My family and I recently traveled to one of our favorite cities, Savannah, Ga. My wife is an Elite member of the Best Western rewards program and had TONS of points. We decided to use some of those points since she no longer travels for work and picked this hotel based on it's location and reviews. We normally stay at a different hotel and have pretty much stayed at all of the hotels along Bay street.
This hotel is located on Bay street and is right on the edge of the historic district. River street is literally "right down the stairs" but, you are all the way at the end of River Street. Not a big deal for most people but, if walking is not really your thing, you may want to consider a more centrally located hotel.
First, let me say that it is a 4.5 hour drive for us to get to Savannah. When we got to the hotel it was a little after 9pm. We were not greeted by the front desk clerk and she honestly seemed rather annoyed that we were checking in. While going over the room charges, she asked us if we were aware that there was a $22/night parking fee. My wife answered her but, apparently the clerk did not hear her response. She then looked at my wife and, I'm not kidding, said (in a rather loud voice), "Are you listening to me?!?" My wife told her that she was listening and she was aware of the parking fee. Next, she asked if we wanted points or snacks. My wife told her snacks and then asked what they were. The clerk then said it was too late to change our mind because she had entered the snacks into the computer and couldn't change it. We were at the hotel for 2 nights and never saw a single snack.
Our rooms were decent but slightly dated. Honestly, I thought it was kind of funky and retro looking. The bathroom was a large open area with the shower, toilet, vanity, and mini-fridge are all in the same room. God forbid that someone needed to use the restroom while someone else was getting ready. Where the rooms really shine are the beds. VERY comfortable and there were plenty of pillows for everyone. Other than that, its a pretty standard hotel room. There were a total of 4 USB ports in the room for charging devices which I thought was pretty good.
Breakfast is also pretty standard fare (muffins, yogurt, coffee, fruit, powdered eggs, gravy, biscuits, bacon, and cereal). There were toppings out for oatmeal but, other than instant oatmeal, we never found the oatmeal. The staff never once said good morning and acted like they didn't want to engage with the guest. Not a single "good morning" or "how are you doing."
Housekeeping did a good job of tidying up the room but, I'm not sure they actually cleaned. They did not replace any of the towels in the room either. Once it was used, if it was on the floor, it was not replaced. There was one staff member (who was part of housekeeping) that made a point to say hello to everyone that he encountered and engage in some conversation but, he was definitely the exception and I truly wish I had gotten his name. If all of the other staff were as friendly as him, this would be a 5 star hotel just on customer interaction alone.
While we were there there was no air conditioning in the lobby. I'm guessing it was broken because it was very warm in the lobby/eating area and all of the doors were open. This made it a bit uncomfortable during breakfast because Savannah tends to get humid in the Summer months. This also may have simply been a tactic to minimize the amount of time that guest spent in the lobby.
The final thing I would like to address is the $22/night parking fee. This hotel does not have a parking deck or valet service. You park your car yourself in one of two lots at the front of the hotel or along the street behind the hotel. There are probably not enough spaces for all of the guest either as I did observe a couple of cars having to make their own spots. I understand that this is another source of money for the hotel and, unfortunately, it has become pretty standard to charge for parking but, I think that $22/night is pretty steep when you are parking the car yourself.
If you are coming to Savannah and are considering the Best Western, just know what you are getting. A good nights sleep and a spot on the edge of River street are about it. If you have other options, I would probably go with one of them unless you are into rude staff and high parking fees. less
BestWesternSavannah, General Manager at Best Western Savannah Historic District, responded to this review
We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a detailed review of your visit to our hotel. It is great you were able to get away for another wonderful trip to Savannah, and we are happy you chose to try us out. I am glad our location was a great perk for you and your wife as well as the incredibly comfortable beds! However, it is disappointing to hear of the interaction you had upon arrival with our front desk, and I will undoubtedly be speaking with the staff in regards to this. I apologize for falling short and for the less than warm welcome. Please know this is not typical at our hotel.
Thank you for the helpful feedback on your room as we are always looking for new ways to make our guest experience more pleasurable. I am glad our complimentary breakfast helped fill you up to start the day right, but again, I regret to hear that you did not receive any pleasantries from our team. Our hotel takes pride in our southern charm, and it is unfortunate you did not get to see that. The cleaning team will be made aware of your input to ensure they get things right in the future, and I will convey your compliments and hopefully be able to locate that exceptional employee. We can understand your frustration with parking and will take that into consideration when discussing all of your wonderful thoughts with management. All of us would love another opportunity to improve your perception next time you are in town!