 Catherine W,

I stayed here recently for two nights and I was very impressed. After reading other reviews I was a little apprehensive however I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms are quite dated however they are spa... more

Owner Response
Vijay S, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review
Thank you for giving us 5* review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.